We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa Rosa di Boscorotondo(Panzano in Chianti)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$167
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo del Chianti(Greve in Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
B&B Fagiolari(Panzano in Chianti)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Chiantihome(Strada in Chianti)
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
B&B La Piazzetta(Panzano in Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Le Barone(Panzano in Chianti)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$251
US$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$274/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Agriturismo di Mezzano(Strada in Chianti)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Ca di pesa(Greve in Chianti)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
272
34
11
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
34
11
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchenhost laurapainting classlovely paintingsincluding pastatuscan hillshelpful with tipsbed and breakfastother guestsdegree viewwatching the sunsetbumpy roadhomemade wineolive fieldswonderful countryeach morninglovely family
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We arrived here as a group of 16 Americans who are all in our 30s. Laura could not have been more accommodating! Starting with our initial orientation to the wonderful daily breakfasts - everything was perfect. The rooms were spacious, the scenery was breathtaking and the food was very delicious.

Getting up to the property is an adventure (especially if you follow google maps and forget to follow the actual signs on the road), but hey that is what makes vacations fun! There is great hiking in the immediate area and in the local vineyards/olive fields.

The property is perfectly located for quick drives to all the small towns in the immediate region and it is an easy 45 minute drive to Florence. My one regret is that we only stayed here for 3 nights - next time it will be for many more!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Owner at Ancora del Chianti Eco BB & Art Retreat in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Richard, thank you for your visit and for reporting immediately about your stay at Ancora del Chianti EcoBB and Art Retreat in Tuscany. It has been an amazing experience to host your group for 3 days: pleasant company with sharing, learning and fun. Thank you also for the Brunello...never forget you all... and the delicious wine! Waiting for you to come back for a longer stay and more exploration, un saluto caro Laura & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Unpretentious, warm and inviting, Ancora del Chianti offers a lovely and tranquil setting in a wonderful location. LAURA and her staff are most gracious and helpful. A wonderful country stay, yet convenient to the sites of the Chianti region.!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Owner at Ancora del Chianti Eco BB & Art Retreat in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Michelle, thank you for your time in writing about your stay at Ancora del Chianti BB and we are glad to read that it has been so pleasant. Hope to see you back, Laura & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Ancora is located four to five kilometers from Greve in Chianti. You will need a rental vehicle to access it up a reasonable dry weather road.
Our room was clean, tidy and peaceful, as were the breakfast and guest kitchen areas. Views from the garden are beautiful and the nearby countryside supports a good fauna population. Our host Laura was able to supply me with a useful bird list and I encountered some good birds as well as butterflies.
Breakfast was enhanced by homemade preserves, jams and cakes which made a nice difference from the packaged stuff many hotels dish up!
The kitchen for guests is really useful. There are basic food supplies plus wine and beer in it which you can buy for nominal prices but we augmented these with bread, cheese and prosciutto from the supermarket in Greve and enjoyed our evening meals with a glass or three while watching the sunset. Doing just this on our last night together with a lovely Argentinian couple, hundreds of fireflies danced around us.
There is a good walk to the main road through vineyards, olive groves and natural forest. If you are comfortable driving around this region it is perfectly situated for day trips to places such as Siena and San Gimignano.
Ancora is a well run family concern in a beautiful location and we have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lesb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Owner at Ancora del Chianti Eco BB & Art Retreat in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Lesb0, it has been a pleasure to welcome guests that love nature so much and can see our efforts in preserving appreciating the biodiversity of Ancora del Chianti, the lovely walks in the morning bliss and the convivial evening in the garden surrounded by hundreds of fireflies in the vibrant silence of countryside at night. We have been so happy to share all this with you and I personally miss our talkings in morning when comparing Australian and European wildlife and habits. We are grateful for the time in writing your comments about your stay with us and for recommending so enthusiastically. Waiting for you to come back "to the other side of the world", a big hug Laura and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We stayed for 5 nights & wish we could've stayed many more. Laura & her crew were amazing. I loved getting the chance to talk to her--an amazing woman. Her retreat was beautifully done. It was in a great location for all of the day trips that we took. We drank a lot of their wine & spent late nights in the hammock under beautiful Tuscan nights. I couldn't recommend it enough. We will definitely be back! And thanks for the rice cake recipe.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jmatson266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Owner at Ancora del Chianti Eco BB & Art Retreat in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear Jmatson, thank you for your comment and for recommending Ancora del Chianti Eco BB & Art Retreat in Tuscany. We are glad to read that our central location in Tuscany and the hilltop property gave you the opportunity of visiting the main art cities and relaxing and appreciate local food, wine and ...cakes. With the recipe of our famous "budino" you can now bake yourself and make your family happy remembering of the good moments in Tuscany! Waiting for meeting you again for more visits and ....more cakes to taste, Laura and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Scenic. Luscious gardens. Lots of Wine!!
Those are the best descriptors of this place tucked high up in the hills of Greve in Chianti. It's a tricky drive up the unpaved roads (you'll most likely need a car staying here), but various signs help along the way and there is no shortage of parking. The place itself has a wonderful 270-degree view of the Tuscan hills, perfect for experiencing colourful sunsets.
We made dinner one of the nights and ate out in the gardens while watching the sunset. It was lovely. The small kitchen is equipped with all you need to make simple meals at reasonable prices including pasta, sauces, olive oil and plenty of wine and drink to choose from (you simply sign out what you use and pay later). We also made a trip to the local supermarket and stocked up on snacks.

The breakfasts were tasty and filling. One of the more charming touches was having our names on our bedroom doors and a personalised welcome letter on our bed upon arrival. This place is very romantic for couples, but also great for a solo retreat to get a way from it all. Laura and her family were sweet, funny and very helpful; all-around wonderful hosts that make for an equally wonderful stay!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Giancarlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Owner at Ancora del Chianti Eco BB & Art Retreat in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear Giancarlo, we thank you for your enthusiastic review about your stay at Ancora del Chianti BB. We are happy to read you appreciated our welcoming touches, garden with view and on site facilities. We thank you also for suggesting Ancora as convenient solo retreat. Infact we are welcoming an increasing number of solo traveller - expecially solo woman traveller. They reported that our central location, wide range of activities, and peaceful and friendly enviroment was a pleasant mix for socialising, exploring and listening to their inner self. We hope to see you again soon and ...more wine for you! A big hug from the hill Laura & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews