We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
34
12
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
34
12
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river out of this world situated right days fishing trip camp laura bank
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2020

10 mates from the class of '73 spent a few magic days fishing and reminiscing of our school days. Glyn and Laura were magnificent hosts. The camp is just magic... neat clean and just right... situated right on the river bank. The food is fantastic... and you take a few extra kgs home despite all the activity. The guides are knowledgeable and friendly. What more can one say... Hannes you have a fantastic spot and are a very gracious host. Nothing is too much. Pkanning the next trip with the family

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank AlasdairMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2019

Visited Sekoma island lodge between 9th to 16th September. Absolutely brilliant, staff where great, facilities great, food out of this world, fishing just incredible. A very big thanks to Laura, Glenn and William. 6 rating.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Nai W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2019

Day 1:
On arrival, we were collected from Livingstone airport by Kelvin, who came bearing ice cold Mosi beers. Anyone who has been to Zambia knows that this beer is a national treasure. After an hour and a half drive and a five-minute boat ferry, we landed at Sekoma Island Lodge. After a quick camp briefing, we dashed to the tent to change and head out for our first fishing.

We were paired with Keys, an exceptional guide with over 12 years’ experience. Keys has advanced knowledge on the river and all forms of tiger fishing. While our first afternoon was a blank, we were not concerned as we still had a few days to land the big one.

The sunsets and bird viewing from the water are breath-taking and a firm reminder as to why our hearts remain in Africa.

On returning to camp we were treated to an elephant sighting as we disembarked the boat. The light was fading so we were not able to capture any images, but it was great to know they were comfortable being so close to camp.

Dinner was served at 19h30 and we were treated to a selection of roast beef and chicken.

Day 2:
We started the day with coffee on the deck of our tent and then headed over for breakfast at 06h15. We chose to do a split day today just to get a feel for the fishing. Being the middle of winter, the boat ride to our first fishing spot was chilly, to say the least. If you plan on visiting during the winter months don’t be shy about the number of warm layers you wear out on the boat. We only remove our first layers at around 11 am. From the time we had a line in the water the tigers were biting. We had a couple of big fish jump the hook, but eventually started our day off with a 6-pounder landed on a spoon. Many more bites followed, but as the air warmed the fish became less active.

Lunch at the lodge was a delicious sweet chick curry pasta that hit the spot and energized us for round two.

The afternoon session yielded an 8-pounder and another 6-pounder tiger towards the end of the session. After watching another stunning sunset, we headed back to camp where we once again were greeted by the sounds of the elephant herd making their way to the water’s edge.

After grabbing some Mosi’s from the well-stocked bar we headed to our tent to refresh for dinner. Tonight, we had an excellent chick curry with all the extras.

Day 3:
For our third day, we opted to do a full day on the water so we could travel a little further up the river. The boat trips are about an hour and a half and the wind chill is extreme, but so worth it when you get there. Once again there was a lot of action in the early morning and late afternoon which resulted in two 10-pounders being landed.

The packed lunch was simple but tasty. We were provided with two beef burgers each, which was way too much, but its always good to know that the packed lunches are generous.

There were no elephants waiting for us on return this time, but some unlucky anglers did have a close encounter with a rather unhappy hippo.

Dinner for this evening was a typical African braai with a spread of steak and boerewors.

Day 4:
Our fourth day was not our best. We set off on another full day adventure (more prepared for the chilly travel this time), but the sudden arrival of gusting wind and drop in water temperature resulted in some hard fishing all day long. Key went above and beyond to get us on the fish, but the morning was a bust.

Lunch was succulent crumbed chicken breasts, which went down a treat.

The afternoon’s fishing yielded some small fish the largest of which was a 6-pounder but were eternally grateful for Keys who truly went above and beyond the call of duty to land us those fish.

There were no elephants waiting to welcome us back to camp this time, but there was a brilliant spread of fillet steak to fill our bellies before heading off to bed.

Day 5:
Day 5 marked our third consecutive day of full-day fishing and came with a packed lunch of fillet steak pies (so yum).

Unfortunately, the wind and cool water temperatures were at play again which resulted in a few big bites, but no fish being landed.

We were once again spoiled with a steak dinner and fell asleep to the sounds of hippos on the river.

Day 6:
Our last day on the water yielded some good results with 2 x 4-pound tigers, 2 x 6-pound tigers and 2 x 8-pound tigers. Unfortunately, we did not land the giant this time, but they are out there. The anglers on bulldog had some luck with an 18-pounder being landed.

Our last day ended with a pork roast that was superb.

Day 7:
It is sad to be leaving, but we are looking forward to the next leg of our trip to Kafuwe National park. The lodge management arranged a transfer for us to our meeting point with the team from Nanzhila Plains Lodge. We hope to be back soon.

All in all, this was our most successful tiger fishing trip and Sekoma Island Lodge is highly recommended. The personnel are friendly and highly knowledgeable which only goes further toward making the experience unforgettable.

While our main purpose for the visit to Sekoma Island Lodge was to fish for tigers, there is more to it than that. The birding is brilliant with an abundance of species that are easy to photograph from the boat. The camp also offers a walking tour around the island where you can bird watch, game view and shore fish. We didn’t get to take advantage of this but will definitely add it to the agenda for our next visit.

We travelled to Sekoma Island Lodge from 31 May to 6 June, which is typically the best time for fishing. Water was lower this year, but the fishing was still excellent.

Notes:

The wifi in Zambia is notoriously terrible, so remove the stress of trying to connect and just keep your phone off and enjoy the time relaxing.
The Tigers love the jigs, so make sure to make plenty as they took the tails off of most of ours in no time.
Beware the increasingly more abundant groups of rowdy drunken South African male anglers. They deprived the entire camp of sleep on the second night. Unfortunately, this is not the first time we have experienced this behaviour, and I am sure it won’t be the last. Their behaviour was an embarrassment to the entire South African population and would not blame management if they banned them from ever returning.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MGBtravels369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

the lodge was quiet during our trip , the staff are friendly , drinks prices reasonable , WIFI not to bad . Tents are comfortable . Fishing guides excellent and eager to get their clients into a fish . All in all good trip - will be back . Stanford the chef is great , Peter and Kalvin the camp management whilst we were there were always interested to see how the day went

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adamschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Awesome trip. From the pick-up at the airport in Livingstone, transfer to Ilombe and our week stay there, the service was exceptional ! All staff are very friendly and helpful. The chef did an outstanding job catering for all our needs. I will absolutely recommend a trip to this beautiful part of the Zambezi River.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RonelZ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews