We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Moder meets Tradition”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle Emlyn, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sara C
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Moder meets Tradition”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here and it was the perfect place to get away from it all in a beautiful setting. The cottage looks traditional from the outside but the modern features inside really bring it up to date and the wooden hot tub outside was a great touch! Facilities were perfect with the kitchen well equipped and the bedroom was clean and comfortable Would definitely stay here again & reccomend to others.
Carmarthenshire was a perfect destination to explore with easy access to both the Cardiganshire and Pembrokeshire coastline.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review your welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
speedy1
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning location - some TLC is needed”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent renovation of interesting old part of cottage, which has been allowed to tell its story. Am sure modern add-on was good too when works were first done. Unfortunately,the once pristine, minimal section has not stood the short test of time well, with the kitchen area definitely in need of a re-fit to replace the shabby oven, fridge, microwave etc. which are unpleasant to use. The double glazed unit in the celestory window has blown, allowing condensation to run down constantly (proving a magnet for flies when the main sliding glass door is open). Bathroom definitely needs something/somewhere to hang or just put down any item of clothing you take off before getting in the less-than salubrious shower cubicle.

Would have to question also whether the property is suitable for any more guests than a couple. One of the double beds sits jarringly (unmade up, the mattress just covered with a blanket) almost directly opposite the front door in the main living area, with absolutely no privacy. Another bedroom appears to be oddly located up a pull-down loft ladder above the kitchen. There are also two covered-up single beds at one end of the main attic bedroom, again with no privacy from the double bed in which we slept. Very strange

Location and outside space is glorious, with absolute peace and quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside space
Liked least: Kitchen fittings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review I have taken all of your points on board and will look into some of the issues raised - I am pleased that you enjoyed the location, peace and quiet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fotomangr...
2 reviews
“A blissful retreat in the heart of glorious countryside.”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Before booking this holiday we had looked at photographs of the cottage and its setting. After arriving at Bryncyn it was very soon evident that the pictures we had seen did not adequately convey just how special is this gem of a place. Within minutes we had seen a red kite in flight and heard a cuckoo calling ... what a greeting!

During our stay we were treated to many sightings of wildlife that will stay in our memories for always and our meetings with some of our not-so-close neighbours were most enjoyable.

The purpose of this break was to "get away from it all" for a while and we certainly managed that in the best possible way. The cottage itself exceeded our high expectations and we had the added bonus of a visit from Dorian whom we first met when Marcie, Milo (our staffie) and I were staying at Bryn Eglur.

When not enjoying the delights of the cottage we spent a great deal of time strolling through the beautiful lanes around Tanglwst.

For anyone wishing to escape the hustle and bustle of what is everyday life for many of us, I have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful triumph of Dorian's ingenuity.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2015
David thank you so much for your kind words you describe it so elegantly what I love about this place and your both welcome back anytime best regards Dorian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialPol...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great Bank Holiday retreat”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Absolutely loved our weekend away here in the middle of Wales. Fantastic setting, albeit completely isolated - which wasn't a bad thing.

Enjoyed the hot tub, although we only had it working on night 1 of 3. Bedroom was clean, tidy, minimal, and very comfortable. Kitchen was a great place to relax with friends, and the views were awesome too.

Great value for money

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
Manny thanks for the kind review - come back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neen83
2 reviews
“Uber cool”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in June 2014

This property is so unique, as you approach it from the track you see a beautiful traditional cottage, in the middle of the Welsh countryside, then you walk through the door and suddenly your met with the ultra modern interior and you feel you could be stepping in to one of the glossy interiors mags, it's country homes and interiors meets living etc! We were lucky to have glorious sunshine when we stayed which meant we spent a lot of time in the stunning kitchen / garden hot tub area. We took midnight dips on incredibly clear nights and with no light pollution the star gazing is out of this world. This proprty would be ideal for couples or small groups. There is quite a deep pond in the garden area so possibly not suitable for families with very small children. The property is close to Carmarthen town centre where there is a huge Tesco extra. Newcastle Emlyn is also nearby where there are a few shops, pub and a takeaway so although you really do feel in the middle of nowhere at the house you are close to everything you need. I can't wait to go back to this place for another anniversary or maybe a birthday with a group of my friends, it would be a fantastic house to host a small party.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words pleas feel free to come aback anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing