We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sublime views, comfortable well equipped...”
other travellers have booked this property
Alfresco dining over the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alfresco dining over the sea
Dining over the ocean
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Alfresco dining over the sea
Dining over the ocean
Huge deck for lounging and dining
Sea views from kitchen
Lounge view
Comfortable furnishings
Open plan living
Views right down the bay!
Western's Rest with council reserve beside it.
Plenty of room to relax
Awaken to superb sea views
Second bedroom
New well appointed kitchen
New bathroom
Bunk room
Alfresco dining over the sea!
Penneshaw Bay
Penneshaw beach
Penneshaw Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
booktechi...
Launceston, Australia
1 review
“Sublime views, comfortable well equipped, convenient and warm. An Idyllic setting.”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My 4 sisters and I found the house so welcoming and well set up. It has an extraordinary 180% view of the foreshore and the Ferries with close walking distance from the local shops. It was perfect for our purposes offering a home base with easy drives to Kingscote and American river for day trips. We barely touched the surface as far as things to do on the island and 5 days seem so short and went by so quickly that we'd all love to come again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The view and beautiful decor.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad that you found the house welcoming, well located and that you enjoyed the spectacular views. We look forward to having you stay again sometime in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis E
1 review
“Amazing view, warm comfortable house”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife and I had a great weekend at Jan's place and did not want to leave. The heater was fantastic on the chilly nights, fantastic view over Backstairs Passage and a comfortable and clean house to stay in. We'll be back for sure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely review Francis. We're very glad you found the house clean, comfortable and you enjoyed the views. We look forward to having you return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rabbitoh5...
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My 3 friends and I spent 2 nights here last week and we absolutely loved it! The view from the deck was just gorgeous! I could sit there for hours watching the water, the sealink coming and going and also the dolphins that came in of a morning to play. We had breakfast on the deck and only that we had to leave to catch the ferry I would still be there. The house is set up well to take in the view and was extremely clean and tidy with a lovely kitchen. There is a washing machine and clothes line which came in handy. I wish I could spend a week there it would be amazing. Would highly recommend Westerns Rest!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!!!
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you for your fabulous review . We are so pleased that you found Western's Rest so comfortable, clean and well set up. Yes, we find it difficult to tear ourselves away from the beautiful views and relaxing ambiance too! We hope you can return some day; next time perhaps a week. 2 nights is never enough to take in the sites and appreciate the wonderful location of Western's Rest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaKrohn
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The most perfect and relaxing stay!”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We originally booked the Western's View, but there was a double-booking, so that we were offered to stay at the Western's Rest. We did stay for 4 nights and enjoyed it to the fullest!

Our kids are 4 and 6 years old and had a lot of fun playing on the green in front of the deck and on the bunk beds.

The house is equipped with everything one might need, is modernly and nicely furnished and has huge windows, going all down to the ground, for you to enjoy the gorgeous view.
We had Wallabies at the deck at night, viewed parrots flying around and viewed the ferry coming in and going out every day. The walk to the beach is about 3 Minutes downhill and the water is just perfect.
We could have stayed so much longer!

Also, especially important if travelling with small kids, the house is equipped with a very good front-loader washing machine and a dryer! You can also either hang your clothes outside or inside to dry.

We loved our time at the Western's Rest and will definitely return if we travel to this part of the world again! Strongly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: There was nothing not to like!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you Nina for your wonderful review. We are so happy that your stay was both relaxing and perfect! Yes, the adjoining reserve and front lawn make an ideal spot for kids (and adults) to play. We do try to ensure guests have everything they need so we are glad you found it well equipped. It's lovely having wildlife and amazing views at our
doorstep and it's pleasing that could appreciate them. It was great that the weather was perfect for you. Western's Rest is equally perfect in winter, snuggling up in front of the slow combustion heater and taking in the expansive ocean views. We hope to hear from you and your friends in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan T
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place - Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 20 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Beaitiful place, both stylish and fully equipped. Great views over the beach from the wooden deck. Definitely my recommendation for a stay on Kangaroo Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: stylish interior
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2015
Thank you for your review Stefan. We are so pleased you found the house stylish and that it was well equipped for your needs. Yes, the views are wonderful from the deck and inside the house. Thank you also for your recommendation to to others.
Jan and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing