We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful rural retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jonzac Gites

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
BBQ by the pool
4 luxury Gites
Hot air Balloon take off from the garden
Delight of the pool at night
Marshmellows are a must after a BBQ
Live music adds a new dimension to any party
Upto 60 catered for with ease
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 23
Jonzac, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FlyingPau...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful rural retreat”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We travelled to meet friends for the Blaye wine festival and stayed in the gite Ugni-Blanc. The gites are well equipped and homely and we were made to feel very relaxed and welcome by Hugh. He ferried us willingly to local bars and restaurants where we experienced the most amazing steaks cooked over an indoor fire pit. Sadly the weather was a bit chilly to use the pool, but the facilities and surroundings would make it an ideal destination for large, relaxed and informal gatherings of friends.

The Blaye Wine Festival was amazing value for money, well organised and included a variety of tastings in different surroundings, so Jonzac Gites was a perfect base from which to visit.

There are fabulous restaurants in Jonzac. On this occasion we didn't get to browse the shops, but hope to return one day.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal Venue for Celebratory Party”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were part of a party that travelled to Jonzac to celebrate a number of birthdays. We were lucky to have accommodation in one of the excellent gites and Hugh - the owner - made us very welcome during our visit. The main event was on a Saturday night where we enjoyed a range of top class BBQ food prepared by Hugh and friends. The large barn dining area was particularly suited for the table arrangements. The countryside where the gites are located is very beautiful.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Party venue
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F
Minehead, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little piece of tranquility in vibrant Blaye”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Wonderful host for whom no request was too much trouble. Close to exciting historic town of Jonzac with its lively markets and boutique shopping, only a short walk. Comfortable gites and welcome pool to cool down in. We had a week to long remember.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascsrober...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation and warm welcome”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived in early August and after a long drive and immediately relaxed on this lovely site. The gite was well equipped and Hugh showed us around. The children loved the freedom of the site which included a lovely pool, large indoor play barn area for when it was too hot or raining, a communal BBQ meant we made friends with others and the children loved that but there was also a choice of private BBQ if we wanted. In the event the atmosphere meant we spent more time together in the big Barn BBQ because it was more fun. Jonzac, small but quiet, is located close enough for days out in La Rochelle, Royan, Angouleme, St.Emilion etc., so plenty to do. Les Antilles water park just 5 mins drive but the gites site was so appealing we only ventured there once. Hugh and colleagues are good hosts so any questions were answered quickly as they are on site if needed. Loved watching the hot air balloons and hope to get back one day.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth L
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Fun!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed at Jonzac Gites, this time joined by 2 sets of friends and their young families. We had just the best holiday, and rather than exploring, which was our intention, we seemed to spend most of the time round the great pool, having BBQ's and relaxing! The gites are in the middle of the countryside and very peaceful!

The gites are generously sized, very well equipped, clean and conveniently laid out. All are close to the pool. It is an extremely child friendly site with a variety of activities for them as well as space to run, cycle or have adventures.

The outside fully equipped kitchen near the pool, but under shade, meant we could both prepare and eat meals together when we wanted, with out people having to go into the gites to prepare food! - a real luxury. (The hot tub was also appreciated in the evenings!)

On both visits the weather has been just perfect allowing the children (and adults) to stay in the pool all day and have endless fun!

Host: Hugh Ashbourne is very considerate and generous with his time ensuring that we had everything we wanted and the best holiday we could. Nothing was too much trouble! He offered to drive us to a local vineyard which we did - and sampled some very good wine! The food festival in Jonzac is not to be missed.

All I can say is that we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$602
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing