We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$228
eDreamsUS$228
Agoda.comUS$228
TripadvisorUS$228
FindHotel
Destinia.com
View all 8 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (971)
Filter reviews
971 results
Traveller rating
650
215
65
24
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
650
215
65
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews commencement bay water view train noise walking path water front quiche shuttle service west side first floor jacuzzi tub light sleeper close to downtown the breakfast area free breakfast front desk staff great room fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 971 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2021

For my first visit to Tacoma, I wasn't sure where to stay, and was attracted to the Silver Cloud's location on the water. The room was comfortable, clean, everything in good working order. Staff were helpful and responsive. I didn't get to see all the facilities/amenities, and with COVID protocols, breakfast was all to-go, but better than other offerings I've seen in these circumstances. The elevator was out of order while I was there (2-night stay) - which didn't affect my stay on the first floor, but could be important for some visitors.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2021

The room was disappointing, ugly decor and overlooked construction site with cranes. Train runs a lot. Advertised fireplace in room - Nooooo-was an led light display!!!!!!! Seriously! That’s false advertising. It was a 200 dollar room! Shameful

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dreamer396189
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael Mann, General Manager at Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2021

Dear Dreamer396189,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. I apologize if the construction site and cranes detracted from stunning views of Commencement Bay and the Tacoma Waterfront. Currently, Metro Parks Tacoma is working on improvements to Dickman-Mill Park. The cranes will soon be gone and the park will be open for all to enjoy.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and felt the design of our recently renovated guest rooms was not to your taste. While many of our guests rave about the ambiance of the electric fireplace, I can understand your confusion about how it is listed on our web site. Perhaps the photos of the electric fireplace on the web site would provide a more accurate description.

Thank you again for your recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2021

We have spent one night here when working remotely and while exploring local trails. This is a top notch experience for little staycation. Located right on the waterfront with great views, good free breakfast, fast Wi-Fi for remote work and most importantly the amazing jacuzzi tub in the corner of room 344. Great views, beautiful fireplace, comfy bed. Front desk staff very friendly. Totally recommend Northern Fish shack next door for some take out Fish & Chips. Will stay again!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lucyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 November 2020 via mobile

We visited again this last week. We have had many amazing stays here over the years. A special shout out to Katie who went above and beyond to accommodate our room request. She is a gift to your hotel and if awards are given out, she should be the first in line. So nice to be greeted by happy staff who go above and beyond in their duties. The SilverCloud is always our pick! Many restaurants close by. Lots of activities to choose from in close proximity. Rooms are very nice and the jacuzzi rooms a must. Rain or shine, the views are spectacular! Lots of walking paths. Thanks again to Katie and all the staff. We will be back!!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MOTHEROFTHREE_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2020 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. It is very well maintained and it’s staff are excellent. The rooms are spotless but nothing extraordinary unless you go for a top tier room. With that said he hotel itself doesn’t differentiate itself from many other nice hotels. What distinguishes it is it’s location pure and simple. The hotel itself in another location would be half the price. As the only hotel on the waterfront they command ( and get) a premium rate. If you must be on the water and enjoy the ambiance of Ruston Way this is the place. If you want equal accommodations at half the price in town there are many options. Also if you are a light sleeper be aware that the train tracks are extremely close to the hotel and trains seem to run every 30 minutes at night. They also ran out of some breakfast items during my stay which is puzzling and inexcusable for a $200 plus hotel.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 662lloydt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews