We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just an amazing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We traveled around Costa Rica staying at different houses and hotels, and were not expecting this to be the highlight of our trip. The hotel is beautiful, views are breathtaking, casitas are clean and comfortable, the staff is truly delightful, the pools are nice (I didn't get to enjoy the adult pool but it looks lovely!), the food is yummy, the spa was amazing, the macaws and monkeys everywhere were a treat...and if that wasn't enough for a great hotel experience, the range of activities offered were outstanding. Punta Islita created memories that will last a lifetime for my family. We will be back again for sure!

Room Tip: Get a casita with a plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gtrowbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thanks for embracing Costa Rica with such enthusiasm! We are delighted to have provided the highlight of your adventure. Our secluded location and intense connection to our cultural and natural surroundings sets us apart. And the incomparable views certainly stay with you. May you return very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed amazing views of surrounding jungle, scarlet macaws, monkeys, ocean, especially from hotel room and infinity pool. Solid activities included horseback riding, surfing, bird watching. Management was very customer-focused. Good mixture of US and international guests. Definitely worth a return visit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Off the beaten path is exactly what makes us exactly like nothing else! Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience. Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The hotel is high on a hill overlooking a beautiful Pacific beach, perhaps 3/4 mile long and nearly empty - a few dozen people max any of the 5 Feb. days we were there.
Beach is a 10 minute walk - all downhill- serviced by a hotel on-demand shuttle (good for the 'up' return!
Rooms are decorated in local style, lots of color, nice decks, good bed, rather small. There are several types and I would recommend the ones higher up for the views and proximity to the hotel lobby, restaurant, bar and pool. Some rooms have plunge pools - our didn't and didn't miss it. Sitting on the deck looking into the surrounding hills and the Pacific was plenty.
The main hotel area is above or alongside the rooms, with a beautiful adults only pool and swim up bar adjacent to restaurant and sunning areas.
I can't speak too much about the beach area. It is long and wide and mostly empty, with a large tree shaded are before the beach. There is a pool and restaurant, pool is open to all ages. There are plenty of tables for eating and a dozen or so covered lounges (a fee). We sat on the beach one afternoon and watched a gorgeous red macaw devour nuts in a tree beside ue - 3 hours! Hotel arranged for dinner on the beach one night.
Diversions - Macaw conservation area a 5 minute drive away, Howler monkeys in the trees on-premise, zip-lining on the property, horse back riding on the beach
Negatives are few. There is a tiny town with one restaurant we didn't try (per others comments) and after a few nights the restaurant got boring. No ones fault, you are FAR from anywhere.
Not sure the distance but once off the highway it seemed about a 45minute scenic, often gravel and dirt road, drive to the hotel.
This is NOT a new hotel, just rebranded as an Autograph. Rooms well maintained but aging.
Want to get away and still be very comfortable this is the place

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DillyScarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Wild macaws feasting on beach almonds is truly mesmerizing! Their bright colors and lively antics are certainly a sight to hold. Thanks for capturing the essence of the Hotel Punta Islita experience. We are a place to connect with Costa Rica's authentic culture and intense nature. By engaging the traveler, we hope to achieve not only relaxation but mindful exploration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We stayed during the rainy season, August 24th -28th, and the rain really wasn't a problem. There were days when it didn't rain at all, and when it did rain, it didn't rain very long.

We celebrated my wife’s birthday while here. At dinner, they surprised us with a delicious cake. That made my wife’s day. We had great accommodations with an amazing view. The entire staff was very friendly. I would like to especially thank Marvin, Margarita, Randy, Edgar, Luis, Sergio, and Antonio for their extraordinary service. Thank you for the best vacation ever!!

Henry and Tamara Woods

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carter087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

To engage life, adventure, and friendship is to celebrate to the fullest! Thanks for letting us be a part of Tamara's birthday celebration. And thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Best service we ever had. Kind employees and very clean. For sure I recommend this hotel. Also, good choice of activities on the resort. Pure fun and also very relaxing. Cannot wait to come back to this wonderful hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lowee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Our complimentary activities and tours are meant to be the highlight of a Costa Rica getaway. They let you sample the country's eco-adventures while establishing a strong connection to our culture and pura vida lifestyle. Thanks for celebrating your stay with this wow review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Islita
32,4 km away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
11,4 km away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
864 reviews
30,2 km away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 24 in Nosara
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11,8 km away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
915 reviews
36,8 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
588 reviews
8,8 km away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection

Address: Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Punta Islita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Price Range: R3 038 - R10 139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4,5 star — Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Islita is the only beach resort in Costa Rica to offer a full menu of complimentary tours, activities, and experiences. These include favorites like canopy zip-lining, horseback riding, monkey quests, and sea-turtle spotting. Plus unique experiences like creating art with local community artists, traditional cooking lessons, golf clinics, and more! Set in a secluded ocean cove in Guanacaste, Costa Rica. Its award-winning planet-friendly, people-positive model offers a unique opportunity to fully engage in intense eco-adventures and authentic cultural experiences. The property features Deluxe Rooms, Suites, and fully-outfitted Private Villas. Ideal for honeymoons, relaxation getaways, family vacations, extended stays, or destination weddings. COMPLIMENTARY SHUTTLE AVAILABLE FROM LIBERIA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT (LIR) PLEASE CONTACT US TO SCHEDULE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Islita Hotel
Resort Punta Islita
Hotel Punta Islita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing