We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$104
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Inn(Rice Lake)(Great Value!)
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn by Wyndham Rice Lake(Rice Lake)(Great Value!)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Rice Lake(Rice Lake)(Great Value!)
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
203
28
21
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
28
21
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam showerlakeside cottageorganic gardensmall lakeprairie stylefireplace roomcatch and releaserelaxing getawayprivate decktwin citiesnorthern wisconsinpeace and quietfixed menueach eveninganniversary weekendbreakfast each morningwonderful weekend
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

My husband and i stayed 4 nights last summer. There are some lovely parts about the property-quiet, lots of wildlife, small lake to paddle around in, gorgeous flower and vegetable garden with a cool gardener, bee and butterfly garden, small rushing water feature. So can take a short hike around the property (30 min max), plenty of mosquitos.

The dinner each night was lovely. It is a set menu with no choice. A pleasant staff and nice lake views. Adequate choice of wines by the glass, but nothing exceptional.

The breakfast is pretty skimpy and loaded with sugar—if you don’t care for sweet breads like muffins you are pretty much out of luck. A small serving of fruit accompanies it. You can order eggs and bacon for an upcharge.

Lunch is uninspiring. Sandwiches and chips and sugary soda and cookies—no seltzer to be had. Nothing creative about it.

The property could use some amenities to make a visit more enjoyable. There is no pool or outside service for drinks or food. A spa with various treatments would be a big plus.

But if you are looking for a chance to get away, with nothing to distract you from your partner, this might be your place.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank loveofthenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa D, Owner at Canoe Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

So glad that you’ve carried happy memories of your summertime stay, especially about our Chef’s amazing garden-fresh dinners! Indeed Canoe Bay is the ideal spot to escape all the pressures of everyday life and focus on the most important things. Hope you’ll be back soon to check out the Summer ’18 breakfast and lunch room service menus. They’re always being updated. In-room massage therapy has long been popular here, as is swimming, canoeing and paddle boarding in the crystal clear lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

My husband and I went to Canoe Bay for our anniversary last June. This Inn is deep in the woods and provided plenty of opportunity to view wildlife. (We had to stop the car so I could move a turtle out of the road on the way in.) We had the Escape cabin and within was everything we needed. We had dinner at Canoe Bay and it was fantastic. Ladies - bring your evening dress and heels! Men, break out the suit and tie. At the suggestion of other reviewers, we did bring a picnic basket with food and wine for later in the evening. We were so full from the dinner we didn't need any extra food. I would definitely like to visit Canoe Bay again. And stay an extra day! The only complaint I would make is that the fruit provided for breakfast did not look nearly as good as the photos on the website. For the price they should serve a better and more plentiful breakfast, including perfect fruit. Yes, even for the Escape occupants - then I could rate them excellent.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank Crazymite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

What a place to get away from everything. Just relax and don't lift a finger they will bring it all right to your cabin.
Chef outstanding! The food is wonderful unusual combinations that your taste buds savor.My only wish is you could have better fireplace control or a real fireplace.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank bhfoodie2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to disconnect and reconnect, this is the spot! We enjoyed the great accommodations (Lakeside Cottage with spa, steam shower, elliptical, and tubby overlooking the lake), and all food delivered to our cottage. You have the option to dine in the evening at The Inn or to have 3 course dinner delivered to your cottage. We opted for the latter. Dinners creative and lovely.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Really enjoyed our recent stay at Canoe Bay. Staff were nice, grounds were clean and our cabin was nice. That being said... it's quite expensive. Worth it? I'm not sure. The dinner should be included with the cabin rates since there are no options and at least some cabins should have very good wi-fi (our cabin had wi-fi, but it was extremely slow). Again, enjoyed our stay but I'm not certain that it lived up to the level that several other reviews noted.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews