We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean, comfortable and spacious”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rowlands Gill, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Flim18714...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and spacious”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Really nice spot to spent a few days. It is quiet, which suites us, with a deck looking out on a ruined chapel. We all loved our stay - especially the kids. There is a National Trust next door and Beamish is close.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2017
"Hello and thank you for your lovely review of The Piggery. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. The Cottages in Northumberland Team"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wandaMidl...
midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A really peaceful location the only noise we heard where the birds singing. the owners where very helpful and although they lived near they where not intrusive but available if needed.
We really had a relaxing weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at The Piggery and we look forward to welcoming you back to the North East and Northumberland in the future. Kind regards, Cottages in Northumberland Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet, relaxing, cosy and exceptionally clean with great views and wildlife”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at the Piggery as a party of six - four adults and two young children. The cottage was well beyond our expectations. It's the most well appointed holiday rental we've ever had the luxury of staying in, and by far the cleanest - it was frankly spotless. The cottage has been recently renovated and the individually controlled under floor heating allowed cosy living areas, warm bathrooms and cooler (our preference!) bedrooms. The kitchen was superb with clean, modern appliances and had everything from a cocktail shaker to a weighing scales - we didn't bake, but it gives an idea of how much effort the owners have put into considering every detail and preference of their guests. Bathroom and en-suite were again excellent and spotless. There's acres of safe space for children to run around, riverside walks, plenty of wildlife (Red Kites, Deer and Woodpeckers were our top spots) and although the weather for our stay was cold, there's an outdoor decking area that I'd imagine would make for fantastic summer evenings. If we visit the area again I'd re-book without hesitation - it's an absolute gem, managed by friendly and helpful owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, space and rural setting
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parks82
All over the place
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We first stayed at The Piggery in November 2014 and were some of the first guests there, we re-booked for the following Christmas straight away as we liked it so much.

The setting suited us perfectly for a Christmas break as we have family in one of the nearby villages and the owners were happy for us all to celebrate Christmas day there.

We traveled with our two children (20 months and 3.75 yrs) who absolutely loved the place, there is plenty of indoor and outdoor space to run around in and the land surrounding the farm is perfect for short walks.

The accommodation itself is perfect, with three good sized bedrooms (one of which is en-suite), a utility room and a large open plan living space complete with a glass gable wall overlooking the ruins of a 14th century Chapel. Even after a year of use the house is in absolutely perfect order, a testament to the build quality.

Overall we would find it hard to fault The Piggery and will certainly be making a return visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and surrounding countryside
Liked least: In very inclement weather (i.e. heavy snowfall) the track has the potential to become an issue
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for The Piggery. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it sounds like you had a great time.

Cottages in Northumberland look forward to welcoming you back to the Newcastle Area in the future.

Kind regards,

Cottages in Northumberland
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdmUK
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We had a super time. Good walks, deer, birds. Lovely house and owners”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were made very welcome. Owners were helpful and friendly but not intrusive. Deer near the house, birds all around. Close to lots of walks, shops nearby, striking distance of Newcastle. This will appeal to many people. Property is clean, warm, well stocked with utensils and a boot room!
We will certainly be happy to book this again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write your review for The Piggery. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the North east and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, the Cottages in Northumberland team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$161
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing