We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food even for vegetarians!”
Review of Food For Thought

Food For Thought
Ranked #6 of 430 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Food For Thought is a family restaurant in Williamsburg, Virginia, that’s as engaging for the mind as it is for the senses. Surrounded by quotes and images of inventors, scientists, and social leaders, our atmosphere aims to inspire families and encourage discussion over wholesome, delicious food. Food For Thought’s menu is as diverse as the great thinkers themselves. Our diner’s choices vary from American classics, ethnic dishes, healthy vegetarian options, or one of our nightly seafood specialties. The foundation of our menu is built upon American staples like our famous Fork Tender Pot Roast, Grandma’s Meatloaf, and “fall off the bones” ribs. America grew up on these meals, and we love paying homage to our country’s past. To complement these favorites, we added some newer, more contemporary flavors and ideas like Pad Thai, Jamaican jerk chicken, flavored butters, and original vegetarian dishes. To ensure everyone finds something they love, we also provide a gluten-free menu, a kid’s menu (with healthy options!) and our “Magic 55” senior’s menu. Our food is prepared with love and served with pride. A truly wonderful meal is a combination of good food and good conversation -- so talk about the special people featured here. Talk about the contributions that these people have made to the world! Have a meaningful conversation about how everyone can be great in his or her own way.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent food selections. The vegetarian options were amazing. I had a salad loaded with berries gardein “chicken” with blueberry yogurt dressing that was delicious. The spaghetti squash served over mushroom rice was fantastic, as was a mushroom, spinach and tomato pasta fish. My son had the filet with chimicurri butter and said it was one of the best he had.
This was our favorite meal in Williamsburg.
Also great service.

Thank Leigh424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hehohop, Owner at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Leigh, thank you for complimenting our vegetarian dishes! We're very proud that you consider us to be the best meal you had while in Williamsburg. Be sure to come back and see us again the next time you're in town!

All the best,
Howard, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4 997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 260 of 4 998 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

We had lunch at Food for Thought two days in a row. I can recommend the pot roast, crab cakes, and amazing sweet potato fries! Great comfort foods! We ate a late lunch each day between 2 and 3 and were seated without a wait. Everyone in the family was pleased.

Thank Foodie61064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hehohop, Owner at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Thanks for having lunch with us! I'm honored that you chose to come back a second day, as well. We hope you'll be back for more pot roast, crab cakes, and sweet potato fries in the near future.

Sincerely,
Howard, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Everybody loved it.
Food was great.
Very tasty,
Nice menu selections.
Great spare ribs.
Good helpful staff

Thank readytotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hehohop, Owner at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Thank you for the kind words! We hope to have you back for more ribs soon.

All the best,
Howard, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We found Food for Thought on Trip Advisor and I was skeptical as I saw photos of sides in bowls. No skepticism needed! All 5 members of our family were pleased with their meals. Ribs fell off of the bones, perfectly cooked steaks, delicious scallops and even yummy mac and cheese for the littlest one. I loved the little cards on the table to spark conversation during a trip that was nothing but cell phone for the drive. The owner even stopped by to check in and boxed up our meals for us. What a gem!

Thank cherries24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hehohop, Owner at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Thanks for giving us a shot based on our Trip Advisor rating! I really appreciate you leaving us this review. We'd love to have you back sometime for more ribs and steaks.

Sincerely,
Howard, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Our large family of 10 saw great reviews for Food For Thought and decided to give it a try. So glad we did. While we were waiting for our table, the staff came outside to give us a sample of stuffed mushrooms (yummy) and water. So thoughtful! Everyone was super happy with their food. Some of the table favorites were the shrimp appetizer, the portobello stack, and the pot roast. The selection of local beers was nice, and the wait staff was friendly. A great place to go with the family! Something for everyone on the menu!

Thank mell21abe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hehohop, Owner at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

I'm glad we got the chance to serve the whole family, Melanie! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We'd love to see everyone again sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Howard, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food For Thought also viewed

 

Been to Food For Thought? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing