We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing 'dream villa' we would thoroughly...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ratnakara

Welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome
Pool area... pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Welcome
Pool area...
pool
pool
pool at night
pool at night
pool at night
lily pond
Lily pond
getting ready for dinner
Beach at the end of the garden
Double rainbow over the house
Walking along a nearby beach - Great for swimming / surfing  / body boarding year round !
Beach at the end of the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dondra, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Paul H
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An amazing 'dream villa' we would thoroughly recommend to all!”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

An amazing large villa for just the two of us! Spotlessly clean with such friendly attentive staff yet unobtrusive. The towel being placed on the lounger and the insect repellent being placed nearby to protect us and all with a huge smile!!!!Fantastic views of the Indian Ocean. Loved the ride in the tuk-tuk with Chef to go to the market to collect the groceries,meat and fish! A huge thanks too to Chef for catering for my 'palette' and for the fantastic meals that were served up to us.
The owner was very kind in phoning us to check everything was okay once we arrived and we were greeted by Barbara who was happy for us to contact her if we needed anything during our stay.
The swimming pool was super, just hanging off the side looking towards the ocean! The outside shower too, listening to the birds and the monkeys in the trees was great!
The attention to detail was extremely professional and we thank all the staff in making our short stay so memorable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2014
Many thanks the fantastic review and pleaase do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danton00
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wished we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 nights at Ratnakara and wish it could have been more. The villa is huge as there was just the 2 of us there. It would comfortably fit 12 plus guests. The bedrooms are large and open out on to balconies, where you can hear the waves crashing on the bay below. My room had a large dressing room which led on to a fabulous bathroom with a free standing bath. Beyond this was an outside rainforest shower area. The rooms were beautifully finished in white Terazzo and had modern fittings with a touch of old colonial.
The downstairs kitchen was fabulous and again huge. All the appliances were top quality- although we didn't feel the need to cook as there is an in-house chef. As the weather was very kind to us we spent any free time relaxing outside but there are plenty of luxury comfy seating areas and sofas inside too.
The pool which is cantilevered so it overhangs the cliff is amazing and a perfect temperature.
The staff headed by houseboy Wasanthra couldn't have done more to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The first night we had local Sri Lankan curries and it was fabulous.
As a frequent visitor to Sri Lanka i will definitely be booking Ratnakara again.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
Thanks the great feedback! We are thrilled you enjoyed youselves and will look forward to welcoming you back Soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: nothing, it was great.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Freens
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa and Location: Ideal for large groups”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The villa is beautifully laid out and has plenty of space for large groups. The location of the villa is quite secluded which makes for a comfortable hassle free staff. It has a wonderful lap pool with a great view. Rosie was a great help with the kids. Sarath makes the most wonderful dishes and he is a real gem. The two watchmen made us feel safe at all times.

The villa has 6 staff (excl. off site manager) in total. Given the fact that we were with 2 small children only, it was not necessarily helpful to have so many people around the villa. This was compounded by the fact that it was not always clear who would take care of what. Rather than having so many people around, I would have liked a smaller staff base with a more direct service orientation and friendliness.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the Villa
Liked least: Too many staff without a true purpose makes for an intrusive atmosphere
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury/space of property and service
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing