We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 108)
Filter reviews
1 108 results
Traveller rating
756
188
82
54
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
756
188
82
54
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carriage house whistling straits wisconsin room blackwolf run immigrant room superior room spa services world class golf black wolf run design center whirlpool tub continental breakfast lake michigan plow immigrants greenhouse turndown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1 108 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2021

Stayed overnight in the American Club in room 172 so we could thoroughly enjoy our spa services.

Decided to valet park. Worth it. Service was impeccable, no wait for the car, steering wheel covered by a thin, disposable plastic covering until delivered.

Check-in was a breeze. We waited for our room to be ready by checking out the lovely lobby with live fireplace and the adjacent great room with the largest area rug I've ever seen. Then we completed the short wait over beverages at the Horse and Plow.

This hotel/resort has an interesting layout...seems like it is three long buildings in three rows, connected by halls surrounded by lovely arboretums in between. Room 172 is on the other side of the resort from the lobby looking over the street one block over. Several stairs distinguish the three buildings.

Room was very clean. Small living room with a sofa and desk and chest of drawers doubling as the small bar, two queen beds, plenty of pillows, and of course, a great bathroom.

Two minor improvements: the frig doesn't really keep things very cold. Not sure it is a safe temperature for leftovers. Ice machine down the hall was out of order; remedied easily by a call to the lobby, ice was cheerfully delivered.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben Cambero Sedano, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Greetings, Jan S.
Thank you very much for your comments and candid feedback.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the comments regarding the mini fridge temperature. We definitely will look into it. The ice machine was not operational due to our Covid-19 protocols and I am glad to see that it was promptly and cheerfully delivered. Our apologies for the inconvenience we may have caused.

Jan S, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Destination Kohler!

Have a lovely day,

Ruben Cambero Sedano
General Manager, The American Club & Inn on Woodlake


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2021

We checked in and were assigned the very first room of the hotel. The room was right off the lobby, meaning we shared a wall with the concierge. I was surprised that it was fairly quiet, but could hear guests walking through the lobby at night. We stayed with 2 small children. We never visited the American Club or Kohler. The hotel had covid measures in place. I have mixed feelings about the amenities for families, it more of a couples getaway. We were able to walk to the shops at Woodlake and found the market there for daily breakfast, the chocolate shop, and the swing studio. The swing studio was fun since we could do a simulator with dodgeball, soccer, and carnival games. The kids loved that. The sports complex was nicely appointed and we enjoyed swimming there. It wasn't really an issue choosing to drive there. We took advantage of the tennis there as well. We had fun flying kites and playing kickball on the front lawn of the hotel, but these activities were completely of our own doing. We found the billiards room our last night, and were disappointed that we didn't know about it sooner. Overall, it is a lovely resort. It is by far more relaxing than going to a waterpark hotel, but we felt the hotel could have done more to present activities for families not just couples.

Room tip: Request a room away from the lobby.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank K2010M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben Cambero Sedano, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The American Club Resort and for the valuable feedback.
I am glad to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy the pool and tennis at Sports Core and stroll through our Woodlake Shops. The Swing Studio is a must stop for my family as well. They love the simulator, specially, during days where enjoying outdoors activities is more challenging due to inclement weather.

I will share your comments with my team and find ways to offer more family oriented experiences. I certainly appreciate your comments.

Kindly,

Ruben Cambero Sedano
General Manager, The American Club & Inn on Woodlake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021 via mobile

This place was such a fantastic getaway. I booked here on a whim, based solely on the covid precautions this resort is taking (that I read from reviews).

We drove almost 7 hours from Michigan, and it was well worth it. I did not realize when we booked how fancy it was here and I feel terrible for not pulling cash out for tips. When we arrived, Cain carried our bags and escorted us to our room as it was through 2 courtyards and we’d never stayed there. Cain was so kind and welcoming that we knew from the start we made a good decision on staying here.

From the staff who checked us in, to The Greenhouse (most adorable coffee shop on the planet!) to The Horse and Plow cheese curds, and of course, the room, everything was OUTSTANDING. We have hopes to return once a year and stay in a suite next time.

We appreciated all of the covid precautions the staff were following— a lot of places say they’re taking precautions but then you arrive and nothings changed, this hotel was not one of them. They were on it with keeping occupancy in areas low, wearing masks, and gloves, temp checks at check in, extra cleaning- everything. Our experience for my birthday weekend was spectacular. A much needed escape.

Also, we sat in the downstairs lobby area and watched the history of Kohler- that was also excellent. LOVE this place!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 649lindsaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben Cambero Sedano, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2021

Dear 649lindsaym,
Thank you very much for your recent visit to The American Club at Destination Kohler and for your lovely review!

It is a joy to learn you had an outstanding time and a great birthday celebration.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,
Ruben Cambero Sedano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2021

My wife and I recently spent a long weekend at the American Club. I can't say enough about the entire hotel staff. The concierge, everyone in the restaurants, and especially Kimberly at the front desk.

We will be back for sure.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiccaloTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2021 via mobile

We stayed at the Carriage House at the American Club. The staff is amazing. So kind and helpful. This is truly a 5 star hotel. The hotel including the rooms an comm areas were so clean and beautiful. Thanks for making it a great stay.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank angiea176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews