We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 439)
Filter reviews
1 439 results
Traveller rating
675
374
203
103
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
675
374
203
103
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swan terrace regent university main building grounds are beautiful hunt room colonial style dog park outdoor pool breakfast buffet fitness center virginia beach area mini fridge founded wedding fireplace conference williamsburg
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1 439 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Not one to complain at all and I have never written a review before but felt I had to write a review on this hotel to hopefully stop them from ruining another persons experience of Virginia. We arrived at the founders inn for a week long stay while my boyfriend completed in a competition being held by the hotel expecting a relaxing and nice time however this was not the case. From the moment we arrived to the hotel we were disappointed. Having never been to this area we inquired twice as to local facilities and local buses to bring us into Virginia Beach and we were told by staff at reception that there were no buses and the only restaurant and shop around was the seven eleven and Waffle House across the road and that the hotel was the only restaurant around. We also asked as to local takeaways or shops told there was nothing. However on our second last day after my boyfriend completed in the competition held in the hotel we ventured out and not one, not two but three local buses whose destination stated they were heading to Virginia Beach we felt lied to and that we were made felt that we had to eat all our meals at the hotel which were totally inadequate. We also found on this journey several fast food establishments Starbucks and shops. While we should maybe have explored ourselves and understand that the amount of time it took us to find these establishments was our fault, the hotel still should have informed us these establishments were there when we asked as we were taking the locals word. Furthermore, $40 a morning for a cold breakfast (claiming to be a hot buffet) is completely inadequate with the only alternative being an omelette. We attempted to order room service three nights and were on able to do so. The first night we attempted to ring room service even though it is advertised as being available till 10pm we were told at 9:40 that they were no longer serving. The second time we attempted to ring room service was the night of the power outage and while we accept that this is not their fault and completely understood being unable to provide a lot we only requested a sandwich or fries which we assumed wouldn’t be an issue as they were able to provide a meal for a wedding at the same time but we hung up still understanding where they were coming from. On the third night we were informed that due to the power outage 24 hours before head they were still unable to provide room service although they were catering for another function downstairs!! Finally our room was dirty and housekeeping only came the first day of our trip. On our second last day we returned to the room to find they housekeeping had been but had not given us clean towels or replenished amenities but had left us disposable coffee cups on the side of the sink however did not give us more coffee or even make the bed! Unfortunately, while we asked nicely for the above to be changed nothing was done and we felt more like we were bothering the staff. The staff were extremely unhelpful and actually quite rude to us numerous times. However, I will say that the hunt room was nice and we had a lovely server and the servers at breakfast was nice too...that’s the only thing that saved our experience.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Trail24168659293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Trail24168659293
Thank you for taking the time to send us this detailed information. Sadly, it appears that we have some room for improvement and we are sorry this happened during your stay. This is not typical, but it should not have happened at all. Each area of your feedback has been shared with the appropriate department for review and follow up. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,
Melissa Georges
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

Staff was very attentive, facility was wonderful, food was very good. Initially had a problem with the bed, but everything was handled properly and quickly.we were very pleased with the room we were moved to

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Thank jamesdY1718BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

jamesdY1718BL,
Thank you very much for your kind review and comments regarding our staff. We are so happy you were pleased with our resolution and new room.

Sincerely,
Melissa Georges
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

The hotel staff was very professional at all times, the facility was clean and very well maintained and in the perfect location for our event. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay during the football tournament for our son. This hotel was awesome.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Thank Deburg519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Pioneer58375603013,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we have the opportunity to host your football tournament again in the future.

Sincerely,
Melissa Georges
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

This might have been a luxury hotel when it opened in 1990 as part of Regent University, and it shares their beautiful grounds, but it seems like they are trying to keep it going on a Motel 6 budget. The furnishings are high quality and look like original equipment for the hotel, but the sheets and pillowcases were coarse.
The waffle-textured towels were not soft and were rough on the skin. If you want luxury, better bring your own.
The "luxury robe" special amenity for our "deluxe" room was made of the same material.Just one robe for two guests, so I guess we were supposed to take turns. We passed.
The shower still had those penny-pinching flow-controls that reduce the water to little more than a trickle. Just makes you use it longer to get wet and longer to wash the soap off. Probably not much savings in that, which I suppose is why most hotels I've stayed in recently don't use them any more.
The tissues and bath tissue were cheap single-ply. False economy there, too.
They added a new lighted magnifying bathroom makeup mirror by the sink, but it is cheap quality and not fastened tightly to the wall.
One of the lamp shades had a bent strut that made the shade lop-sided. One minute's work with a pair of pliers would fix it, but they aren't paying attention to details.
The exterior of the window in the main room was dirty, had cobwebs and leaves stuck on it and looked as though it hadn't been cleaned for several months.
Sleeping in for travelers who had to be up late was not a consideration. Two yard workers with high-decibel gas powered leaf blowers started work in the parking lot at 8:15 on Monday morning with very few leaves to remove, but they took their time and covered every inch of that big lot. Can't think of a single reason this couldn't be done later in the day or, much better, by workers with hand rakes.
Same loud leaf blowers were back again at 9:00 Tuesday morning, and even though there were even fewer leaves they made sure to cover every square inch of that lot.
You can see that the original design and decor were meant to be high-class, but when it's not maintained and operated in a high class way, the faded glory is painfully obvious.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DCCinema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

DCCinema,
Thank you for your honest review. We are getting ready to do a major renovation on all of our guest rooms to offer nicer, newer amenities. We hope to get started on this project very soon and we do hope that you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Melissa Georges
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Room was o.k but coffee pot was broken and made a huge mess first morning. I picked the Founders Inn because of the website statement that the chef handle dietary restrictions. For breakfast I had a hard time finding someone that could tell me was in the food on the Buffett. I finally figured that out and had to eat the few things that fit my diet. Could not get anything special made that was gluten and dairy free. Saturday Night, I tried to have a nice dinner and bottle of wine in the Swan Terrace with my girlfriend but we were evicted by a very rude person. Seems the restaurant was closed to most guests due a wedding reception in the dining room. Had I known this, I would not have come back to the hotel for dinner. All on all, we had a very poor experience at the Founder's Inn and i won't be back.

Room tip: Find a better quality Hotel.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Safari09269007141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Safari09269007141,
Our culinary staff should always be available to accommodate dietary restrictions or to answer any clients questions. I directed your review to our Restaurant Manager and Executive Chef for further investigation.

Sincerely,
Melissa Georges
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews