We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the side trip!”

Island House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Island House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Atlantic Ave & Route 180
Description: The Island House Restaurant and Marina is a great waterfront restaurant with a BEAUTIFUL view of The Eastern Shore's marsh and Barrier Islands. Come for our award-winning crab cakes and fresh flounder while sipping some of the best local Eastern Shore wines available. We are very proud to partner with Chatham Vineyards as our signature local wine.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were in Onancock for a day trip, and the owner of a local business recommended a short drive to the Island House Restaurant for lunch. We thoroughly enjoyed it! Exquisitely prepared seafood and a beautiful view. We had steamed shrimp, broiled flounder, and the garlic clams.

Thank OHTravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
519blakej, Owner at Island House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant! We hope to see you again if you are ever visiting the area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

While on our vacation in Chincoteague Virginia we like to visit new restaurants. Going a short distance from Chincoteague to Wachapreague Virginia to the Island House Restaurant. Not knowing what to expect we stopped in for lunch. It was great. Soft crab BLT was a big surprise. Sweet potato wedges were really tasty. Everything we had was cooked just right and very good. Nice views of the water. Service was excellent. If lunch was this good can’t wait to go back for dinner.

Thank Verna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
519blakej, Owner at Island House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for that great review Verna. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything and look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited there twice in two days - once for lunch and once for dinner. The food - salads, wraps, crab cakes, steak dinner - was quite good. Our lunch server (lounge) was very friendly, while our dinner server (restaurant) was good but not quite as friendly. The view is lovely, and the restaurant offers solid, dependable choices. I would visit again. In all honesty, though, the area does not offer much competition. No need to dress up; casual attire is acceptable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SoJerzeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
519blakej, Owner at Island House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, thanks for taking the time to review us! We are glad to see that you had positive experiences with both our food and service. Again, we really appreciate the review and hope you’ll stop in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our 3rd visit to the Island House. Nice atmosphere with walls of windows looking out on the water. 4 star ambiance. I ordered a chicken sandwich special. The grilled chicken breast was a bit tough and dry. It was covered with melted cheese (provolone?), two slices of bacon, a thick sauce with large lumps of crab meat overtop (that was the best part). Actually, some parts of the sandwich was pretty good, just too much going on and quite a mix of flavors that didn't really compliment each other. The side of cole slaw was awful. Shredded red and green cabbage with a very bland sauce to hold it together. No flavor, no taste. Don't the kitchen cooks taste this stuff??? and if they do - do they like it???

Hubby's got a burger with lots of fixings on it, but he felt it was overpriced for a very ordinary burger that was also pretty dry.

We rode away disappointed. We've had better there. We decided that $45 including tip was too much to pay for lunch for 2 people. I'd give them 4 stars for the ambiance of the restaurant, but as mom used to say, you can't eat ambiance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
519blakej, Owner at Island House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Susan, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the menu items that were served to you. Additionally, because we use only the finest ingredients in our food preparation, we are at times challenged to keep prices low. We do appreciate your constructive feedback, and if you like to discuss this further, please send us an email at info@theislandhouserestaurant.com. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was incredible and reasonably priced. The view alone was worth $20. The service was so good I think the staff thought we were undercover restaurant critics- they were that friendly and attentive.

Thank Igiveuponthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
519blakej, Owner at Island House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, We'd like to thank you for your kind words and assure you that level of service is our norm! We're glad you noticed our care for our food & guests and hope that you'll be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Island House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing