We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of The Peter Miller House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of The Peter Miller House
Kitchen Kitchen table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Front of The Peter Miller House
Kitchen
Kitchen table
Dining Room
King-sized bed
Full bed at landing
Full bed in 3rd bedroom
Patio
Entrance hallway
Corner of Living Room
Autumn Leaves
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Winchester, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peglegdeb...
Troy, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Beautiful historic home that has been lovingly restored, centrally located in a charming, historic town full of great restaurants and shops. What more could you want?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2017
Thank you for your kind words. We love sharing our home with people like you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julieroad...
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Picture staying in your best friend's house, which happens to be 200 years old.”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Picture telling your best friend that you're bringing your family to stay for a week, but when you get there you find a note from your friend saying "I had to leave. Make yourself at home. We're glad you're here." That's what staying at the Peter Miller House felt like to me. It was fully stocked. I mean FULLY stocked. The kitchen was so well supplied I felt like surely someone must be living here. Unlike other houses or cabins we've rented for a week, this one was 100% comfortable and prepared.
Beautiful home. Truly beautiful. It was such fun and so convenient to walk 2 or 3 blocks into the old part of town and stroll through quaint shops and wonderful restaurants. Truly something for everyone in our family.
Plenty of room in the bedrooms. The bedroom with the queen bed has a private half bath. If I hadn't been so eager for the king size bed, I would have chosen that room for the space and the bath.
Our adult children drew straws for who would sleep in the bed on the landing - sort of like sleeping in the hallway - but the one who ended up there said it was perfectly comfortable.
One recommendation would be to add something - a small table or shelf, perhaps - in the upstairs bathroom. There was no place to put a toilet kit. The medicine cabinet seemed to be locked - access to those shelves would have been welcomed. I felt a little bit like a college kid in a dorm, carrying my toilet kit in and out from the bedroom, and that got a bit old after a week.
The owners were fantastic. An unqualified recommendation as a rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, location, location
Liked least: Having to take the trash and the recycling out to the curb on time.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Dec 2015
Julie, thanks for your kind words. That is exactly the feel we hope to give guests when staying at The Peter Miller house. Thanks for the great feedback about the bathroom, also - great perspective and we will definitely look into making some changes. All the best to you and your family. Thanks for being such great guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea269
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Family Reunion”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was our second stay at the Peter Miller house and it was even better this time than the last time. The new king sized bed in the front bedroom is a beautiful addition to the furniture in the house. Justine and Jon are wonderful hosts and the place is well appointed and extremely clean. The location is fabulous...you are two blocks from old town and all the shops and restaurants. We parked the cars did not need them throughout the stay.

Thanks so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location....
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
photomom8...
Savannah
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Charming in the best way”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We walked into this house and promptly fell in love. This historic home is filled with charm, hospitality and beautiful antiques. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, the bathrooms and kitchen are updated while the furnishings make you feel as if you have stepped back in time. The location is perfect for exploring the historic downtown as well as a being a great place to return to after day trips. Our teenagers loved the vast collection of movies and books. This house is great for families with students at SU as well as those who are just interested in exploring the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The authentic feel of the house
Liked least: That we found this house just as our child is graduating from SU!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeners15...
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our fourth stay at Peter Miller House! We love it!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Recommend highly. Excellent location, beautiful home, comfortable accommodations. Owners have equipped house with everything you might need for your stay.It really feels like you are at home. Downtown Winchester has lots going on and you can walk to the mall from the house for dining, shopping, entertainment. Perfect place for kids (lots of movies, toys, books).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing