We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & poor service”
Review of Hall & Woodhouse

Hall & Woodhouse
Ranked #14 of 44 Restaurants in Portishead
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Two friends & I visited early lunchtime today for a drink. Some filming was going on & there was often nobody behind the bar. Apparently the keg beer pipes were being cleaned & we were told draught lager would be 15 minutes - after 20 minutes it was still not ready so my friend had bottled lager instead. For one pint of their own draught beer, a bottle of cider & a bottle of lager I was charged £14.00. The whole experience was atrocious - I shall not be returning.




One pint of their own draught beer, a bottle of cider & a bottle of lager came to £14!!

Thank yosser1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at Hall & Woodhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visit H&W once or twice a month, occasionally doing the Wednesday quiz while other times meeting a friend for a beer and food. It is a nice, modern place to chill and chat and the staff are all friendly and helpful. It is overpriced though and the menu always seems a little limited, although I go there for the H&W burger which is always top-notch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkC_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at Hall & Woodhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here with my mate on a sunny day to watch the England vs Panama match where we won 6-1 hooray. A really nice stylish upmarket place yet it still feels very casual and homely with great views of the marina. Good beers, lagers etc. The staff were nice and genuinely friendly too.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mike-From-8000-Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at Hall & Woodhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very expensive food and drinks here...., burgers overpriced, fries a bit mean portioned and very small as well as too salty, besides all that not bad to OKish, it's OK if you come here only very occasionally for special occasions perhaps unless your comparatively well off to rich financially. Maybe the residents are in these parts!? Decor, chairs, tables, carpets look very dirty and scruffy especially considering your spending a small fortune on food and drink in this place! We've been to far better looking surroundings, far cheaper food and drink establishments than this which has tasted better or at the very least the same but not wicked on your wallet!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at Hall & Woodhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a table having been impressed at the menu outside a few days before. When we turned up the place looked very quiet I guess just early evening and it was raining. When we sat down we were presented with a small choice menu than display outside and also told three items on this menu were not available We our choice only to be told they had no burger buns we could have burgers but with no buns. We changed our choice. When our food arrived it came with very little no peas with the fish and chips no salad as described on the menu apparently they had run out ...... moral of this visit DONT go there after 7 as they won’t have anything on the menu Disappointing Father’s Day meal

Thank atkinsonna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at Hall & Woodhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and date of visit and email us at:
guestfeedback@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hall & Woodhouse also viewed

Portishead, Somerset
Portishead, Somerset
 
Weston-in-Gordano, Portishead
Portishead, Somerset
 
Portishead, Somerset
 

Been to Hall & Woodhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing