We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
102
148
66
43
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
148
66
43
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

This hotel needs serious attention. It is very dated and overpriced for the service and facilities provided. It is basically a campsite offering all types of accommodation, from camping pitches, chalets and hotel rooms. Even the camping pitches and sanitary facilities are in need of refurbishment. We stayed two nights and the room was large and clean but full of beds. It had a fusty smell. We returned after a day out to find the door broken and unlocked. There was no explanation from the staff and as nothing inside the room was out of place we didn't pursue it. The breakfast was poor and uninspiring and at €13 per person per day extortionately priced. Didn't eat in the restaurant as that menu was also pricey. The only positive was the reception staff were friendly.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grenettes, Responsable commercial at Hotel Les Grenettes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Dear Hazel H,
Thank you for your message which will help us to improve our services.
The domain 'Les Grenettes' indeed consists of a classified hotel 3 stars and of a park of mobil homes in family vocation which share the same installations of leisure activities. It is clearly specified on our web site.
The at will breakfast buffet presents numerous advantages, particularly in period of holidays: speed, service according to your hunger, schedules at will, economy at the level of the service. We attempt to re-furnish the sideboard so that it is always furnished, from 7 am till 10 am.
We are finally very perceptible to your compliments concerning the quality of the reception and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Benoit Lavergne, sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This hotel is quite run down. Air condtioning/heating doesn'r work, showers very small - not for adult use, wifi advertised but frequentl doesn't work. Pool advertised but only open June to end august and from 10:00am to 6:00pm. No doubles on ground floor, all twins, Management quite uncaring. And moreover, at E129 for a double, quite expensive.
Ile de Re is nice but DON'T go during July-August, the roads, car parks and restaurants will al be packed out and you will spend more time moving about than enjoying the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grenettes, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Grenettes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Dear PRW2,
Thank you for your message, which will help us to improve our services.
The remarks which you made on the room (air conditioning, Wifi) were taken into account and we did what's necessary since your passage. The hotel Grenettes was redeployed 3 stars in the standards 2012, during summer, 2011
We hope all the same to receive you again in the Hotel Domain Grenettes.
Benoit Lavergne, service quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

The hotel itself is situated in the middle of nowhere with nothing to do at all, terrible food and seriously overpriced for what you are getting, rooms stuck in the past with no style or comfort whatsoever, would not recommend this hotel to my dog to stay in as it is not fit for habitation, plus points some of the staff were extremely friendly, the old lady who seemed to own/run the place seemed to be like a dictator only times I saw her she was roaring abuse at staff very unprofessional I thought.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TopcatUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grenettes, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Grenettes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear customer, first of all, we are anxious to thank you for having taken time to share your experience. We took good note negative points raised during your stay. The satisfaction of our customers is our priority and we regret sincerely not having been up to your expectations. Best Regards, All the team of 'Les Grenettes'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

We booked this hotel through Logis de France, having checked out the hotel's own website first. The hotel was of a perfectly acceptable standard but did not come close to meeting our expectations.The representation of it on the website is far, far nicer than the reality.
Bearing in mind that we are a young couple with no kids who thought we were goign to be staying in a romantic, quiet, pretty hotel near the beach, you'll be able to imagine the disappointment that crashed over us when we arrived to find the place full of static caravans and tents - it appears it also runs as a campsite. Worse was to come, when at check in we were each given a day-glo pink armband (!) which would allow us access to the pool - that said it all. We didn't need to look at the pool to ascertain that it was full of young children - you could hear them from a distance. The walk to the beach (about 300 yards) took us past a nightclub, phone box with broken glass and graffiti. The beach itself was literally covered in seaweed. We would have changed hotels but it was high season and there was little availability.
We did manage to find nicer beaches up the coast and really spent very little time in the hotel. Lovely restaurants elsewhere.
On the plus side, the hotel was clean and rooms were a good size. We didn't eat there as we doubted the food would live up to the price. A G&T and a whisky cost £12 in the bar, where the staff were keen for you to leave by 9.30 pm so they could go home. To top it all off we were nobbled by those annoying commune taxes on checking out 5 days later!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GloucestershireWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grenettes, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Grenettes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear customer, first of all, we are anxious to thank you for having taken time to share your experience. We took good note negative points raised during your stay. The satisfaction of our customers is our priority and we regret sincerely not having been up to your expectations. Best Regards, All the team of 'Les Grenettes'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

hotel-les-grenettes is fairly easy tio find - it is not a large hotel - but does have a large camp site as part of it's grounds.

We took a cab from La Rochelle airport for 35 Euros, and are still uncertain as to whether we were 'had' over - but the price for a single private car crossing the bridge to L'isle is E16.5. though free for cyclists and when we left we took a bus from 400 yards from the Hotel to the centre of La Rochelle and then a second to the airport for only 10E...and this took only just over 30 mins...in total...

Les Grennettes itself has a fine though relatively expensive restaurant, the food was very good, as was the one meal that we took on the terrace. The local wine is excellent.

The swimming pool is not what the image on the web site shows. It is for kids. No early morning lappping. This is a fun pool. There was a shop, the tennis courts were first class and for 10E a day you can hire a bike from reception - the island is set up for cycling with well signed cyle paths, off road trails etc. One of our bikes was old and a less experienced cyclist would have struggled with the gears so check them out in the courtyard before heading off.

The rooms are typically 3 star french. Basic. we had a nice sized balcony, a TV and the shower/toilet was fine. No air-con and mosquitos kept us awake...But the rooms were very quiet, no noise at all. Breakfast was a superior continental. You will put on weight staying here - unless you exercise!

The bar is 'boring'. The beach is 400 yards away - and is fantastic, yes there are sand flies, but it reaches for miles and is sandy - the tide goes out over rocks and at low tide the locals start 'crabbing'. It was too windy to sunbathe so the flies (at the high tide mark) did not bother us.

The Hotel is away from the 'action' it is too far and too dark to walk into the neighbouring towns in an evening and we saw little in those 'villages' to attract you there, as said the Hotel restaurant is above average.

English was spoken by one of the waiters, and one very charming receptionist.

St Martin is half an hour away on a bike and is recommended for lunch - wonderful harbour town. A bus gets you there too.

The Hotel itself is nice enough. We can recommend it - if you can entertain yourself. The weather was poor when we were there, but we still enjoyed it. We did not see enough of La Rochelle, but will be heading back there - it looked great.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank webBorehamwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grenettes, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Grenettes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear customer, first of all, we are anxious to thank you for having taken time to share your experience. We took good note negative points raised during your stay. The satisfaction of our customers is our priority and we regret sincerely not having been up to your expectations. Best Regards, All the team of 'Les Grenettes'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews