We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 240)
Filter reviews
1 240 results
Traveller rating
413
483
186
68
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
483
186
68
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillceiling fanair conthe hotel managersea viewhalf boardpalma novaevery nightbar staffthe main hotelbit datedaqua gymthe pool area was lovelystag and hen partiesmeal timesall inclusive packagefood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 1 240 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Just got back from here after a 3 night stay. On the whole it was a really enjoyable trip. The hotel itself is very clean and tidy, friendly staff and an great pool area with amazing views!! As for location, it was perfect, away from the strip enough that the noise of the bars etc aren’t a bother but close enough if you to go (5mins walk) plus there’s some amazing restaurants close by in magaluf and palma nova. We ate like kings.

(Before reading further please let me make it clear I would happily stay at the Universal again.)

The Only little niggle we had was with the noise from other guests in the block off the main hotel our rooms were in during night hours. We gathered that the building we were put in was where the majority of the youngsters are put, and travelling as a group of guys (6 of us, aged between 25 and 59) the hotel May have of assumed we were a stag group. Granted, we didn’t ask to be moved or complain as we were only there for 3 nights and we spoke to other guests who had been there many times before and they said that they’d never had issues before so just assume we were unlucky with our neighbours this time round.
All in all a great time, thanks Universal Florida for a lovely break, hope to see you in the future.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Manager at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Paul,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted to hear that everything was to your liking and that our staff pleased you.
Thank you for letting us be a part of your holidays here in Mallorca.

The Hotel staff tries to do their best to keep the noise levels down so everyone can enjoy their holidays, but there is particularly people that just doesn't have any manners or respect. However its important for us to know so that we can continuously improve.

Hope to see you in once again to share with us your experience.


Best Regards
José Solaz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Hotel ?
Well let's just say we were basically in a separate building which felt like the car park
Great view yes
Noisy yes
Not many beds around pool
NO air con (gutted)
Ants in room (but they did sort out)
Reception staff nice
Bar staff miserable

The place offers bed and breakfast plus all inclusive
It has a mixture of age groups but really noisy in night from shouting to fighting to drunks screaming then when it starts to quiet down the staff start scraping and moving tables and chairs
U won't get much sleep until midday , don't go here with your family , this is a singles hotel on top of a very very steep hill
Location is good
Supermarkets near but theres
a huge hill that won't suit many
I can recommend a small bar on the hill to stop for refreshments called sues place/ halfway house
Cheap and a great welcome
And at the bottom of the hill pirtofinos steak house

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jasperyido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Manager at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Jasperyido,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve.

As far as the hotel reforms concerned (air con), we are waiting the authorization of the town hall.

We really apreciate the Kind words about our reception staff. We regret the inconveniences caused by the noise and the bar staff.

Once again my sincerest apologies, hoping you will give us one more chance to welcome you.


Best Regards,
Hotel manager
Jose Solaz


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

For the last two years we’ve done a girls trip to Magaluf and this year we stayed at the Florida.

The hotel itself is clean however we hit on a time when there were lots of parties of Spanish school or college kids who were obviously there celebrating end of exams.

We know how to party but with kids running round corridors at 530 in the morning it’s safe to say we didn’t have a very rested stay.

The staff were lovely but clearly struggling to control some of the groups

The bar doesn’t serve all inclusive alcohol after 11, the food could do with more explanations of what you’re eating especially for those of us who have allergies or intolerances.

The pool has an amazing view over the sea and bay but if the college kids are there you’ll be lucky to get a bed!

We had two birthdays whilst we were there and got one bottle of cava were promised a second which never materialised.

As the hotel is built into the cliff theres some lovely little private sunbathing areas.

If you’re ok with the sea you can also walk in off the cobbled beach - take flip flops or something though because it’s very slippy and we cut our feet

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Manager at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear Lissa,

Thank you for your review and for your kind words regarding the staff and the food.
I´m really sorry to read that your stay wasn´t as pleasant as you expected. As magnager of the hotel perhaps you have seen me at the entrance of the dinning room,as I'm standing at the door at all meals, and it would have been a great pleasure to be able to explaining all about the food and allergies or intolerances.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay because of young people (spanish school).

My sincerest apologies, hoping you will give us one more chance to welcome you.

Best Regards,
Hotel manager
Jose Solaz


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

My mum and i booked this hotel for a chill out week in the sun and it ticked all the boxes! I was a bit apprehensive when I read the reviews about stags and hens and yes there where some during our stay but they were no problem to us! The hotel location and views are amazing and we asked to change rooms after our first night stay as we were below the dining room so was a bit noisy with chairs and tables etc and sweetie the hotel receptionsit got us another room the same day we asked for it and she couldn't have been more lovely! The food was lovely and we both had a great time and I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be back in the future!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Manager at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Catherine,

Thank you very much for your comments,and thank you for your support to the Universal hotel florida.

We are very happy you enjoyed the great views from our hotel, service and food.

Thanks for recommending our Hotel and please let us know about your next visit so we can try to satisfy all your wishes..


Kind regards,
José Solaz
Hotel Manager







Yours Faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Stayed for a week in May - not sure I'd want to be here peak season to be honest but it did the job for a cheap and cheerful holiday.
The hotel had stunning views but was quite dated and in need of some investment - it could be amazing. It was kept clean though and food was of an 'ok' standard with plenty of choice.
The drinks included in the all inclusive package were disgusting. Rose wine tasted like vinegar and the larger was really bitter. The spirits weren't too bad but not the brand names.
Be prepared to do some walking up hills if you are staying here which is not something I enjoyed especially after a night out.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view it's worth paying the extra
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Manager at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Sarah,

Thank you so much for taking part of your time to make your review about your stay at Universal Hotel Florida.

We are very happy you liked the great views and apreciated the cleanliness adn the food.

As far as the hotel reforms concerned, we are waiting the authorization of the town hall.

It would be a great pleasure to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
José Solaz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews