We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely superb accomodation and facilities”

Review of LA CLE DES CHAMPS

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Scille, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Nick_Roch...
Yaxley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb accomodation and facilities”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in the Gite for a week sharing with friends and family for a birthday celebration.
The building looks like a cabin from the outside but the interior is a well finished modern three bedroom house with very large living area and excellent kitchen. Everything we might have wanted was provided and in great style. An example - everyday crockery and cutlery in the kitchen supplemented by a full set of fine dining quality in the living room. The property stands next to its own large, well stocked and pretty fishing lake and the owners have provided lots of fishing tackle, a rowing boat (with life jackets etc.), sheltered fishing bays with tables, chairs and even a fridge for bait and beer. In a purpose built shelter lots of bikes are provided to explore the beautiful surrounding countryside. Outside the property there is extensive decking with a dining area, gas barbecue, stylish loungers and children's play equipment. In an adjoining field there are two tiny ponies and equipment is provided for them as well. So much is provided that I'm sure I have missed some facilities and everything is thoughtfully sourced to a high standard. The whole site has been designed to run with minimal environmental impact and the owners have succeeded in creating a holiday experience which should exceed a guest's expectations.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The consistently high quality of everything provided.
Liked least: Leaving :-)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodiieTr...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil location; luxury accommodation; highly recommended”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

La Cle des Champs is set in wooded surroundings at the side of a small lake. You can sit on the porch and watch the fish jump to catch damsel flies hovering on the water's surface.
The interior is well appointed and well equipped and I can honestly say it is the best holiday let I've ever stayed in. The kitchen has everything you could want (dishwasher, full oven, washing machine, senseo coffee maker etc) and the bedrooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable. The owners met us at the property and gave all the information we required. I can highly recommend it!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well equipped kitchen
Liked least: Steep driveway/entrance
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquility, Nature, Comfort and good fishing too”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This gite was great, the pictures on the web-site do not do it justice; the interior was immaculate and had all the facilities that we needed and more that we didn’t use (e.g. sound systems in each bedroom, bicycles, the raclette, table tennis). We found it very comfortable and cosy, particularly when we lit the wood burner on a couple of cool evenings.

Brigitte and Bernard, who had been very helpful and prompt in all our e-mail correspondence, were there to meet us and had called on the immediate neighbour, being English, to come and help when needed with any difficulties in translation (we don’t speak French too well). It was also reassuring to know that the neighbour was available should we have needed any help during our stay.

The nearest shops are only a 3 minute drive away in L’Absie, (perhaps a 20 minute walk, or less by bicycle, to those younger and fitter than us). Bigger supermarkets can be found in La Chataignerie and Moncoutant about 15 minutes away and Hypermarkets in Parthenay about 30 minutes away – both very easy drives.

We ate lunches in some local restaurants. We particularly recommend La Bonne Vie, in Le Beugnon; it is run by an English couple who make you feel very welcome but, more importantly, the food was very good. So good, we went twice but would recommend booking to avoid disappointment. We also enjoyed the Restaurant du Lac in Secondigny with its very pleasant outlook over the lake.

The owners have a very large number of guides and information brochures - some of the guides are very impressive books and even though in French contain many photographs that give a very good description of both the Vendee and Deux-Sevres Departments. The coast is only about 1 to 1.5 hours easy drive away, to provide sea and sand opportunities.

The gite’s lake provided good fishing as well as the opportunity to see many different birds and listen to a frequent raucous frog’s chorus. Kingfishers, herons and swooping swallows over the water, together with chaffinches, robins, wrens and nuthatches in the trees and on the bird feeders just outside the gite were good to watch.

The covered fishing platform with its bait fridge, electric lights, sink, running water and permanent rods support structure meant fishing in comfort and luxury, but a note of caution: the lake has good sized sturgeon – a new experience for me. They took baits intended for bream, roach, and tench and their acrobatic fighting (including leaping out of the water) initially meant shed hooks or broken line. Only heavier line, larger hooks and patience to the net changed that and a number of fish to 4.5kg were then landed.

Our Labrador dog enjoyed the many tracks and lanes around La Bourse for his walks; a gate in the fence at the far side of the lake conveniently opened onto a farm track. He was also at ease with the two delightful ponies that, during our stay, were in a different field but we understand are often in the field surrounding the lake. We used the vet in L’Absie to comply with Pet Passport requirements for our return to the UK.

If nature, being away from it all, fishing and plenty of countryside to explore is what you seek , then this location and the gite have it all. Without any doubt, La Cle des Champs is on the list of gites that we would happily return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the gite, the covered fishing platform and ease of getting around the local region.
Liked least: External covered area did not get the afternoon sun
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
This is the best testimony we received from our English friends that we receive with great pleasure.
We provide this welcome and a personalized relationship during the stay with the support of our friend and neighbor English unlock feature installed for years close to us.
She is very happy to assist our guests and help them discover the richness of our region she loves.
A book in English helps travelers organize the best stay (leisure, activities, local produce ..)

C'est le meilleur témoignage que nous ayons reçu de nos amis anglais que nous recevons avec beaucoup de plaisir.
Nous assurons cet accueil et une relation personnalisée durant le séjour avec l'appui de notre amie et voisine anglaise installée depuis pusieurs années près de nous.
Elle est très heureuse d'accompagner nos hôtes et de les aider à découvrir les richesses de notre région qu'elle aime beaucoup.
Un book en anglais aide les vacanciers à organiser le meilleur séjour (loisirs, activités, produits locaux..)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yvesblond...
Aire-sur-la-Lys, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Merci pour la qualité de votre témoignage , votre fidélité.
Nous avons beaucoup apprécié la qualité de nos relations et nos échanges sur la pêche et l'empoissonnement de l'étang.
Vos remarques vont nous aider à progresser dans la qualité de nos prestations.
Nous allons cette fin d'année rééquilibrer le peuplement , rajouter du poisson blanc et introduire une nouvelle espèce de poissons moyenne taille pour le plaisir du pêcheur (le carassin).
Nos poissons sont certainement de dignes contributeurs au tourisme local.........Vous en êtes un excellent ambassadeur.
Merci encore pour vos compliments et vos encouragement, c'est un plaisir de vous recevoir.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubdesci...
Coudekerque-Branche, France
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2018
Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez apprécié le confort et l'équipement de notre gîte.
De plus vous avez été sensible à l'environnement et aux nombreuses activités et services sur place et proches.
Nous sommes à proximité de nombreux sites de loisirs et de visite très prisées ( futuroscope, puy du fou, marais poitevin bocage et plages de Vendée la Rochelle et les iles etc..
Les séjours sont souvent trop courts et les vacanciers reviennent.
C'est un plaisir d'entendre les compliments sur notre région et de vous recevoir
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing