We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance and Meatloaf were outstanding”

David Reay's Modern Diner + Tavern
Ranked #13 of 63 Restaurants in Onalaska
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Description: At David Reay's Modern Diner + Tavern, our mission is to improve the happiness of our guests, employees, and the communities in which we serve. We are all about friends, family, fun, and fresh fare using local and regional ingredients. We put a modern spin on the old-school diner experience and specialize in modern comfort food and contemporary elixirs that brings people together for a great time.
Restaurant details
Description: At David Reay's Modern Diner + Tavern, our mission is to improve the happiness of our guests, employees, and the communities in which we serve. We are all about friends, family, fun, and fresh fare using local and regional ingredients. We put a modern spin on the old-school diner experience and specialize in modern comfort food and contemporary elixirs that brings people together for a great time.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just a great vibe here. And who doesn't like dining outside on a beautiful day?! Had the meatloaf. This would be a gourmet version of meatloaf in my opinion and fairly priced too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank schorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Manager at David Reay's Modern Diner + Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

schorski, We sincerely appreciate you taking time to leave us a review. Customer feedback means a lot to us. Thank you and we hope to see you again. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our new "go to" place for excellent food (especially the awesome tenderloin tips and the cod (fried or broiled). We enjoyed talking with Josh, the bar manager, and Megan (bartender) both who are welcoming, make great drinks (which are reasonably priced unlike the franchise restaurants by the mall area) and made an extra effort to be friendly. Can't say enough about how great it is to have this dependably delicious food, ambiance, great location, and customer friendly addition to the "best of the best" La Crosse - Onalaska area restaurants!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Manager at David Reay's Modern Diner + Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, Jan!! You are the BEST for leaving us a review! We love customer feedback. Can't wait to serve you again. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Happy Fathers Day! First visit with my sons and extended family. My son had the salmon,3 hours later he was violently ill.
We called to report the incident. Talked to manager who said he would report to the kitchen. 6 of us paid over 150 for marginal barware. Thanks for reporting to kitchen my son much appreciated. Obviously we won't be back

Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Manager at David Reay's Modern Diner + Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Bill, We are incredibly thankful that you took the time to bring this to our attention. We take all feedback and reviews seriously and always aim to exceed our guest’s expectations. During your visit, we didn’t accomplish this.

Please email us at info@davidreays.com so we can further discuss how we can make this up to you. Please include the date and time of your visit, your server's name, what was ordered, what your son ate, and any other details from your visit. We would like to know what you ate in the 24 hours leading up to David Reay's. We served many Salmon dishes on Father's Day and this is the first we have heard about someone getting sick because of it.

Once again, we apologize for not exceeding your expectations and look forward to making this up to you. We hope your son is feeling better. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful June day to eat outside. We arrived shortly after they opened and watched the place quickly fill up with customers for lunch. Great view and wonderful breeze on a hot day. Wide variety of foods on the menu. Wait staff was helpful & super friendly. Everyone tried a different meal...nachos, chicken avocado wrap, fish sliders, Santa Fe salad plus chicken with waffles. Our food was served in a timely fashion and we all loved our meals. Serval of us had a cocktail and that menu had great choices & variations of old favorites. We will definitely go again.

Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Manager at David Reay's Modern Diner + Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mary, We are flattered by your kind review. We are pleased that you and your party enjoyed your meals and drinks. Can't wait to see you again. Have a terrific day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Desiree was our server and provided excellent advice! She spent a lot of time with us and made great recommendations. The cheese curds are the size of tennis balls! We will definitely return to check out more items on the vast menu.

Thank Locust54601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Manager at David Reay's Modern Diner + Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at David Reay's! Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We will make sure that Desiree hears your compliments! We look forward to seeing you again. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David Reay's Modern Diner + Tavern also viewed

 

Been to David Reay's Modern Diner + Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing