We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You can't help but feel creative & peaceful here!”
other travellers have booked this property
Magical Forest House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Magical Forest House
Main Living Room ceiling and skylight (futon not there anymore) Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Magical Forest House
Main Living Room ceiling and skylight (futon not there anymore)
Kitchen
Between Tubroom/Kitchen
Tubroom
Skylight
Bathroom
Tower
Tower Stairs
Extra bed or couch nook on the second story of tower
reading, meditation, hang out in second story of tower
Bedroom skylight
looking down from the second story tower Deck
From the large deck looking back at Tower
Exterior at twilight
Night time at Hobbit land
Spectacular Sunset in Eastsound
Parking and neighborhood shot--very private and woodsy
Community Beach down the street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Eastsound, Orcas Island, San Juan Islands, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jennyt135
Edmonds, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You can't help but feel creative & peaceful here!”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in July 2014

As other reviewers have said, I was struck by the attention to detail..in every nook and cranny you can see special touches.....and can feel the love that has been poured into this special house. Suzanne was easy to reach, gave great directions and instructions ahead of time, and really put special effort into making me feel like it was MY home during my stay. Break away from the beautiful house long enough to check out the private beach. I missed two ferries going home, because I couldn't tear myself away from the place.

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzypsych...
Olympia, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was MAGICAL!”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My cousin and I stayed at the Hobbit House for a girl's weekend away. It was absolutely wonderful. Suzanne and Arthur have attended to every detail. They are prompt in response to any e-mail or phone question you may have. My cousin and I spent a day exploring the island and at Moran State Park but I have to say....if I were to do it all over again I would be totally satisfied just staying at the house. I would have totally enjoyed this home alone for peace and solitude or with a partner for a romantic weekend away...it is absolutely lovely and extremely well stocked from movies and games to extra spices and hygiene supplies. Pack your groceries and enjoy the well appointed kitchen or grill on the deck. We enjoyed fresh oysters from the store up the road. I don't want to say too much about the house because it's best to have a surprise but I will say that the tower bedroom, "my nest", is a total escape from every day life. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that I could totally escape here from every day life.
Liked least: My cousin and I took turns with the beds as the futon on the ground floor is not highly comfortable.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marjonflo...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Makes you instantly feel at home and peace with the natural world”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This little get-away is an oase of tranquility. All you need to make your soul sing is there at your fingertips.
The Hobbit House feels spacious,is adorable and cozy like being in a womb. The outside is so quiet you can hear only sounds of nature. I feel tremendous energized and balanced after spending 3 nights there.
Thanks Suzanne and Arthur for great communication from beginning to end.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sprout547...
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique, peaceful, very nice!”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was such a unique home to stay in. It was quiet and peaceful, we saw lots of deer and wild turkeys in the neighborhood, great view from the deck. A great place to stay while enjoying Orcas Island!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZSS1980
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly magic!”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Okay, we are Tolkien fans. We have yet to decide whether this is truly a Hobbit house (which it looks like as you enter and once you are inside) or an Elvin tree house (which is the feeling we had sitting on the many lovely decks). Either way, we had a spectacular stay with our four-year-old. It is a truly unique experience to stay in this home. It is clearly built with love and very well maintained. The stairs to the bedroom may be a bit difficult for the elderly or very small children to maneuver. Also there is no bathroom in the bedroom structure. As long as you are okay with these minor details, you will have a lovely stay in a secluded hideaway that feels like a fairy tale yet is less than 10 minutes from East Sound and all its restaurants and shops.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing