We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Melia Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Iberostar Mojito(Cayo Coco)
US$154
US$129
iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$146
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$224
US$218
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Daiquiri(Cayo Guillermo)
US$154
US$132
iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TRYP Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sitio la Guira(Cayo Coco)
galahotels.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (4 632)
Filter reviews
4 632 results
Traveller rating
2 058
1 534
602
266
172
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 058
1 534
602
266
172
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon diegolobby barpizzamain beachfishbuffet restaurantgreat holidayanimation teamthe thomas cook repchickensister hotelpoor countrybeach restaurantstir fryholiday makersthe real cubaswimming with dolphins
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 4 632 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
SHEFFIELD, ENGLAND
434
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from 2 weeks at the sol. The service is terrible, we sat at breakfast and dinner without being offered a drink, the locals come over for day/weekend breaks and take over the hotel, the staff ignore us english and serve the locals knowing full well we have been queuing, we have waited over 30 minutes to be served.
A waiter in the (canteen) shouted so loud at me just because i asked for a knife and fork.
The hotel ran out of clean towels and bedding for 5 days, also lemonade onions , bacon and wine!!
The rooms are very poor standard, the patio door and the sliding wardrobe door are almost impossible to open.
The pool bar is a joke to get served.
Never again!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaiviQ, Director Comercial at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest:

First of all we would like to offer our apologies for the inconveniences you had during your stay here.

Regarding your point of views related to your dissatisfaction with the services provided by the hotel, let me inform you that our great treasure is the professionalism of our staff and the good service they provide, most of the time manifested by the majority of the customers who visit our hotel.

It is true that during your stay we had problems with the items that you mentioned but were solved. Also I would like to comment that although the laundry service is not 100% stable, it has worked properly and we haven't been for so long without being able to replace the linen, apparently there was a specific problem in your case which we will analyze with the personnel of this area.

Once again please accept our apologies for this inconvenience and we look forward welcoming you in the near future and we hope continue counting on your loyalty as a customer of our company.

Cordially.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly on arrival our room door (1412) could not be shut and on futher inspection we could see the rotting doorframe was being held together by a few rusty nails. Some of the nails had come loose hence why the door would not stay closed. The hotel maintenance man came and fixed it but the flimsy lock did not leave us with a great feeling of security.
The major and most unacceptable issues were the buffet food hall. To say the room is tired is an understatement, the windows are dirty, the fixtures and fittings are grimy, the walls are dirty. Parts of the place had ceiling leaks and it seemed no matter where you sat there was evidence of just how unclean this place is. There were dead bugs and flies on the walls and floors and flies constantly buzzing around the food hall.

The food selection for vegetarians/pescatarians is beyond poor, the only thing that had a vegetarian/ gluten free label was the soup. Not a day went by that I saw any fresh steamed vegetables that weren't either a potato or creamed spinach in a white sauce.
How fresh meat and fish were kept was so unhygenic, under lights, in open air, flies all around and the staff just don't seem to notice or even care. I also witnessed a chef who was hand rolling pizza bases high five two children only to rub his hands on his apron and continue rolling the bases. They didn't even have seperate pizza trays for non meat eaters, the chef would simply scrape off the meat that fell off the pizza and then lay the next one on top. Is this really best practice????

Their wasn't even enough serving spoons or tongs to keep food uncontaminated by others.
Twice my food, specifically my rice had an insect in it and those were on the few occasions I chose to eat there. The few occasions when I did find something suitable to eat 9 times out of 10 the food was completely over salted.

The hotel is in a word TIRED. STAY IN THE SOL GUILMERRO INSTEAD!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank Sophie-Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaiviQ, Director Comercial at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sophie-Louise,
We are sorry to read your comments concerning your stay with us; normally everyone always enjoys our resort very much.
Please be sure that we work as hard as possible and we aim at delivering always the best possible experience to all of our dear guests.
Regarding your points of view related to your dissatisfaction with the services provided by the hotel, let me inform you that one of our greatest treasures is the professionalism of our staff and the good service they provide, most of the time manifested by the majority of the customers who visit our hotel, I would really comment you that it is very painful for us to know that you could not appreciate these aspects. However, we have taken note of all the things you pointed out with respect to the quality of the food, the bad practices of the chef and the current condition of the hotel's buildings in general and we would like you to know that we are still working on improving those aspects and we are also taking measures so that those incidents do not take place again. The hotel is very old, therefore, its need of constantly maintenance, but as you may have noticed, every time we receive a complaint regarding this, our maintenance staff is always willing to fix any problem in the least time possible, offering the best solution they can.
I may understand some of your expectations were not fulfilled and let me tell you that it is really sad for us to know you did not feel satisfied and we never discussed it with us during your stay in our hotel because I am sure we could have found some way to soothe your discomfort and make of your stay a more enjoyable experience. Anyways, it's good as well to know that at least you could enjoy and appreciate one of the hotels of our Meliá company.
Once again please accept our apologies for this inconvenience and we look forward to welcome you in the near future. Do not forget to contact us prior to your arrival.

Cordially....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

TrVelled here last week, beautiful beach but that’s about all. The food is slop, 3 days on the bounce there was beef stew and meatballs for lunch. The food quality is very poor, the variety nil!!! Constantly run out of bacon. Best thing for breakfast is a freshly made omelette.
We tried the al la carte , and paid extra for lobster, was so overcoooked it would not come out of the shell, the maitre d apologised and the bill was cleared! The snack bar by the pool is a joke, my husband qued for 40 mins to be served, only to have a weekend local push in and order 10hamburgers!!! They push in at the bars too, us English have no chance! There are dogs pooing on the beach, disgusting! Sat in the restaurant one evening, the cleaner asked us to lift our feet so she could sweep!!!!!! Maybe she was sweeping away the flies that are all over the food!
We tried to like it for 4 days, but thought, NOOO we paid nearly 4 grand for the three of us, and were not prepared to stay here a day longer.
We took it up with THOS COOK rep, and she was brilliant, understood everything we said, and even agreed! She upgraded us to the Pestaña, for free, and I can only say this hotel is everything it should be.

Shame, as the staff are friendly, when the locals are not there, and when we booked the holiday, the reviews were great, but somethinh has happened, it must have.........

Room Tip: Forget the rooms
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaiviQ, Director Comercial at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear client,

We really apologize for all the details you point out concerning your stay in our hotel. We would like you could come again so as to do our best for you to feel good. We understand you should be unhappy and we would like to have a second chance. We have taken note about all you have stressed out and our management is working to improve those problems.

As a courtesy, the hotel assumed paying for the three lobsters you mentioned before you decided to leave to another hotel.

Anyway we are at your disposal if you decide to come back at any time.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

came back today from sol cayo coco , had a lovely holiday, rooms are a bit basic and need a lick of paint but didn't really bother us , entertainment work really hard and most nights was good , beaches fabulous.
staff so lovely really go out of there way
only down side was the food chips for breakfast No No ! still found something to eat everyday and didn't go hungry , overall a nice place

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank donnachalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaiviQ, Director Comercial at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Donna,

Thank you very much for publishing on the trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Sol Cayo Coco.

We are very glad to know that you spent nice holidays among us in our hotel.

We appreciate all the complimentary comments about our hotel and the services we offer and we hope that you can visit us again next year for another great vacation. Please do not hesitate in contact us if you need any assistance.

Truly yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the pleasure of visiting Sol Cayo Coco April 8-15/18. This was the best holiday we ever had! We met absolutely wonderful people in which we now call friends! I cannot say enough about the hotel staff's kindness, great sense of humour, smiles, hugs and excellent service. I am sorry I cannot remember all of the names of the awesome staff that we met but some in particular that we spent a lot of time with were Yulka, Blanca, Alfredo, Eric, Ronaldy, Juan, Andi, Franley, and the ladies at the reception desk, and the staff at the buffet plus others that we smiled and laughed with througout. We felt very safe and secure. The scenery is breathtaking! The beaches are awesome white sand, clean! The water was beautiful and warm. Lots of activities if you are so inclined such as nautical centre, gym, entertainment at the pool, walking checking out the scenery, evening shows. I believe you can hire at the resort to go fishing/boating. Our excitement was walking, swimming, sunning, relaxing and finding beautiful seashells! Taxi's can be hired at the resort or horse and wagon ride to the market, Moron etc. The buffet was delish with a wide variety of food, plus there were cook stations made to order. You would never go hungry! The a la carte's were a nice change for a couple of meals. Our room was spacious, super clean, and comfortable. We had a wonderful view of the ocean and nice balcony with chairs and side table. Sunset and sunrise was beautiful while sitting out on that balcony. The lobby area was wonderful to socialize and have some nice coffees and to try different drinks from the bar. There was entertainment every night in the lobby and then entertainment in the Disco later in the evening. We are planning to return to Sol Cayo Coco in April 2019. We actually have an unofficial countdown on!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank rkjrushton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaiviQ, Director Comercial at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear client,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay at Sol Cayo Coco and for having chosen our hotel to spend your vacations.
In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to express you how pleased we are to read that you had enjoyed your stay among us as your review shows us and we are very pleased for your positive lines referring our facilities, gastronomy, hotel's beaches, entertainment, scenery and the friendliness, warmth and affection of our staff from each and every one of our departments. This motivates us to keep on working to make feel our valuable costumers a dream come true as we aim in Sol Cayo Coco. It's nice to know that you took your time to enjoy from the different offers and attractions provided by the travel agencies and the hotel itself and we hope to surprise you with more in your next visit.

We kindly invite you to give us a new visit; please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival. The countdown on, starting from now!!!

With warmest regards, your family at Sol Cayo Coco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews