We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
144
24
4
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
24
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel ile de re st martin low key home from home light lunch buffet breakfast our honeymoon beautiful small hotel wonderful stay the ground floor third visit enjoyed our stay short stroll three nights swimming pool restaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

We finished a nine day road trip of western France and Northern Spain with two nights in Villa Clarisse and loved every minute of our stay. The staff, without exception, are friendly, welcoming and helpful. They volunteer helpful information just because they can and want to and that really made all the difference to our stay in Ile de Re. The hotel is peaceful and tranquil with its lovely restful colour scheme and its beautiful garden with swimming pool: waking to bird song was fabulous. We enjoyed our stay in room 2 - and had two great nights’ sleep. The hotel offers prompt and reliable valet parking. Breakfast is delightful and served in relaxing surroundings. The hotel relies on its sister hotel, Hotel Toiras, for its restaurant, only a few minutes walk away and well worth it. Table d’Olivia is a fabulous dining experience. Would certainly recommend this lovely haven and will come back here.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BerrieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LC_Olivia, Propriétaire at La Villa Clarisse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear BerrieP,

On behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with us at La Villa Clarisse.

Every staff member is dedicated to give you advice and create for you a memorable and tailor made stay with us. Thank you to mention it.

Pleased to learn that you took time to discover our gastronomic restaurant, La Table D'Olivia, orchestrated by our executive Chef, Antonio Sanna.

Happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast, served every morning with freshly squeezed orange or grapefruit juice, fresh croissants, home made fruits salad and Confiture de Lydie, made on the island at Le bois Plage.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Benjamin
Adjoint de Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

This is our third visit to the Villa. We love it. Only nine rooms so quiet and secluded close to the port but hidden away. Breakfast is now served 8.30 till whenever which just helps you relax that bit more and not rush to get up in the morning. They will arrange bikes for you and in the afternoon you can have a superb glass of wine in the garden. We would always return it is by far the best hotel in St Martin. The staff are friendly and polite and your car is valet parked in secure parking. You can get a light lunch for instance a small prawn salad. We always have a suite overlooking the gardens at the back and we just chill out.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DieselChannelIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LC_Olivia, Propriétaire at La Villa Clarisse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear DieselChannellslands,

Many thanks for such a beautiful comment regarding your last experience at La Villa Clarisse!

As you mentionned, La villa Clarisse is a quiet peaceful place in the heart of the villaga, at only 3 minutes walking distance from the harbour.

Pleased to read that you enjoyed our lunch served every day in the garden, close by the pool.

We would like to thank you for your loyalty and we hope to welcome you in your suite in the near future.

Best Regards,

Benjamin
Adjoint de direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Discreetly set in the backstreets of St Martin and away from the busy harbour, this beautiful small hotel offers tranquility and luxury and is still only 150m from the bars, restaurants and shops of this delightful little town. Lovely rooms set among secluded gardens. Excellent friendly staff who went out of their way to help. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Markfiftyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LC_Olivia, Propriétaire at La Villa Clarisse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Markfiftyfive,

Many thanks for sharing your experience at La Villa Clarisse!

We are delighted to read you enjoyed our service and our staff. The work of our teams is to make sure our clients keep a wonderful memory of their stay.

As you mentioned, our location, in the very heart of the village, allows the hotel to be in a calm, discreet and close by the main attractions of the city.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Benjamin
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Beautiful boutique hotel, relaxing, clean and the staff are charming with a welcoming attitude and a genuine desire to make our stay as comfortable as possible.
I would recommend this for couples or small groups but not children. Great location just a couple of streets away from the harbour centre, easy to walk to all eateries and shops. All the rooms have baths which is great after a day of cycling. We stayed at the Toiras last time but prefer the calm of La Clarisse with its feeling of intimacy.. To improve the hotel I recommend better hairdryers, an explanation for how the air conditioning works as we found it confusing and some items were missing in the room so we had to ask a few times for things. Otherwise thank you ladies, you did a wonderful job! And especially thank you for our surprise glass of champagne, a very nice touch!
Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the street are more noisy especially on Saturday evenings.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank a M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LC_Olivia, Propriétaire at La Villa Clarisse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear a M,

Many thanks for your words and for taking the time to share your experience at La Villa Clarisse.

We really thank you for your loyalty toward our residences

As you mentionned, this 18th century private mansion is ideally located on the very heart of Saint Martin old town, just next to the church, and 3 minutes walking from the harbor.

Thank you for naming our staff.

We duly noted your remark about the hairdryers and the air conditioning, we will share your review with the team. Thank you for letting us know your impression. As you can imagine, it is always important for us to have feedback from our guests.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Benjamin
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Villa Clarisse is set back from the harbour of St Martin and, as such, is a haven from the hurly burly of the town.

It is a delightful, low key, house, cleverly converted with stylish decoration into a small hotel with garden, swimming pool and mini restaurant where they serve delicious croissants and baguettes for breakfast and a light lunch should you want to stay at the hotel during the day.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and are very happy to make restaurant suggestions and reservations. Make sure you order bikes in advance as this is the way to see the rest of the island. The ice dream is to die for. The best make is martiniere.

We love this island and all it has to offer. We will definitely be returning.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank melissa_knatchbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LC_Olivia, Propriétaire at La Villa Clarisse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear Melissa_knatchbull
Many thanks for your nice comment regarding your last experience at La Villa Clarisse!
Delighted to read that you enjoyed all the services provides by La Villa Clarisse during your stay as our breakfast served with fresh croissants and baguettes made the morning, a light lunch menu supervised by our excutif chef...
We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future, be sur La Martiniere will be still here !
Best Regards,
Benjamin
Reservations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews