We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
4
13
9
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
13
9
7
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We rather like Caronte, having bought into timeshare here on a whim in the 80s for peanuts. Then it was rough and ready, poorly finished with sharp edges and slipshod paint, plumbing and electrics; don't remember the reception, the pool was cold- it was Easter! We had a little car, left the children with friends, and enjoyed trips to Marbella, Malaga and Ronda.We have had our money's worth, swapping into Spain, France, USA, Portugal etc.
What a transfomation 30 years later- it was difficult to find, forgot the way, but pulled into Marbella reception and they were courteous, a driver led us in his van to the block, even helped us with bags. The 60 steps do make us puff a bit, but feel toned after 9 days. The apartment has fabulous views over sea and mountains, fans on to keep it cool, lack of aircon might be a problem in summer, we are enjoying the Sept weather, sunny and warm. The block is very quiet and peaceful, apartment is well finished now, agree not dynamically decorated, but very spacious with wrap-around balcony, nice to get back to after a day on the golf course (prebooked in uk)or tennis court (situated at Calahonda). We self cater or eat out, nicely appointed kitchen for 2 people (chef and sous-chef), washing machine is a bonus, can travel light. TV is basic, a few UK channels, but you don't come to Spain to watch tv; Internet extra, but can use i-player and catch up with emails.
The other clubs are nice for swimming, tennis, bars restaurants etc but better to eat out as their menus are similar, very friendly staff especially poolside at Calahonda and Riviera, and the restaurant at Marbella, where they had an excellent singer. You need to plan ahead ie car hire deal very good for large Seat, tank full of diesel for €100 + extra £30 insurance pre bought in UK to cover excess, all you need for 2 weeks here, don't buy the all in deal or buy insurance in Malaga, even though they don't like you doing that; we took photos of the car from all angles ie scratches, nicks and scuffs.
We are late 60s, enjoying the sport, culture (Cordoba 2 hours drive, Granada closer), beach, swimming, walking, restaurants in Fuengirola

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank richards037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We booked here for 1 week having stayed at a sister resort 2 years ago. We checked in at just after midnight at Club Delta Mar as Caronte doesn't have its own reception. A courtesy bus driver was asked by reception to show us where to go as it the surrounding streets are like a maze! We were shown where to park our car and pointed up some steps and then the driver left. There were 60 uneven steep stone steps which were not mentioned in the description of the resort when booking, nor were we told about them at reception.

The apartment was awful! No air conditioning in 34 degree heat and ineffective ceiling fans. Tiny galley kitchen which had no room for more than 1 person. 2 very dated bathrooms and a sofa bed that had seen better days and a tv that had no reception at all, not even Spanish channels. In the welcome pack a small note says that the tv satellite used for the Costa del Sol had been repositioned and that reception quality was very intermittent. Ok, so that couldn't be helped. As it was now past 2am we went to bed, sleeping pretty much on the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept on. The mattresses were solid with no give at all.

The following morning (Sunday) I called reception and asked to be moved due to the steps and two of the party have mobility issues with their joints. I was told they were full and we'd have to pay an extra €70 for cleaning if we wanted to move. I said fine as we just couldn't continue using those steps. I was then told to call back Monday and they'd try to accommodate me. I did and we were given another apartment which did have less steps and was much more superior than the previous one but even that was not a great thing. Better quality of fittings but beds still very uncomfortable and the sofa bed had the thinnest mattress I've ever seen or had the misfortune of sleeping on.

Remember the tv? Perfect reception!! All UK channels plus Spanish ones! Must have moved the satellite when we moved!!

Then we had the misfortune of being asked/persuaded/?pressured with a timeshare presentation which didn't really improve things. Even that was a disaster! Met at Club Marbella. OMFG! It was like a bloody disco around the pool with everyone on top of each other!! Promised lunch by the sales guy which never materialised when we strongly declined the offer when my husband managed to get a word in edge ways!! The sales guy told us that Crown Resorts were selling Caronte, I wonder why?! When leaving, we were shown out the back way, wonder if it had been the front if we'd said yes to his sell.

When checking out, thankfully we weren't charged the €70 cleaning fee which would have been the last resort!!

Don't waste your money, there are much better places to stay. The sister resort of Club La Riviera is much better.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Welshgal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Apartments quite dated, and a bit of a squeeze for a family of four . However was somewhere to lay our heads.
The walk down to the resort was fine , however on a hot day laden with shopping walk back up to apartment not pleasant . Taxi's cost 5 euros.
Swimming pool is lovely and not too overcrowded.
Views fantastic from balcony .

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ffiajacsmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We stayed as 2 couples and our mum. The stairs make for difficulties for anyone with mobility issues. Even a lower ground apartment, still had a number of steps. The external area was awful and depressing - refuse bins, broken wire fencing, feral cats, dirty and lots of rubbish dumped.

Inside, was just 'ok'. We had a 2 bed 2 bathroom apartment and the bathrooms were adequate as were the bedrooms. The sleeper couch was horrific - a torture rack really!

For the price, cheap ,but not very cheerful.....Can't say we could recommend. The only plus point was going to the sister resorts, which were a lot better.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sunflower_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Club caronte is one of the Crown Resort properties. The apartment was good but there are no amenities apart from a pool which I struggled to find because of lack of signs. The other resorts which have amenities are distant from Caronte and without a car you have to be prepared to walk and climb. There is a resort bus which you have to order but not always easily. The food on offer at the other resorts was poor and unexciting. There was little by way of entertainment and 'gala' nights very expensive at 29 euros for a mediocre buffet. The general area is quite different to other resorts with no beach front restaurants and shops. One local bus goes from fuengirola to Marbella but is 2 an hour at peak times and less frequent at other times. You need a car to get about easily.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank junemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews