We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A personal touch to sailing.

I booked a combined Day Skipper theory and practical course in August. Alex was amazing at... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
MartynM118
The fun side of sailing

I had a great week, it's a nice sailing area and Johnny is a good instructor who really shows how... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
cjordans75
via mobile
Read all 141 reviews
  
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
138
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
138
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coastal skipper competent crew course fantastic week comp crew excellent instruction patient instructor great instructor rubicon marina organising things initial enquiries warm climate behind the scenes great communication great character lovely boat complete novice spent a week
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

What a brilliant week! Despite Emma providing somewhat unusual weather conditions, Jane our instructor made sure that our sailing experience was challenging, safe and at times really exhilarating! Veronica is a lovely boat, and it was comfortable, very clean and had everything we needed. Alex had stuffed it so full of food for us (we really appreciated the efforts she went to to make sure we had vegan provisions on board) and we ate - and drank - really well all week.

Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Sail the Canaries, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hi Tony, thank you so much for your review and for taking the time out to do this - we really appreciate it thank you. It was a real pleasure to meet you both and we are so pleased that you had a lovely week. The weather was certainly a little odd that week but I am so pleased that you had great time. I do hope that we get to see you both again one day. Take care and thank you again for joining us. With very best wishes, Alex, Clive, Jane & Team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Best time of my life. What's there not to love about sailing around the Canary Islands with a wonderful bunch of people, spotting dolphins and learning how to be a competent crew member with an instructor who looks a little bit like Clive Owen. In fact, if Clive Owen was playing the part of a yacht skipper in a Blockbuster movie, this would be it; cool, calm and collected at all times. Thanks to the big man Clive and his wonderful wife (who actually runs the show) Alex for a truly magical experience. Will be back with bells on!!

Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Sail the Canaries, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you so much Mel for your review, we really appreciate it. We had such a great time meeting you all and really do hope to see you again one day. Clive will be very pleased to be likened to Clive Owen - thank you! See you soon and thank you again for choosing to join us. With very best wishes, Alex, Clive & Team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

From the very initial enquiries, through to completion of the course, Alex and Clive were fantastic. Nothing is left to chance and they have a lovely relaxed, but extremely professional style, which means that everyone feels the week is tailored to them - whether you're doing Comp Crew, Day Skipper or more. Clive has the patience of a saint (how many times can one person wind a winch the wrong way before Clive runs out of polite ways to say ''maybe try the other way''?!) and that's backed up by supreme sailing knowledge, but he talks to you on your level - whatever that is. And mine was low! The lunches onboard were great, visiting other marinas a bonus, and I would absolutely recommend Sail the Canaries. Hope to be back soon, now I've learnt what clockwise is, and wish you all the very best.

Thank Glyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Sail the Canaries, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you so much Glyn for your wonderful review, we really appreciate it - thank you. It was so lovely to meet you and we really do hope to welcome you back one day (in the not too distant future!) We are so pleased that you had a good week and enjoyed everything....funny, Clive isn't that patient with me!! :o) Thank you again and very best wishes, Alex, Clive & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

What can you say? Clive held his cool while we did our best to deconstruct Veronica, his yacht. I think we all felt a little out of our depth on arrival but Clive soon had our measure. By the end of the week it appears I had been promoted from incompetent to competent crew. Anybody who can achieve that has to be someone special.
We all had a brilliant time, excellent instruction and learnt more in the week than I thought possible. Yacht, food, weather we're great and I hope to return in the foreseeable future.
If your think of taking a RYA course then look no further than Sail the Canaries. All my thanks go to Clive and Alex. Wonderful people doing a wonderful job. Oh and Clive if your ever in this part of Ireland, I'll take you to that diving club.

Thank Opalcutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Sail the Canaries, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you so much for your review and we are so pleased that you had a great time with us! I did start to wonder what you were all doing to Veronica!!! :o) She is all better now, poor girl! Thank you so much for joining us and for the funny stories, it was wonderful to meet you and we hope to see you again one day! With best wishes, Alex, Clive & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

The first email set the tone: kind, considerate and caring.
Clive’s sailing knowledge was rich with experience, which he communicated with care, humour and awareness of the individual’s needs.
The course far exceeded my expectations and extended my skills well beyond my experience.
I had a wonderful week.

Thank andrew1383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Owner at Sail the Canaries, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you so much for your review Andrew, we are so pleased that you had a great week with us and we do hope that we get to welcome you back again one day. Thank you again for joining us. Take care and best regards, Alex, Clive & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews