We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Pink House is Awesome”

Review of The Pink House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
deck01
pink02
pink03
whitebay01
sunset
pink14
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TSpill
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Pink House is Awesome”
Reviewed 19 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
5
people found this review helpful

We just returned from Spring Break 2012 trip in JVD at the Pink House Oleander. Everything was fantastic. Beautiful new house with every necessary accomodation. The house was fresh and clean for our arrival and we had great service for any needs while we were there. You definitely want to bring some basic food items or order from Bobby's. Franky the caretaker is a great resource and can answer any questions you have on the island. JVD itself is a hidden paradise. Don't excpect luxury hotels and groceries stores as the island is remote and wonderfully under-developed. JVD Scuba is awesome for fishing/diving. Soggy Dollar is great for food/drinks. The rest of the time you can sit in the sun, snorkel or do nothing! Good for family or couples.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pink house was the perfect place to stay on JVD!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the Oleander for 7 days and can't wait to go back! Perfect location, beach was almost private, a short walk away from Soggy Dollar and One Love and literally 2 minutes fro Ivan's. The house was spotless, sheets crisp and clean, and had wifi! Frankie and Bunn will take care of all your taxi, water taxi needs and answer all your questions. They were great! T.V. Doesn't work, not even for DVD 's, and take paper plates if you don't want to wash dishes. Hard to find down there. Bobby's Market was great even ordered again midweek so wecould enjoy a couple of dinners watching the sunset on our deck. You definately need 1/2 gal of water per person per day. Frankie will deliver to the house for a fee. $5 each way for a cab and you will need a cab! Don't forget the bug spray, the No See Em's in the sand will get you! Bring your own ipod speakers for outside and the beach. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness.
Liked least: Could use some more pans, serving bowls, Rubbermaid bowls with lids,
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mccabepet...
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Took a long Time for me to Write This”
Reviewed 18 November 2011 for a stay in January 2009
1
person found this review helpful

It took a while for me to share my thoughts on this. The reason being that it is a superb location, and I thought maybe, just maybe, I might like to return. I have decided I will not. I rented The Pink House in Jan 2009. The problem was that the people taking care of the property were not doing their job. This could be one of the best rental homes in the Caribbean. It is a shame.
Upon arrival, the place was filthy. Sand, grime, and hair everywhere, not to mention the used condom in the fruit basket on the kitchen counter. One of the toilets in an upstairs bedroom had a shampoo bottle lodged in it, and would continue to back up occasionally during our stay. The downstairs air conditioned bedroom had a water penetration problem from the outside. It seems the villa may have been constructed on top of a natural rainwater flow from the surrounding hilside [how about a french drain?]. We had to put quilts on the floor every day to absorb the water, and mop the floor. The quilts were hanging outside on the clothesline when we arrived--we quickly figured out what they were for.
An accomodation can be rustic, no problem. The filth and grime, not to mention the condom, was repulsive.
In the owners defense, a cleaning crew was sent there that afternoon. However, this was a major disruption of what should have been a vacation day. I did not feel the owners offer to "go down to the soggy dollar and run a tab on me" was adequate. I intended to make my own drinks and enjoy a spectaculer setting, not clamor for a drink at an EXTREMELY busy bar, so someone could buy it for me.
Great location, wasted space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb Location
Liked least: Not Clean, Water coming into downsatirs bedroom
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
83Hokie
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Knee Deep In The Water Somewhere”
Reviewed 17 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

This is it gang...leave it all behind and find you piece of paradise...Get up in a.m. hike, snorkel, kayak, run...then sleep on the sugar sand beach all day, the blender and cold drinks are steps away..relax in the hammock..have evening cocktails, then stroll down the beach to dinner at Soggy Dollar have a good time at Ivans then do it all over again...The locals are so friendly and helpful..and the owners have made certain that everything you need is there for a stress free getaway!! Can't wait to go back, next time the group will be larger and rent both villas...Large groups should consider renting a Super Cat as well..You can anchor right off the beach and day sail the rest of BVI

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No stress, no noise
Liked least: Only lasted 7 days
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JostVanDy...
Newburgh, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going back March 2012”
Reviewed 17 July 2011 for a stay in March 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Pink House Oleander March 2011 for 8 nights. The villa is totally incredible. Our friends came with us on their first trip to JVD. The villa had all the amenities from a full kitchen to a washer/dryer. The W/D was awesome because we hardly had to pack anything for the trip. Definitely have provisions sent over from Bobby's Market on Tortola. It was sweet every morning eating breakfast on the deck looking over the Caribbean waters. Also, we would make sandwiches for lunch to take over to Soggy Dollar for the afternoon.
The booking procedure was a breeze with Robert. Frankie was a lot of help on the island while we there. He helped us out with getting some of our provisions which did not arrive from Tortola.
We have been going to Jost Van Dyke for about the past 4 years. We discovered it on a Windstar cruise and fell in love with the island. March is a great time to go. We have been to JVD in October for Foxy's Halloween Party a few times as well. The island is awesome as well as the people who live there.
We have already planned our return to the Pink House in March 2012. We cannot wait to get back to our piece of paradise on Jost Van Dyke.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing