We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 076)
Filter reviews
1 076 results
Traveller rating
814
186
42
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
814
186
42
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricaplunge poolhorseback ridingzip liningbeach clubour honeymoonmain restaurantsan josepura vidaara projectgolf courseswim up barhowler monkeysliberia airportcevicherainy seasonremote location
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 1 076 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed amazing views of surrounding jungle, scarlet macaws, monkeys, ocean, especially from hotel room and infinity pool. Solid activities included horseback riding, surfing, bird watching. Management was very customer-focused. Good mixture of US and international guests. Definitely worth a return visit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Off the beaten path is exactly what makes us exactly like nothing else! Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience. Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The hotel is high on a hill overlooking a beautiful Pacific beach, perhaps 3/4 mile long and nearly empty - a few dozen people max any of the 5 Feb. days we were there.
Beach is a 10 minute walk - all downhill- serviced by a hotel on-demand shuttle (good for the 'up' return!
Rooms are decorated in local style, lots of color, nice decks, good bed, rather small. There are several types and I would recommend the ones higher up for the views and proximity to the hotel lobby, restaurant, bar and pool. Some rooms have plunge pools - our didn't and didn't miss it. Sitting on the deck looking into the surrounding hills and the Pacific was plenty.
The main hotel area is above or alongside the rooms, with a beautiful adults only pool and swim up bar adjacent to restaurant and sunning areas.
I can't speak too much about the beach area. It is long and wide and mostly empty, with a large tree shaded are before the beach. There is a pool and restaurant, pool is open to all ages. There are plenty of tables for eating and a dozen or so covered lounges (a fee). We sat on the beach one afternoon and watched a gorgeous red macaw devour nuts in a tree beside ue - 3 hours! Hotel arranged for dinner on the beach one night.
Diversions - Macaw conservation area a 5 minute drive away, Howler monkeys in the trees on-premise, zip-lining on the property, horse back riding on the beach
Negatives are few. There is a tiny town with one restaurant we didn't try (per others comments) and after a few nights the restaurant got boring. No ones fault, you are FAR from anywhere.
Not sure the distance but once off the highway it seemed about a 45minute scenic, often gravel and dirt road, drive to the hotel.
This is NOT a new hotel, just rebranded as an Autograph. Rooms well maintained but aging.
Want to get away and still be very comfortable this is the place

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DillyScarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Wild macaws feasting on beach almonds is truly mesmerizing! Their bright colors and lively antics are certainly a sight to hold. Thanks for capturing the essence of the Hotel Punta Islita experience. We are a place to connect with Costa Rica's authentic culture and intense nature. By engaging the traveler, we hope to achieve not only relaxation but mindful exploration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We stayed during the rainy season, August 24th -28th, and the rain really wasn't a problem. There were days when it didn't rain at all, and when it did rain, it didn't rain very long.

We celebrated my wife’s birthday while here. At dinner, they surprised us with a delicious cake. That made my wife’s day. We had great accommodations with an amazing view. The entire staff was very friendly. I would like to especially thank Marvin, Margarita, Randy, Edgar, Luis, Sergio, and Antonio for their extraordinary service. Thank you for the best vacation ever!!

Henry and Tamara Woods

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carter087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

To engage life, adventure, and friendship is to celebrate to the fullest! Thanks for letting us be a part of Tamara's birthday celebration. And thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Best service we ever had. Kind employees and very clean. For sure I recommend this hotel. Also, good choice of activities on the resort. Pure fun and also very relaxing. Cannot wait to come back to this wonderful hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lowee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Our complimentary activities and tours are meant to be the highlight of a Costa Rica getaway. They let you sample the country's eco-adventures while establishing a strong connection to our culture and pura vida lifestyle. Thanks for celebrating your stay with this wow review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted at the door of our car by Cristina who whisked us away to the beautiful dining lounge overlooking the ocean. She planted drinks in our hands and welcomed us as she took care of the check in and activity selection process (activities such as zip lining, cooking classes, etc are included!). This intimate personalized attention was highly representative of the treatment we received throughout the rest of the stay.

As two SPG/Marriott Platinum members, we have seen our fair share of suite upgrades. We were delighted by Punta Islita's upgrade to a suite with a personal jacuzzi and private dining area.

We were so impressed by how friendly and welcoming all the staff and guides were (Marvin, Carlos, Marco, Edgar, and so many others), as well as the other guests - the hotel's small scale creates an intimate atmosphere in which it is easy to strike up a conversation at the pool or over a cocktail making class.

Other highlights included visiting the nearby Ara Project (a macaw conservation project on the hotel owner's grounds), horseback riding along the coast, lounging along the private beach and experiencing and seeing so much rainforest wildlife firsthand (we spotted monkeys, armadillos, and numerous other critters).

For those looking for a comfortable low-key outdoorsy getaway, Hotel Punta Islita is the place for you.

NOTE FOR RESERVATIONS: a bridge has been installed over the river that crosses the main road from Liberia airport. Older reviews stated you had to drive through a river... this is no longer the case. Easy access in rainy season.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thanks for taking the time to share your amazing Costa Rica experiences at Hotel Punta Islita. Our staff is thrilled and eager to be ambassadors for our hospitality culture. Thanks for highlighting the construction of the Ora River bridge. We will review our Reservations' documents to ensure that they are all properly updated. Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews