We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
14
5
0
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
5
0
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews speak easy hotel guests atrium pros lodging cons tv
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2021

McMenamins strikes again with another historically-infused boutique lodging option. This newer property has many of the same qualities as their others. Here is a quick comparision:

PROS = Newer rooms (which actually have a TV), More room styles to chose from, secret bars, on-site live music (when COVID isn't ravaging), great location near other dining locations, and a beautiful lobby. The staff were probably the friendliest of all the McMenamins we've encountered.

CONS = No soaking pool, easy to get lost inside, no dedicated parking for hotel guests.

Overall, it's a fantastic place to stay and continue your cosmic tripper journey. Tacoma just got a little more rad.

Room tip: The best rooms have balconies or windows facing outside. Atrium rooms may feel a bit less private/noisy.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HumJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dametris Harrison, Innkeeper at Mcmenamins Elk Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2021

Yes to everything you've written... thank you! We'll be sure to let the staff know, that they are possibly the best front desk staff in the company!! Love that!! And love that you stayed with us. We appreciate your review, and hope you'll visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2020 via mobile

This was my wife and I’s first time here at the Elk Temple and I must say I will be definitely coming back. The place is cool and has so many different levels to it. But the customer service there was beyond delightful and just breath of fresh air during our whole time there.

We had an excellent time there even though everything was pretty much closed because of Covid-19. We did get to have some food and drinks outside in the heated tents the first night. We had room service the second night which was kind of fun too. The front desk, servers and everyone else there were very kind to all of us including our dog Hudson. We want to come back here big time to see some music and do it up the McMenamins way here. It was a pretty rainy weekend and Tacoma seemed to be very mellow during our time there. We wanted to escape a bit and we were glad we came to support this place. I highly recommend this place to stay for a few nights on your way up to Seattle.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank adventurist_oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dametris Harrison, Innkeeper at Mcmenamins Elk Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2020

Thank you so much for your review! We greatly appreciate you staying with us, and we hope you'll get around to staying with us again soon. These are different times; we're all anxious to get back to "normal".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2020

We as senior citizens (one with broken foot) were assigned the 7th floor with the elevator only going to the 6th floor. The staircase as well as the hallway leading to only 1 of three rooms on the far side of the hotel was poorly lit.
NO SECURITY AT THE HOTEL
NO SAFE IN ROOM
NO CAMERAS
NO EMPLOYEE ASSISTANCE IN HANDLING BAGGAGE
Not the cleanest of places to stay. They seem to be ignoring Covid.
UNSAFE place to stay !!!!!!!!!!!!

Room tip: be careful
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JulieG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dametris Harrison, Innkeeper at Mcmenamins Elk Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2020

Ouch! This just doesn't sound like our "Normal" service... unclean, and ignoring the COVID procedures... YIKES!!
This is harsh. I hope you've addressed these concerns on a more personal platform. Because this sounds like a horrible place to stay...
We'll be sharpening our tools because of this review.
Thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2019

Went there not knowing what to expect, but have enjoyed their locations. The Elks Temple's decore was well done. Different levels a pub, bar, a restaurant, and check out the Speak Easy, if you can find it Clue, it's on the 3rd level. Excellent atmosphere all around. The hosts and service couldn't have been better

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dametris, Manager at Mcmenamins Elk Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2020

Thank you for visiting us, we greatly appreciate it...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2019

We weren't able to stay there, but did enjoy breakfast and lunch there. Both were really good. Everyone was so nice and on top of everything. The gift shop was nice and loved all the different areas, so unique.

Date of stay: November 2019
1  Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dametris, Manager at Mcmenamins Elk Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2020

Thank you so much for visiting...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews