We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of LA RESERVA

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Stunning views
Mountain views
Villa view
Cool and shady area
Tradiional and charming surroundings
Spectacular views
Breathtaking scenery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alan W
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing and comfortable”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our third holiday rental in Spain. We stayed in a villa on the opposite side of the valley on our first visit then Orgiva on our second. Our visit to La Reserva was excellent. Javier and Rosario were very helpful and obviously take great care of the villa and its guests. Daily visits from the dark brown squirrel were much enjoyed as was that of a mountain goat and it's kid. Great views from the patio area to the sea past Nerja as well as to Frigliana. Being on the west side of the valley meant that we could enjoy a comfortable seat out on the patio most of the day and enjoy full sun if we wanted.
The villa was well planned, spacious and clean.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Many thanks for a great holiday Javier and Rosario.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy you have a nice holidays in La Reserva. We wish see you again here soon. You are welcome always. Thank you for choose our house for your holidays.
Best wishes
Rosario and Javier
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little peice of heaven”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was our first holiday to Spain, we like peace & quiet & a home from home, this is exactly what we got. The villa was exactly like the photos, it was spotless inside & out. The bed was comfy with good pillows, lots of wardrobe space. Bathroom was big with 2 sinks & great shower. Living area & kitchen well equipped with everything you could need. Had 4 English channels ion the TV (great bonus) and free wifi. The veranda was my favourite place to sit in the morning, fantastic views to the sea and across the valley, splashing about in the pool was great fun, we felt like kids again and a brilliant way to cool down.
Javier and Rosario sent us directions from the airport and met us just off the motorway, this was really helpful to take us to the villa, took all the stress of trying to find it for the first time and yes it is a steep road up to the villa but once you've done it once it's fine and boy oh boy the position and view is most definitely worth it. It is very private and has such a wonderful feel to the villa, it's like a little peace of heaven.
Javier & Rosario were there if you needed them, Rosario even brought up some curtains to put up on the terrace to give some shade in the afternoon, so thoughtful.
Nerva is a lovely town with lots of great places to eat and shops to have a look in, also if you like walking there is a fantastic walk not far from the villa near the two water towers called "Rio Chillar" it's a walk along a river valley, go early in the morning when it cooler and less busy.
If you are looking for that relaxing holiday, with peace and privacy, stunning views and beautiful home to stay in, this is definitely the place to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa, views, peace & quiet, pool
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
Dear friends: Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy you enjoy your holidays in La Reserva, and you are welcome always. We wish you have a nice 19 December with your family and your good friends. We thinking in you, and wish all the best for the future. Is a pleasure meet you again when you have possibility time for holidays. All our best wishes and our love. Take good care
Rosario, Javier and children
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marsandbo...
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“FANTASTICO CASITA IN A GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My wife and I have just enjoyed 8 weeks of bliss at this excellent villa set on the edge of the Parque Natural just outside Frigiliana. From start to finish the owners Javier and Rosario were a delight to deal with, from our original inspection visit last October, to our friendship that formed during our break. Do not be mistaken, they are not the "nosey landlords" they are only there when needed or requested to ensure you enjoy every aspect of your visit. As we enjoy a good walk in the hills the location was ideal as most of the marked trails could be accessed from our front door. The casita is well equipped with all you need including BBC Scotland on the TV. The wifi due to the location in the Campo is okay for emails etc. but do not expect to video call or stream media. Rosario changes the towels and linen every week and Javier fixed us up with a local delivery of logs for the fire at a great price. The pool and furniture were excellent (yes even in January) for sunbathing and the occasional plunge. The access road is a challenge but once you get used to it the benefits are the privacy, seclusion and stunning views over Nerja and out to the sea you are rewarded. Do not take our word for it all the reviews can not be wrong? P.S. We have booked to go back in October!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2015
Dear good friends:
Thank yhou, thank you for you lovely review. We a re very happy you enjoy this 8 weeks. ANd for us after your enjoyment we are very happy for have now 2 very good friends. Only few houres you leave, and we miss you, and happy see you in July and in your booking for next October. Take good care in your retourn home, and here you have another home. Love for you both and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm P
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Back again!”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We return to La Reserva every year, and if anything, it gets better each time. This year there have been improvements to the pool and kitchen, but otherwise it is the home from home we always expect. To sit on that hillside in the sun around the pool, reading a book and totally chilling out, is something else, only the sound of the birds or the odd passing rambler, it is total relaxation. Javier and Rosario are above average owners, nothing is too much trouble, we have been holidaying there for so many years, we consider them as friends. We would recommend La Reserva to anyone, except those wanting a lively holiday. It is only for those wanting peace and quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: No uk tv
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Dear friends:
Thank you, thank you for your lovely review. We apreciete your love for our La Reserva, in the same time for us you are very special guest freinds, after more than 15 years enjoy your holidays with us. We are very happy see you here every year, and now a little sad for don't see you until next October.
Love for you both and all your family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
Urbana, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best holiday ever.....”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was one of the most enjoyable holidays ever. The house is beautiful and perfectly fitted out. The bed very comfortable. The pool perfect to jump in and out off to cool off. The setting and views amazing.

Javier and Rosario the owners are amazing. They could not be more helpful or pleasant. We went to a wedding in Nerja and as taxis do not service this area, they dropped and collected us.

I have never had a more relaxing break. We did go to Frigiliana quite a bit. A really beautiful town. Have to recommend the Polish Restaurant. Food was amazing and it certainly encouraged me to start looking up Polish recipes.

The only thing to watch out for is the drive up. It is very steep and you need to have a decent car and nerves of steel. We loved it though and you will too.

I cant begin to explain how wonderful this house is or how lovely Javier and Rosario are, but if you go you will find out and like us you will have the best holiday ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2014
Dear Simon and Maria:
We are very happy your lovely review. Thank you very much. Hope next time you coming, the car hire you used are a better car, is for this we recomend the flat route to Nerja ( only 10 minutes and is flat).
Is a pleasure for us help you when the taxi no arrive at this area.
Happy see you again here, and you are welcome always.
Love
Rosario, Javier and children
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing