We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 989)
Filter reviews
1 989 results
Traveller rating
1 187
498
171
85
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 187
498
171
85
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews james river lazy river river view james landing grill busch gardens marina restaurant shuttle service eagles restaurant tennis club colonial williamsburg bedroom condo main building full kitchen fitness center beautiful property water country free shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
800 - 805 of 1 989 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Kingsmill aspires to be a top tier luxury resort, but falls short. For a family, it is perfect. They have ample activities for a family and easy access to Busch Gardens is nice. On site restaurants are overpriced as one would expect for a resort, but for those prices, I also expect better quality of food. Staff is fairly responsive, but some problems went unresolved at the end of our four days. If you can get a good package deal here, it is worth it, but otherwise, there are plenty of other hotel options in Williamsburg. We stayed on an amex deal that provided one round of golf for every two nights at the base room rate. Do not go here expecting a true four star luxury experience and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank APIinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina B, Guest Relations Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Thank you, APIinDC, for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Kingsmill Resort. I am very sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay. Our goal is to always exceed our guests' expectations and my apologies that we fell short of our own high standards on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We have gone here for our annual family vacation for several years now. We enjoy the golf courses, the new small water park for the grandchildren and the dining on the premises. We always get the large room with two lock off rooms to fit eight adults and two children. Always a fun time with lots to do.

Room Tip: Best views are of the golf course. get them if you can.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GLC314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina B, Guest Relations Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Thank you so much, GLC314. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your annual family vacation at Kingsmill Resort. We are pleased that you had a positive experience with our facilities, accommodations, and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

In general, this is a lovely property on the surface. They have every type of activity a family would love. They are on top of busch gardens and colonial williamsburg. This hotel does not have to really advertise since it's location speaks for itself. The rooms could use some updating. Like so many of these properties, in the end, the costs add up very quickly. Enjoy the resort, it is nice.

Room Tip: Top floors and corners.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LindaPatterson5115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina B, Guest Relations Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay, LindaPatterson5115. Our goal is to provide a hospitable environment, top-notch amenities, and a memorable experience for both guests and members. Your feedback is extremely important to us, because without it, we cannot continue to improve our products and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

after this resort was recommended by friends, we booked along with 5 other familes for a total of 23 people(kids & adults). upon arriving at the resort, it was looked great even thought the main road to the hotel was being paved.(was being paved on a saturday afternoon).
even though our room wasnt ready, we decided to walk around and check out the resort, we saw all 3 pools and fitness center.
after going into the room for the first time, i realized that the bed seemed small. i initially booked a room with a king sized bed since there wasnt any rooms left with 2 double beds. i needed the bigger bed since there are 2 adults and 1 child in my family. also when i checked in, i asked if there were any upgrades available and was told that the resort was full.
after sleeping in the bed for 2 nights, when i checked out i had asked what type of room i had booked and i was told a room with king bed. i then informed the front desk that there was definitly not a king bed in that room and it was a queen sized bed. all that was said from the front desk, im sorry and we'll look into that.
i wasnt looking for anything, i just wanted to inform the front desk that if someone is booking a specific room, than thats what should be there.
we ate breakfast in the MIlls, which is a coffee shop and was good with enough choices.
for dinner, we ate at Elements, which is located in the lobby. my group of 23 occupied 3 tables, 2 tables of adults and 1 table for kids. our waitress had our 3 tables plus others. the service was very, very slow, we had to wait over 20 minutes just to get our first drinks. im not blaming her, but the management should of had more help for our tables and maybe not have her waiting on other tables. and since we were multiple families, we all got seperate checks. even though we did seperate checks, they all had the tip included, which i thought was odd, so since we were 3 people on my check i still had to give the included tip(which i really didnt think was deserved with such slow service). once the food started coming out, there was different people bringing trays of food out so it was mostly delivered all together.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina B, Guest Relations Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Kingsmill Resort. We use feedback like yours to assist us with improving the quality of the products and services we offer here at the resort. We will be addressing your situations with the Kingsmill staff in an effort to improve and I truly hope that you will consider returning to Kingsmill Resort in the future. Should you return, please contact our Reservations Manager directly and she will ensure that you are completely satisfied with your accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We have been to Kingsmill Resort several times but haven't been there for years. We decided to celebrate our 34th anniversary with a return visit. We weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived to our departure we thoroughly enjoyed the adventure. The staff couldn't have been better. The surrounding are beautiful and everything is so well maintained. From the James Landing restaurant along the James to the pools and tennis courts, we had a great time. We would recommend Kingsmill for any celebration or just for a weekend getaway. It was truly a memorable trip.,

Room Tip: Anywhere you stay in the resort is fine. Every room has a wonderful view - be it the river, tennis courts or gold course. You will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rfell51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina B, Guest Relations Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you, rfell51, for choosing Kingsmill Resort to celebrate your 34th Anniversary. We are extremely happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our Resort. We hope you choose to come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews