We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Fishermans cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fishermans cottage
The stunning view from the bedroom Bathroom with shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
70 reviews
Fishermans cottage
The stunning view from the bedroom
Bathroom with shower
Front of cottage
Boating lake.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portishead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Devon_dwe...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Fisherman's Cottage. The cottage is lovely; the photos really did not do it justice. The cottage is part of a smart modern development right on the water near fantastic facilities. The interior of the cottage is modern, attractive and very comfortable (and very clean) with everything you need, including a washing machine. Dean, the owner and Dae (who is local and looks after the place) were very helpful and friendly and did not mind answering any queries we had. The only slight reservation was parking. The cottage has its own space, but if you have more than one car then you have to be careful where you park. There are places, but you need to take care not to accidentally park in anyone else's space or the locals can get a bit touchy about it. Plus, there is internet access, but only a free service which is not always available, so if you need constant wifi access then a dongle might be worth considering.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Liked least: The parking
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic W
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what we expected and more”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

The cottage was well equipped, excellent value for money, clean and in a good position to take advantage of the surrounding amenities. It was only a short walk alongside the Marina to the high street to find bars, restaurants, shops etc. There is a really nice pub, The Royal, a short walk away up the Pier steps serving excellent ales and bar meals. There is reserved parking for one car and ample parking close by. We were there on a rainy January weekend, but I can imagine that this location would be superb in the summer as it's right on the sea front with superb views across the Bristol Channel with the Severn Bridge clearly visible. I would certainly recommend this cottage to anyone.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdanFolle
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice cottage”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Overall we are happy with our stay.
We will get our deposit back through bank transfer.
There are some points can do better:
*Cleanliness: dusty here and there, hair, and chewing gum.
*Check in time: usual hours are around 2 pm, but for this accommodation is after dinner.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: sea view
Liked least: cleanliness and check in time
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouRob11
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect to be near relatives and the sea”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the cottage which was perfect for us. The view of the marina and heads was lovely to see everyday and we had wonderful weather so made it even better. As from Australia, there were a few problems with deposits and refunds but all worked out in the end. Would recommend the property especially if you want a base for bristol and Wales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the location
Liked least: no free wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire W
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in great location”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed with our 2 small children for a lovely weekend for our 10th Wedding Anniversary. The cottage is great - clean, nicely decorated, well equipped and perfectly suited to our stay, with enough room for our requirements of 4 people. The price at the time we went was very reasonable. We have family in Bristol and it is very convenient to visit there, only 20 mins away. The marina area is very nicely developed and the owner was really helpful in telling us about the cottage, and restaurants and amenities in the area. It was easy to find and the parking was close. A very good find, and hopefully one we will stay again when we visit our family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing