We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
217
155
45
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
155
45
27
17
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I agree with the reviewer below who said stay away. I ended up staying here when I was led to believe that I was staying in their four star sister hotel across the road (see my full review on Hotel Elegance Suites). I believe the reviewer below had the same issue as me as both hotels have different websites and different phone numbers but all calls go through to the same place and the staff don't explain that they are booking you into a three star hotel when you've seen a website and called a number for a four star hotel! The hotel Spa Plaisir is fine but not when you've paid a huge amount for a night's stay and dinner thinking it's a four star hotel. If you do book make sure you get an e-mail confirmation telling you exactly which hotel you're in. They conveniently didn't send me my e-mail confirmation even when I chased them up. Having said all that we had a very good dinner in the hotel restaurant and the restaurant staff were superb.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPlaisir, Propriétaire at Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Madam C
Thank you for taking time to share your opinions and we are anxious to bring some clarification to remove some misunderstandings likely.
Our group has in fact three hotel properties, two of them are located in front of each other: Hôtel Plaisir*** and Elégance Suite Hôtel**** which opened in March.
Each hotel has its own specificity due to its classification; types of rooms available are different on both establishments, as well as prices. The “Hotel Plaisir” offers four lines of rooms, from the “Classic” to the “Junior Suite”, through “Charm Room” and “Elegance room” (also called prestige) while Elegance Suites Hotel only offers “Suite Balneo Luxe”.
For more convenience during check-in, reception is one common to both hotels, and one standard to take calls and reservations. During each call, depending on availability and to let the choice to our customers, we offer deals on the two structures, clearly stating the different categories of rooms available and their location, price and their stars ranking.
Each booking is then subject to a written confirmation and detailed summary (stipulating the establishment, room category, price, and dates), by mail or e-mail the same day (maybe yours is arrived like a SPAM in your ebox?).
A room in a 3 star hotel obviously doesn’t cost the same as a 40sq ft. Suite with a private Jacuzzi in a 4 star hotel. Despite this, we have proposed you to be upgraded on the 4 star hotel for an extra of €50 per night only (instead of 118€ per night extra that should have been applied). You have obviously not been sensitive to this motion from us.
We sincerely apologize that probable misunderstanding (perhaps due to confusion between the appellations) that caused your dissatisfaction; our goal is to offer the best to our customers.
Sincerely yours,
Mario Hamelin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We decided to visit Ile de Re in the pre-season at the beginning of July for a week. The problems started with the booking / reservation. After completing the online reservation form the web service told you that you will receive the confirmation of the booking (?!), which then guarantees your room. Several days passed and this confirmation did not arrive until we contacted the hotel directly. After mailing back and forth we got the long awaited booking confirmation, after we have paid 30% of our stay in advance.
Upon arrival, we were greeted by receptionist, who was polite and spoke English. After going throught the booking details, we were asked to pay the rest of the hotel costs. Before doing so we wanted to see our room (we booked a prestige room for 250€/night, the second biggest category after the suite). We were then brought to a hotel complex across the street and to the pool, where we entered a little garden (the emphasis is on little) and to our room. It was just the opposite of the main restaurant (noisy!), no more than 20m2 with shabby chic furniture, a 140cm bed (do they still have these in descent hotels?!) and a teeny tiny bathroom with a shower. For 250€/night! Disappointment is the wrong word for how we felt, after having driven >1000km to get there. After contacting the manager, the sweet receptionist wanted to show us an apartment that we could have instead of the room. There the bedroom was even smaller and all the other rooms also. The idea of having had to look for another hotel came to us as a shock. The nice receptionist contacted the manger again, who suggested to have a look at the suite, which we could get from the next day (what about tonight?!). Finally we got to the suite, which was definitively bigger, newly refurbished and nicer. After some time we got informed that we could stay there for our whole stay. For this we had to pay extra money and pay our bill in advance….
Now comes the food. Breakfast was French style, i.e. with one type ham, salami and sandwich cheese. Lots of croissants and baguette, cakes, toast... There was a screeching toaster with the toasts to go through that was on all the time. Even people with hearing problems would leave the room after hearing that kind of noise. The second noise source was the orange squeezer, which was used by almost every guest. It was painful to your ears to sit in that restaurant every morning (this is why we always stayed outside). Boiled eggs were the only option and this had to be done by you. No extras could be ordered as these were not offered by the restaurant. The coffee was from like a Nescafe instant powder machine, completely disastrous. For some reason the instant coffee Nescafe boom seemed to have reached France, you could get this brown tasteless broth everywhere. To get real coffee we had to drive every day to La Flotte, to this little nice patisserie with the Nespresso machine. So this was breakfast for 7 days.
The 5-course dinner menu was per se nice, changing everyday with a fish or meat choice. However, the many courses were teeny tiny, in particular the main dish (e.g. you would get ONE potato cut in half as a side dish!). Wanting and getting more was not an option – the head waiter would slap you saying that this is not possible as the cook said so (actually the cook was not the problem). He was an uptight nerd, reminiscent of the villain from Ratatouille and other France-inspired movies. For his position he was arrogant, incompetent and unfriendly. Any good hotel would have had him fired. The other waiters were, on the other hand, quite nice despite conflicts with the head waiter and were always trying as much as possible to indulge the guests. For us it was not acceptable to be in a restaurant, where you cannot get enough food to eat!
Spa we did not use. The pool area was a nice try – it was not even worth of sitting there. WLAN was available, but only if you stood below the antenna.
The island however was gorgeous. Beautiful beaches, preserved nature, a lot of peace and relaxation. Great people (if you take the head waiter out). We may return to Ile de Re, but this hotel we shall never visit again. All in all poor value for money.

Room tip: If you want space, go for the suite
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stilleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamelinMario, Propriétaire at Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Plaisir. We are awfully sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. Your feed back is really important to us.
We also thank you for your opinion of the reception staff. It is imperative for us that staff must be able to accommodate guest in their maternal language, this is what allows a personalized welcome.
First, we would like to clarify that a confirmation is sent for each booking. However, sometimes our emails go directly into “spams” and so customers think not having received. This is not a willingness on our part.
In addition, we wish to clarify that the Prestige room in question is not at 250 euros per night but at 191 euros. 250 euros is the price for a night in the 5 people apartment that you have visited. As you were disappointed over the Prestige Room (measuring 27m² and furnished with a 160 cm bed, leather seats with private terrace facing South) we quickly found a solution by offering you to stay in our new Spa Suites. The settlement of stay was actually asked you on the day of arrival because it is our general conditions of sale.
We wish to emphasize again that the Suite Balneo was offered at the same price of the Prestige Room during all your stay, which has a discount of 100 euros per day.
Finally, we would like to go back to your comments about the restaurant. Our restaurant is listed in the Guide to “First Restaurateurs of France” also ranked 3/3 in the “Logis Guide”. Each evening we offer a 5-course menu (2 starters, 1 main course, cheese and dessert) with a choice for each of them, which is rare and rather generous for a half-board. All products are fresh and homemade .Our restaurant offers for breakfast a sweet and savory buffet with a wide selection of different products. It is important for us that fresh produce are offered to our guests which is why we’re providing customers with a press-orange so that they can make their own orange juice and not proposed simple brick orange juice. We are sorry if this wide range of fresh products could not meet your expectations.
We really hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in a near future.
Kind regards,
Mario Hamelin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I first reviewed this hotel in September 2008 and thought it was superb in every possible way. So we went back in Sept 2009, Sept 2010 and Sept 2011. We have now booked for our 5th visit. Ile de Re is a stunning island and we are really feel drawn back to it year after year even though we consider other places. The certainty of relaxation and comfort at Hotel Plaisir as as lot to do with it. The accommodation is well furnished immaculately clean - we usually stay in one of the 'Elegance' rooms. All rooms have a sun terrace and are all at ground level. The restaurant is first class with the emphasis on local seafood and produce. The long sandy beach and dunes are a couple of minutes walk away or if you prefer a pool the hotel has 2 of them. The area around the hotel is so incredibly quiet and relaxed with no busy roads, no traffic and no big buildings - cycling around seems to be the preferred mode of transport (the hotel has cycle hire). The hotel owner Mario Hamelin lives on site and is friendly, accessible and keen to see that his hotel runs smoothly. All the reception staff are always ready to help. Staying on Ile de Re in general and Hotel Plaisir in particular has always been for us a perfect relaxing experience - we are now getting worried that any other resort and hotel may prove a disappointment!

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank arromanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Had a family holiday here in Summer 2011 - hotel is less than 30 minutes by car from La Rochelle airport - arrived late first night but the kitchem provided a lovely cold meal on our private terrace- great way to start the Holiday.
Accomodation is in neat small villas with Kitchens and a small courtyard / terrace - daily maid service . Breakfast and dinner are taken in the restaurant or on the pool terrace - fantastic when the weather is warm and sunny alittle crowded if it rains! Food was great- plentiful breakfast buffet and good standard french cuisine in the evening specialising in local fish.
The joy of the Ile de Re is hiring bikes ( from reception!) and cycling to the beaches , other villages and the vineyards the hotel is well placed to act as a hub for this very relaxing holiday.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinHoodNG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Having read some of the reviews of other English guests I was a little worried about our holiday hotel. However I need not have been. We stayed in a villa next to the pool with sunbeds and shade. The pool was rarely full and often my daughter and her friend had it to themselves. Each villa has its own outdoor seating area and shade which was useful, and we also had small cooking facilities, a fridge (not mentioned on the hotel website) and a coffe maker. One of the best things about the hotel is the location - a very short walk to a lovely flat sandy beach, and only a couple of minutes cycle away (hired conveniently from the hotel) from the village of Le Bois, where there is a market every day and a supermarket, should you wish to cater for yourself. We had breakfast and evening meal and the food was excellent, lots of choice and you could return to the buffet breakfast as many times as you wish. This was similar to the evening meal where again you could return to the buffet for starters and desserts. For a hassle free holiday in a lovely part of France it was ideal. It was a little expensive, but you are paying for the location, convenience and food. We found all the staff helpful too.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews