We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well appointed chalet in a nice quiet site”
other travellers have booked this property
Widemouth Bay , North Cornwall, sleeps 4 . Sea views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Widemouth Bay , North Cornwall, sleeps 4 . Sea views
Bathroom with shower over bath Well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Widemouth Bay , North Cornwall, sleeps 4 . Sea views
Bathroom with shower over bath
Well equipped kitchen
Lounge area
Lounge area
Main Bedroom with King size bed
Childrens play area
On site indoor pool
On site pool table
Sun patio
Sun patio with beautiful views
Beautiful view of Widemouth Bay
Surfing available locally
Golf available locally
Sunset over Widemouth Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Widemouth Bay, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andrewlip...
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well appointed chalet in a nice quiet site”
Reviewed 20 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Nice well maintained chalet, owner was on hand with the key shortly after we arrived and communication was good throughout the booking process.

The standard of cleanliness was excellent throughout, and the kitchen was fully equipped with utensils including a dishwasher and washing machine.
Furniture looked fresh, carpets not threadbare, a lovely place to base your holiday.

That's the good bit.
Bad bits included a basin plug that you pressed to seal, but wouldn't open when you pressed it again.
The switch for the hot water is hidden behind the microwave, and the card telling you about it is hidden in a cupboard, as a consequence we thought we'd turned on the hot water at a wall switch, but it turned out we hadn't and so had no hot water the first night...

The twin bedroom is a bit tight, so tight that you can't close the bedroom door. Ok with families, but could be a bit embarrassing with friends.

Car parking is nearly 5 minutes walk away, trolleys are provided, and the advantage is that you don't get noisy neighbours arriving in the middle of night with the radio blaring... Bad news is that if it's chucking it down with rain, you and your luggage is going to get soaked.

Sachets of condiments and UHT milk were provided... Sorry Jayne they are all out of date by up to two years, and the UHT milk has turned.

None of this really affected our holiday, if the weather is good you don't spend too much time in your chalet (but games and dvds were thoughfully provided), and the on site swimming pool is clean and warm.

Beds were clean but a bit softer than what we were used to, there were no issues with damp, the shower was powerful and easily adjusted.

I'd have no hesitation in recommending this place as a comfortable base to explore the North Cornish coastline.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2018
I am pleased that you found the chalet well maintained and clean as we have spent a lot of time working on it recently, even having the carpets and 3 piece suite professionally cleaned. We have also put a new bookcase in and a new microwave.
We have also just bought 2 brand new single beds for the twin bedroom which unfortunately were very slightly longer than the previous ones which is why the door wont shut properly. We are in the process of replacing the door with a folding door which should resolve the problem.
The issue with the plug was resolved immediately as there was a brand new spare plug in the chalet.
I will happily address the lack of signs for locating the hot water switch with new signs.
The sachets of condiments and milk have all been removed as I was not aware that they were out of date. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
I am pleased that these minor problems didn't affect you enjoyment of your break, so much so that you wouldn't hesitate to recommend us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B
1 review
“Superb in every respect”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Together with our 14-year-old son, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a two-night stay at ‘Lazy Yew’ in Widemouth Bay Holiday Village. By coincidence it was the weekend of a particularly severe storm which helped add to the atmosphere of the North Cornwall Coast that was an experience in itself. In such wet and windy conditions a visit to the Bude Heritage Centre provided an excellent opportunity to find out all about the local area and how it had evolved down through the years. Entry there was free.

Occasional gaps in the weather enabled a canal walk and exploration of the town before seeking vantage points to view the sea and its strong waves battering against rock faces and sending up a surge of shower of white spray in the process. Accompany that by munching on the inevitable locally made Cornish Pasty and it already has the makings of a lifelong memory.
The ‘Lazy Yew’ accommodation at the holiday village in nearby Widemouth Bay was immaculately clean, cosy, pleasant and very well-equipped. A warm-hearted landlady met us at the car park and checked us in. Being off-season meant that on-site facilities of bar and swimming pool were not in operation but that was of no consequence to us and if one particularly wanted it, a large pub-restaurant overlooking the bay was located just a short hop, skip and a jump further along the lane.
The location for taking in scenic beauty was ideal and also proved easy driving distance for visiting Port Isaac and Padstow as we did on our second day. We would have no hesitation in staying at the accommodation again and in recommending it to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in Cornwall and also found the accommodation clean and comfortable. How also lovely to hear that you didn't allow the weather to spoil your break and in fact turned it into a positive!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max W
1 review
“Great location, Nice site”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Beautiful location here, great place to stay for exploring Widemouth Bay and Bude, and good point in Cornwall to base further explorations around the county.
Not a bad little cottage, disappointingly however, there were a few cleanliness issues on arrival and a musty smell that unfortunately lingered (possibly due to moisture build up). However, soon made it a lovely and cosy space to relax, with scented candles etc.
Great spaces for a family including dining area and a rooms with double and single beds. Good appliances, Tv etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your stay despite whatever problems there were as nothing was said. I would just like to point out that the main bed is a King size not a double. I am also pleased that you appreciated the good appliances.as we have tried to make it as comfortable as possible for our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs a good clean and it has damp mould”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Booked in confidence after reading the fantastic reviews but arrived and ended up having to spend a few hours cleaning - not what you expect on the start of a holiday.

Fridge had loads of water on all the shelves, bath had tons of long hair in it from previous guests, dog hair just everywhere. I get that its a dog friendly place and we've stayed at others before but this was different.. it just seems that this wasn't vacuumed at all. We didn't end up taking our dog because of lack of space but it just seemed as if "why bother hoovering the dog hair if another will be here soon".

The main issue we had was with mould. Which we only really noticed the morning after arriving what with cleaning the place up, going shopping and looking after our daughter we didn't have a second.

The mould was in every room, you can see it on the walls pretty clearly. And the smell of the mould/damp in the bedroom is very overwhelming.

It totally ruined our start of the holiday as we spent our full first day there trying to resolve it. Luckily the site owners had a vacant property we could go into so ended up moving across there. The site is great and I don't want this review to reflect in any way on the site as this is a privately owned property on the site. We had no choice but to move as not staying somewhere with mould with our 6 month old daughter.

We ended up getting most of our money back minus £70 for that one night we stayed, which I thought was a little excessive. I just regret not saying anything that first day upon arriving and taking pictured of before we cleaned the place up.

Managed to get a load of pictures of the mould on the walls, ceiling and curtains - and later found out the owners knew about the mould and knew we were coming with our 6 month old but said nothing. Kind of shocking. Attempts had been made previously to clean the mould, placing some of those dehumidifier 'tubs' on window cills and bleaching the mould.

Unfortunately to get rid of mould it takes a few weeks, proper ventilation and heading to get rid of the problem rather than to try and attack the symptoms. After speaking with the owner it just seemed they were unwilling to loose out on a few weeks of bookings to keep it empty to sortie out properly.

It might not bother some people but we couldn't stay there, especially with our 6 month old. She could have got seriously ill.

Its just a shame because it turned out this way.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2017
These guests were a nightmare from the start - nothing was quite right for them. I think that they were trying to get us to refund them and have a free holiday. There was a tiny bit of mould around the window in one of the bedrooms which has now been properly cleaned and redecorated. They have over exaggerated and blown it all out of proportion. If you read other reviews there is no mention of any of this so how can everyone else not notice that anything was wrong. They also used their 6 month old daughter as an excuse for making everything seem so much worse. We have worked hard to make this holiday property a clean and comfortable place to stay and we have earned a "Certificate of Excellence" for doing so. So when someone like this comes along I hope that any future guests will read the many good reviews that we have as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraines...
1 review
“Week at Widemouth Bay”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Good base to explore the North part of Cornwall. Very dissappointed at track to get to the beach from site. Really only passable in dry weather and with sensible shoes on not beach footwear. Only took 2mins in car but then had to pay £5 to park. Chalet a gd size and swimming pool on site was clean although they did need to limit the size of inflatables in there as it wasn't a big pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2017
Very pleased that you were happy with Lazy Yew Chalet. I am sorry that the track to the beach was not to your liking and hope that the rest of the holiday was enjoyable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing