We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Anniversary Dinner”

The Mansion Restaurant at Rosario Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 42 Restaurants in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Mansion Restaurant The Mansion Restaurant is located on the original veranda of the historic Moran Mansion and offers creative local cuisine in a stunning waterfront setting.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed spending a special Anniversary Dinner in this lovely Rosario Dining Room. The Halibut was delicious and our Server Mark really excellent and tuned into what we wanted to put together. Gorgeous views and a special place to make a memory.

Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly S, Public Relations Manager at The Mansion Restaurant at Rosario Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for joining us for your special day. We look forward to seeing you in years to come to continue this tradition!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the Mansion to see if it really had better food than previous years and improved offerings for dinner. It was a beautiful location and an interesting location with a table that allowed us to watch the activities in the kitchen and the seaplanes arriving a departing from the harbor. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the menu had several interesting items. The wine list is extensive, but wines by the glass were quite expensive. $17 for a glass of Washington Syrah is not good value, and we opted for draft cider and a lemonade.

We started with salads which were good. The greens had strawberries, and it was quite tasty. The bouillibase was disappointing. The shrimps were very small, and over cooked. Several even tasted a little old. The fish at the base (salmon and halibut) were cooked to mush and overall it was simply a not very good $42 soup. There was no octopus and the sauce was not interesting. My wife had the duck which was a better choice, I think, but not exciting. The stack of potato slices was tasteless.

Deserts were interesting and tasty and the coffee was very good and came quickly. We live on Orcas and have been to the Mansion many times. The view and setting are probably good for tourists, but I cannot say it was a great dinner, and there are better places for an excellent meal. I was glad we did not bring guests.\, and I doubt we will return, but I would probably just have sliders or a small plate and not try to have a full dinner. With all the staff in the kitchen we expected better food, and it would have been nice to have service that created a warmer feeling.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jimHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently were in the Harbor at Rosario and decided to treat ourselves to dinner at athe Mansion Restaurant. We needed to make reservations for dinner as it was a weekend. While waiting for our reservation we wandered the grounds of the Mansion and toured their free museum. It is a gorgeous location and worth exploring. It seems like it will be undergoing redevelopment soon which would be sad. The dinner we had was all locally sourced food and the service was excellent. Worth the stop for sur!

Thank Kathyrn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went because of the view and the reputation. Unfortunately everyone's meal was over cooked. Since we waited so long for it arrive and no one wanted to make a big deal in front of the others other we ALL let it pass. After diner conversation revealed that everyone was dissatisfied. Too bad the server was nice and I'm sure she would have made it it right.

Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioResort, Manager at The Mansion Restaurant at Rosario Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kathleen L, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent meal at The Mansion Restaurant. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your service, but am obviously dismayed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the food. If you were so inclined, I would love to discuss the issues in more detail – if anything, so that we might understand where we went wrong to adjust for the future.

And you were absolutely right – should you have mentioned something to your server, I’m positive she would’ve done whatever she could to address your concerns. It sounds like part of the issue was a longer than usual wait for food, and I totally understand not wanting to further delay the meal. That said, know that there are often things that can be done to accommodate in such situations and we would eagerly pursue them to ensure our primary goal: that you and your guests leave happy.

Thank you again for the feedback and please don’t hesitate to contact me directly to discuss details. I hope you enjoyed your time on the island and will consider coming back so that we might have another opportunity to please.

Cheers,

Regan Vaughn
Director of Food & Beverage
regan@rosarioresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly service that explained the concept of the meals (as local sourced as possible) . Delicious pate in a healty serving was followed by pink scallops and a fussili and rabbit belly dish. Nice house wine from a chardonay.

Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mansion Restaurant at Rosario Resort & Spa also viewed

Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 
Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 
Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 

Been to The Mansion Restaurant at Rosario Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing