We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Family holiday!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Post Office
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office from front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office from front
Front Door
Kitchen + door to back garden
kitchen
view to mountains from kitchen window
kitchen
Evening in the hall
View from Living room
Ensuite to Bedroom 1 East Side
View from front of house
View from back of house
View from bedroom
View from Pub 100 metres from house
View from top of hill when walking from house
Another view from back garden
Bathroom on East side
Lounge leading into kitchen in background
The Urhan Inn Pub 100 metres from house
The Urhan Inn Pub 100 Metres from house
view from sink in Utility room
Back Garden Looking East
View East from Garden
View to sea from East Side of Back Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Eyeries, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Sarah T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Family holiday!”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Post Office is just wonderful in every way! From mountain views behind the house, to the coast at the front. The house is the perfect size for a large family with plenty of space. The ping pong table was a massive hit with everyone and the disco lights were loved by the younger family members.
With 7 bedrooms spread over both ends of the house there was no issue sleeping 14 adults and 1 toddler. The Kitchen is the perfect size for so many.
The scenery on the entire peninsula is breath-taking. Walking shoes and scenic drives are an absolute must.
The Urhan Inn was a massive hit and only a short walk from the post office. The owners and locals were absolutely lovely and joined in the sing song on our last night.
Cannot recommend this house, and the location, enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Hi Sarah, Thanks for such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed the scenery and also led a sing song. You are always welcome back. Warmest regards, Daniel and Mary + Iain and Eimear.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara H
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were a party of 16 in total. Ages ranged from 12 to 86. Everyone loved the house, plenty of room to spread out. Well equipped kitchen. The dining hall (with table tennis table and wood burning stove) was a huge hit. Definitely need a car, although the local pub is a 2 minute walk. We did day trips to Garnish Island, via Glengarriff - Kenmare (very rainy, wet day) - hiked up the waterfall at Gleninchaquinn (fantastic scenery). Tried to go to Dursey Island via 'only cable car in Ireland' but arrived too late for crossing (note to self: always check timetables!), visited Buddhist meditation centre on beautiful sunny day. Fabulous location, scenery, lovely little coffee shop, very peaceful, very 'chilled' on departure.
Daniel and Mary (owners of The Old Post Office) always responded to queries very promptly via email and if we had any questions, Iain and Eimear (owners of the pub) were on hand to help. All in all, a great holiday, love to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2017
Hi Barbara,
It sounds like you fitted in a lot to your week in west cork. That is very funny about the cable car. Thanks for leaving everything so tidy and you are always welcome back. Warmest Regards Daniel and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Prague, Minnesota
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Hi Jen
Thanks for such a lovely review and delighted you and family enjoyed your stay. USA did well in games but New Zealand were a mighty force in Semi final. Enjoy the rest of your trip and safe journey home. You are always welcome in west cork. Warmest regards Daniel and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
michaelbl...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home from home”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We recently returned (early June) from a week's holiday and the Old Post Office was an excellent property that catered for all the family. We were able to enjoy our time both at the house with all of the facilities available as well as in the surrounding area. It had amazing views and the locals were very accommodating. We would definitely book this house again in the future. In fact we could only rate this property higher if there was a Guinness tap directly from the pub down the road into the house!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Hi Michael
We are delighted you enjoyed your trip to west cork. You are very welcome to return. I will speak to Iain about the feed of Guinness directly from the pub!

Thanks for leaving everything so tidy.

Warmest regards
Daniel and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Picturesque!”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

What a delightful house! It certainly had everything we needed to feel at home. The kids were completely delighted with the table tennis, basketball & movie projector. The surrounding area was beautiful with lovely walks & picturesque little villages on either side within a short driving distance. We sad to leave & wish we could have stayed longer! Perfect for any families getting together thanks so much Daniel & Mary for letting us stay in your beautiful home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Hi Dawn, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the kids had fun with the games and movie projector. You are always welcome back. Iain and Eimear wanted to say thanks again for leaving the house so tidy. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards Daniel and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing