We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$519
View deal
Hotels.comUS$519
CheapTicketsUS$519
Orbitz.comUS$519
TravelocityUS$519
TripadvisorUS$519
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
150
8
4
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
150
8
4
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne suite butler service open to the public crab cakes view of the lake brunch versailles fireplace weekend anniversary wedding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2018

The setting was charming as always; the food was mediocre at best; we could hear about 20% of what the actors were saying - very disappointing. I cannot recommend this experience. Microphones would have made a big difference, I am sure.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
717travele2, Baker House Matriarch at Baker House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2019

We are so sorry to learn of your experience as it is not the level of quality the Baker House was built on. This summer the Baker House celebrates it 10th season and we are restoring refreshing and breathing new life into this historic gem. After several months of being closed and many changes we are excited to announce a RELAUNCH this Memorial Day weekend. We greatly appreciate your support and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We attended the Murder Mystery dinner at this gorgeous place last Saturday with a group of 7 people.

The young woman who took our reservation on the phone was gracious, enthusiastic and welcoming. She did an excellent job. She encouraged us to come around 5 pm so that we would have time to look around prior to the show beginning. Grateful for her advice that's just what we did. Unfortunately, when we arrived the hostess was not nearly as welcoming. She seemed caught unawares, and simply encouraged us to visit the bar.

Off to the bar we went! The bartender was not terribly friendly either, he seemed a bit disgruntled that we were there and made a point of letting us know he was not really ready for us. Oh well, we ordered drinks and sat down. As we were chatting, we noticed other people coming in wearing hats, others left the room and came back with hats. We later learned that they were being encouraged to walk around and select hats to wear for the show. What a fun idea!

The dining rooms were beautiful and the seating was very comfortable. The meal was also very good.

Unfortunately, some of the table busers were either new or not yet trained as they kept interrupting the conversation to ask if we were through with an empty plate or glass or to ask us to hand one to them rather than simply clearing this away. This was a bit unusual but it actually was a bit of a problem once the play began as it made it very difficult to hear.

The play was not quite what we expected - and that's on us. We didn't ask how it would be conducted when we made our reservations. There were two (2) professional actors and they narrated the show. All other actors were selected from the audience. One by one they were asked to read what had been written out for them.

There were a few problems with this. First of all, the dining areas were on either side of a hallway (which did have doors that could be closed but were continuously opened). Each dining area was three (3) sections. So while the audience actors did their best, they are not trained to project to all areas and it became really difficult to hear and much more difficult to follow the story as it went on. Particularly as quite often the one reading had their back to a portion of the sitting audience.

Each audience actor read their part on one side of the hall and then moved to the other side. The narrators tried to close the doors between the areas to help control noise but someone from Baker House kept opening the doors and leaving them open to make food service more convenient.

While some in our group were able to follow the story, most were not. Simply because of the setup. Having the doors opened allowed considerable noise from each side to compete with reading on the side one was sitting on. Having some actors with their back to you when reading made it more difficult.

I have to give kudos to all actors, professional and audience as well. They all did their very best with what must have been difficult circumstances.

At the end of the night, I found myself feeling a bit bad for the friend at our table who was one of the actors. You see, because she was reading, she often was not in the room when someone else was reading their lines, so she missed quite a lot of the story. I really felt as though it would have been gracious to offer her a complementary drink or a discount on her dinner. At the very least, she should have been told what to expect prior to accepting the offer to participate in this way.

All around a very nice evening. We will go back to enjoy a meal and look around without attending a mystery dinner.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank W2239ARsandraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We arrived at Lake Geneva Saturday evening and went to Baker Hotel and restaurant in Lake Geneva . We’ve been there several times and the food is always amazing ! Great prices beautiful views and after dinner they have a wonderful outside cabana and fire pits you can sit and enjoy a glass of wine . Although we didn’t stay in the hotel I recommend this restaurant it’s been around for years and it’s always good my husband had filet mignon which was a plus A plus, I had chicken piccata it was also A plus . Our server was new but very nice . I highly recommend this restaurant

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank izabellek30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

We stayed at the Baker House Hotel for a business weekend retreat. Jonathan greeted with a cheery smile and felt very welcome. Moham and Andres checked us in with complimentary drinks and gave us some history about the mansion. Sunday brunch is to die for. Whatever your craving is, they have it. Claudia was a great hostess. I had a very nice time. The staff made this weekend very memorable for me and my husband.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank casameri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

We spent Labor Day in Lake Geneva and Baker House was an absolute dream. First, we were pleased to find a parking spot dedicated to our specific room. It was located right in front of the entrance. Right as we walked inside, we were in awe. The decor is something out of an elegant movie, with hats hanging on every wall. We were greeted by the butler, shown to and around our room, and were delighted to be welcomed to the sunset champagne gathering on the 2nd floor of the house.

The room was amazing. The bathroom was spacious, clean, elegant, and the shower is incredible. The view is amazing. Baker House is right across from the gorgeous lake and located in a prime spot in town. It's a walkable distance from restaurants, bars, shops, etc.

We will definitely be back.

Thanks for the stay!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews