We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$80
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$73
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
58
102
152
89
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
102
152
89
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain viewsausage gravydecent pricebooked this hotelroom was clean and comfortablenice breakfastholiday innstaff was friendlyoff the highwayvt
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

We ended up coming here last minute after deciding to not stay at the Days Inn in Salem. The man who checked us in was very polite, understanding of our situation, and gave us a good room. The view was beautiful. Great location to stay if you’re attending an event at the Salem civic center and just need a decent and clean room. Would return.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naveed s, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel & Conference Center by Wyndham Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to recognize our staff for their exemplary work in providing clean and comfortable experience for our valued guests. Our staff is highly trained to give you an exceptional experience, and we are very pleased to learn that we achieved this goal during your recent stay. We only wish to give nothing but the best service to our guests, and to know that we have accomplished such goal gives us great joy. Thank you for your recommendation, and we certainly hope that we can be of service to you and your family again on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

I stayed here on a cross county trip. I just needed a safe clean place to sleep but this hotel exceeded expectations. Staff was friendly and the room was clean. The bed was comfortable and there was a breakfast with a good selection of items included with the room. There is free wifi (3 Mbps) and the view of the mountains upon wake up was beautiful. The only negative is the tv is pretty old so it looks fuzzy compared to a flat screen display.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank ectothegecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naveed s, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel & Conference Center by Wyndham Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Reviews, both positive as well as when constructively negative, motivate and help us to improve our services. Feedback such as yours will be used to do just that. We apologize for the inconvenience caused we just installed flat screen TV this month we hope you will give us another chance to prove our worth. Look forward to your quick return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
naveed s, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel & Conference Center by Wyndham Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Our review is based on our very short stay, meaning that we experienced only the front desk and the room itself. It does not reflect anything else.

The service was good, even in the early morning hours. The room was nice and clean, and the beds were pretty comfy. The value was really good, especially on such short notice. Oh, and since it sits on top of a hill, the view is nice. Overall, it was a positive experience and, if we were passing through the area again, we would look to return here.

Room Tip: Great View
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fergusontribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

The bed was super comfortable. The room was clean and really nice. The staff was friendly. The view was amazing. We stayed on July 4th. We could see the fireworks from Salem and Virginia when we stepped out of our room.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsMorris12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naveed s, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel & Conference Center by Wyndham Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and to acknowledge the efforts of our hardworking staff to be as accommodating, helpful and welcoming as possible. It is rewarding to hear that we have succeeded in making you feel at home and that you experienced no difficulties with our services or amenities.On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews