We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$401
View deal
Hotels.comUS$401
Orbitz.comUS$401
TravelocityUS$401
CheapTicketsUS$401
TripadvisorUS$401
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
150
8
4
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
150
8
4
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne suite butler service open to the public crab cakes view of the lake brunch versailles fireplace weekend anniversary wedding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2019

This hotel has so many wonderful features: The lakefront location in Lake Geneva is fabulous. The staff is beyond wonderful. The food is delicious. The rooms are elegant in a by-gone way (but with brand new bathrooms/wonderful crazy showers). And while our Friday night stay was great, Saturday night turned into a Halloween costume party bash after a wedding, where the dj played until midnight, and the staff had to clean up for the next morning which took until one. The room was at the top of the stairs--REALLY LOUD!!
So you'd do well to ask if there are any special events planned in the hotel for your stay. You'll be happier if you do.

Date of stay: October 2019
2  Thank snootytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2019 via mobile

This is a unique and very different place to stay. It is a historic house that represents the splendour of the 1880s in the US. The rooms are stunning and luxurious and there are many other rooms that represent the period. This is not a standard hotel, so if you want tea maker, mini fridge and safe in your room, then this is not for you. It is also an Inn as opposed to a hotel, so you don’t get 3 meals a day, but breakfast by your “butler” who is there all day to deliver coffee, serve at the bar or just chat. All 3 butlers were excellent. If you want a genuinely unique stay in very highly appointed accommodation, this is it.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 1Dram
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

We visited Baker House with friends this weekend. The House takes you back to a warmer kinder century. We salute the sunset with champagne glasses held high, looking over the lake. The staff is so friendly and helpful you feel like you are home where people love you.
We had the Wisconsin fish boil and chicken salad.
Will definitely be back for the sunset salute.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Higgs7321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 February 2019 via mobile

We could not have Christmas with our family so we wanted to do something else special. We chose the Baker House because of it beautiful decor and the menu for their Sunday buffet brunch. All I had to hear was crab cakes and unlimited Memosas and I was there.
I read the very mixed reviews but chose to focus on the positive and was very excited to experience this unique venue.
At first things seemed yummy, the eggs Benedict and omelets were made while you waited and were very good.
The endless memosas were just that and good.
The crab cakes were little,round, brown over done circles of bredding. They were horrible.
There was a desert buffet as well and out of all the items there was only one that was delicious - a tiny puff pastry with fresh strawberry whipped creamm.
All the rest of the food was mediocre at best with very common choices and not a drop of creativity.
I have waited to write this review as I don't like to be negative, but I think it is only fair that prospective diners can be aware of what they will be getting.
If you are ok with delicious omelets & Eggs Benedict, good bacon and sausage the experience will be enjoyable and you can certainly get your fill with all the other less stellar offerings.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank barbarajane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
717travele2, Baker House Matriarch at Baker House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2019

We are so sorry to learn of your experience as it is not the level of quality the Baker House was built on. This summer the Baker House celebrates it 10th season and we are restoring refreshing and breathing new life into the historic gem. After several months of being closed we are excited to announce a RELAUNCH this Memorial Day weekend. We greatly appreciate your support and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019

Overpriced; poor service; no tour, even though it was advertised; Called ahead to say we needed something available for a celiac guest that would be with us - they wrapped the fillings (chicken salad; ham lunch meat and smoked salmon) in a lettuce leaf and put a couple of sweets that showed little to no imagination on her plate - to the tune of $35! Tea consisted - after a 30 minute wait with no menu or anyone coming to the table - of 3 ladies each carrying a pot of tea - mint, chocolate tea, and spice. At least offer a few more choices and leave a pot on the table. Would NOT do this again - Was over $100 and we looked for a restaurant afterwards, because we were still hungry! Decorations pretty, but it did not have a holiday vib. Music was too loud - and not good. Our location on the glassed in porch was great.

Room tip: We didn't stay - we just had tea there.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank B6200PXcarolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
717travele2, Baker House Matriarch at Baker House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2019

We are so sorry to learn of your experience as it is not the level of quality the Baker House was built on. This summer the Baker House celebrates it 10th season and we are restoring refreshing and breathing new life into the historic gem. After several months of being closed and many exciting changes we are excited to announce a RELAUNCH this Memorial Day weekend. We greatly appreciate your support and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews