We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ancora del Chianti Eco BB & Art Retreat in Tuscany
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Castello Vicchiomaggio(Greve in Chianti)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casprini Da Omero(Greve in Chianti)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Locanda Il Gallo(Greve in Chianti)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
albergo Casa al Sole(Greve in Chianti)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo del Chianti(Greve in Chianti)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Villa Bordoni(Greve in Chianti)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GRANDETERRA(Greve in Chianti)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Casa con Bella Vista(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
262
33
11
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
33
11
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchenb bhost laurapainting classincluding pastadelicious cakestuscan hillshelpful with tipsother guestswe spent hoursdegree viewgravel roadwatching the sunsetolive fieldswonderful countryeach morninglovely family
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 307 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

It was our first time in the tuscany and we LOVED it! Laura and her husband weren't there, but the staff and her mother Guiliana were very friendly and well organised (even if we didn't understand her italian)
The house is so beautiful and a stay there Is perfect to relax a few days. We made trips to Firenze (easy with the Bus) and to other small tuscan villages - a perfect combination of sightseeing, relaxing, very good food and feeling like home!

Great Job Laura!

Best wishes from Louisa and Hannes

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Owner at Ancora del Chianti Eco BB & Art Retreat in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Louise and Hannes, thank you for your comment about your visit at Ancora del Chianti Bed and Breakfast. I am so glad to read that you did enjoy your holidays with "sightseeing, relaxing, very good food and feeling like home" due to our central location, tranquillity and peace of our hilltop farmhouse and garden with view, our tasty breakfast and friendly yet professional staff. Can't wait to welcome you personally next time! A hug from all of us, Laura, Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We arrived here as a group of 16 Americans who are all in our 30s. Laura could not have been more accommodating! Starting with our initial orientation to the wonderful daily breakfasts - everything was perfect. The rooms were spacious, the scenery was breathtaking and the food was very delicious.

Getting up to the property is an adventure (especially if you follow google maps and forget to follow the actual signs on the road), but hey that is what makes vacations fun! There is great hiking in the immediate area and in the local vineyards/olive fields.

The property is perfectly located for quick drives to all the small towns in the immediate region and it is an easy 45 minute drive to Florence. My one regret is that we only stayed here for 3 nights - next time it will be for many more!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Owner at Ancora del Chianti Eco BB & Art Retreat in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Richard, thank you for your visit and for reporting immediately about your stay at Ancora del Chianti EcoBB and Art Retreat in Tuscany. It has been an amazing experience to host your group for 3 days: pleasant company with sharing, learning and fun. Thank you also for the Brunello...never forget you all... and the delicious wine! Waiting for you to come back for a longer stay and more exploration, un saluto caro Laura & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Unpretentious, warm and inviting, Ancora del Chianti offers a lovely and tranquil setting in a wonderful location. LAURA and her staff are most gracious and helpful. A wonderful country stay, yet convenient to the sites of the Chianti region.!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Owner at Ancora del Chianti Eco BB & Art Retreat in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Michelle, thank you for your time in writing about your stay at Ancora del Chianti BB and we are glad to read that it has been so pleasant. Hope to see you back, Laura & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Ancora is located four to five kilometers from Greve in Chianti. You will need a rental vehicle to access it up a reasonable dry weather road.
Our room was clean, tidy and peaceful, as were the breakfast and guest kitchen areas. Views from the garden are beautiful and the nearby countryside supports a good fauna population. Our host Laura was able to supply me with a useful bird list and I encountered some good birds as well as butterflies.
Breakfast was enhanced by homemade preserves, jams and cakes which made a nice difference from the packaged stuff many hotels dish up!
The kitchen for guests is really useful. There are basic food supplies plus wine and beer in it which you can buy for nominal prices but we augmented these with bread, cheese and prosciutto from the supermarket in Greve and enjoyed our evening meals with a glass or three while watching the sunset. Doing just this on our last night together with a lovely Argentinian couple, hundreds of fireflies danced around us.
There is a good walk to the main road through vineyards, olive groves and natural forest. If you are comfortable driving around this region it is perfectly situated for day trips to places such as Siena and San Gimignano.
Ancora is a well run family concern in a beautiful location and we have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lesb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Owner at Ancora del Chianti Eco BB & Art Retreat in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Lesb0, it has been a pleasure to welcome guests that love nature so much and can see our efforts in preserving appreciating the biodiversity of Ancora del Chianti, the lovely walks in the morning bliss and the convivial evening in the garden surrounded by hundreds of fireflies in the vibrant silence of countryside at night. We have been so happy to share all this with you and I personally miss our talkings in morning when comparing Australian and European wildlife and habits. We are grateful for the time in writing your comments about your stay with us and for recommending so enthusiastically. Waiting for you to come back "to the other side of the world", a big hug Laura and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We stayed for 5 nights & wish we could've stayed many more. Laura & her crew were amazing. I loved getting the chance to talk to her--an amazing woman. Her retreat was beautifully done. It was in a great location for all of the day trips that we took. We drank a lot of their wine & spent late nights in the hammock under beautiful Tuscan nights. I couldn't recommend it enough. We will definitely be back! And thanks for the rice cake recipe.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jmatson266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Owner at Ancora del Chianti Eco BB & Art Retreat in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear Jmatson, thank you for your comment and for recommending Ancora del Chianti Eco BB & Art Retreat in Tuscany. We are glad to read that our central location in Tuscany and the hilltop property gave you the opportunity of visiting the main art cities and relaxing and appreciate local food, wine and ...cakes. With the recipe of our famous "budino" you can now bake yourself and make your family happy remembering of the good moments in Tuscany! Waiting for meeting you again for more visits and ....more cakes to taste, Laura and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews