We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice bungalow with lovely views”
other travellers have booked this property
Philoctetes bungalow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Philoctetes bungalow
Privately owned bungalows set on a well kept and quiet site. Views of the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Philoctetes bungalow
Privately owned bungalows set on a well kept and quiet site.
Views of the sea
Seating area on the lawn in front of the bungalow
Cosy and comfortable living area
Open plan dining / kitchen area.
Double bedroom with sea and countryside views.
Twin bedroom
Bathroom with electric shower.
Children's play area
Indoor swimming pool, with sea views.
Fabulous views from the front of the site.
Summerleeaze Beach Bude
Lock gates looking out to sea at Bude.
Vast sandy beach at Widemouth Bay.
End your day with wonderful sunsets.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Widemouth Bay, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary M
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice bungalow with lovely views”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A very comfortable holiday bungalow with everything needed to enjoy a break. My only reservation would be that the holiday site on which the property is situated closes on 1 Oct which it would have been useful to be aware of. Bude is not far away with shops for everyday needs, but my particular requirement was for wi-fi which I had failed to appreciate would not be available on site. This requirement was fulfilled by the very useful library in town and was a minor inconvenience. This apart, it was a very enjoyable place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views were beautiful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are really glad you found the property and surrounding area to your liking. I am so sorry that you could not to access the WI-FI at the onsite club as it was closed during your stay - I thought by mistake the site club closed at the end of October and so mislead you. I normally pride myself in getting even the most finer details correct, but unfortunately I got this one wrong - I hope you accept my sincere apologies' for this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayEagles...
1 review
“Once again, a fabulous family holiday destination!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Philoctetes is a good sized bungalow situated on a super holiday park with great amenities such as; playground for the kids, swimming pool, tennis court, bar area, games room, outdoor space for the children and a wonderful view with a short walk to the beach.
Philoctetes has all the comforts of home!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
We are truely pleased that you had an enjoyable holiday. Thanks for taking time to review our holiday bungalow and for your kind comments. We also appreciate you chosing to booki again with us for 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janS9846O...
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

When we arrived the Bungalow was clean and tidy , has everything you need for a great self catering holiday. We had a lovely meal at the Bay View Inn and also visited Bude , lovely walks , beaches etc. We were also very lucky with weather was fab .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was like a home from home
Liked least: No evening entertainment , just a bar.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Many thanks for taking time to review our bungalow. We are glad hear you found everything ok and enjoyed all the good things that Bude and the surrounding area has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyEag...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have returned again for another year. Wonderful stay, as normal. This year we were welcomed to a new dishwasher, new carpet and a very comfortable sofa and of course the great view of the sea. Many thanks to the owners Simon and Julie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Two mornings of rain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are so glad you had a good time and liked the new things we have put in the bungalow. We look forward to your return in 2016.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez666215
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Room with a View (An amazing one!)”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Philoctetes, the bungalow was everything we hoped for and the fabulous view from the front room window will live long in our memories. The camp site offered an array of things to do and excellent food. The only complaint was the unsettled British weather!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic views from the Lounge window
Liked least: The walk either through fields or down an unpaved road to Widemouth Bay beach.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are really glad you found the property and location to your liking. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$61
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing