We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Weekend Escape with Family

Loved the cabins! Probably my favorite modern cabin of all the state parks we stayed. The trails... read more

Reviewed 2 September 2019
wvjodymurphy
,
Parkersburg, West Virginia
via mobile
CLOSE TO HOME AND CALMING!

Were surprised to see the improvements made over the winter. All new rode pavement throughout the... read more

Reviewed 23 June 2019
Linda S
,
Huntington, West Virginia
Read all 63 reviews
  
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
31
15
11
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
31
15
11
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ride bikes dump station paved road disc golf hiking trails fishing campsite boats loop huntington
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2020

Great park with multiple campgrounds, a lake for boating and fishing, multiple hiking trails, disc golf, 1-mile fitness path, tennis courts, playground, lots of paved road for biking, etc.
We came in late March, sort of pre-season, as lake was still practically empty. The Old Orchard campground was open with fully paved roads and pull-through sites. (Not much privacy or shade in this parking lot style campground.)
This park has lots to offer.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank DiFromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV State Parks a, Manager at Beech Fork State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2020

You will love the waterfront sites that open later in the spring through the fall, plenty of space and trees. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

We stay at this state park campground every year. It’s a great park and ideal with children. Nice safe areas to play, walk and ride bikes. Management staff can’t be beat.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Skunkape1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV State Parks a, Manager at Beech Fork State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2020

Thank you for your favorable review of our park! We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2019 via mobile

We usually camp Beech Fork at least twice-three times a year. We love being right on the lake and being able to throw the Kayaks in and go for a ride.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank WorldTravlerJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV State Parks a, Manager at Beech Fork State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2020

Thank you for your favorable review of our park! We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and are thrilled you enjoy our waterfront campsites. Please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2019 via mobile

We had a great ten day stay at this park! The staff here is exceptional— love the ladies in the office and our loop host!!! Well stocked store. So many waterfront sites and terrific bathrooms with heat and hot water; we are spoiled now. The road in and out of the campground is rather treacherous, very narrow and Winding. Convenient water and dump station. Electric on site.
So much to do in the area. Huntington is a great community. Start with their visitors Center. Marshall University Memorial Fountain is worthy of a visit and reflection.
Our Verizon did not work from our campsite but we were very grateful that there was Wi-Fi in the camp headquarters building, open 24 hrs. ❤️. We had a family member back in Michigan who was ill throughout and everyone was so thoughtful and kind. Highly recommend. Will be back.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank suebruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV State Parks a, Manager at Beech Fork State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2020

Thank you for your favorable review of our park! We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2019

Very nice campground. We had a big campsite right on the lake. The park is well maintained and the bathrooms had clean, hot showers at no charge. We fished and hiked. We saw deer, beavers, lots of birds. Would love to go back!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank 352danniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV State Parks a, Manager at Beech Fork State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2020

Thank you for your favorable review of our park! We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews