We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's as good as everyone states!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rue de la Mer

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Lounge
Enter a caption for your photo
Bunks room
Bathroom
Back Terrace
Balcony
La Terriere Beach
La Terrière Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
La Tranche sur Mer, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Driver F
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's as good as everyone states!”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I can confirm exactly what all the previous guests have stated.

Perhaps what does need to be emphasized is the charm and personality of Maud and Peter the agents. There is a family connection here with this property and La Terriere and it shows in their desire to ensure you have a most relaxing vacation. This starts with the initial enquiry and continues through to a tearful Au revoir at the gate.

My only concern initially was the "slightly open" aspect of the front terrace. However I was proved wrong and we had a wonderful time here.

My wife tells me we are returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A great relaxing villa in a good location and dealing with professional agent.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Always a pleasure to meet such friendly guests, very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerandMik...
Collooney, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly private with everything close by”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This house was perfect for our family. Privacy, but beaches,restaurants and shops of La Tranche Sur Mer were accessible by bike (all 5 of which were provided!) or by car. The village of la Terriere with its boulangerie and friendly local pub were a 4 minute walk away. Table tennis, board games, DVDs, wifi, beach accessories all provided for our teenagers. The house itself was spacious and comfortable for a family of two adults and three teenagers! Two bathrooms, four bedrooms, two patio areas, a barbecue. Fully equipped kitchen with many personal touches. We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living areas
Liked least: The master shower
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Thank you for your comments, we are always grateful for client feedback and we are very happy to know you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgc920
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious, well equipped house, perfect restful break”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

As all the other reviews say this house is very well equipped (with cycles, beach euipment as well as all the normal jouse equipment). Very comfortable and safe for children (we had a 3 and 5 year old with us) It is a 20 min walk along the road or through the forest to the excellent beach, but with two young children we often cheated and drove for 3 mins instad! The free bus service into and around La Tranche was reliable and we used it often (including very late evening). Friendly and helpful service from the agent. Simply a great French holiday. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Level of equipment provided
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G
1 review
“Thoroughly recommended”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Well appointed, spacious and comfortable accommodation in a great location. It is a short walk (or even shorter drive) to a lovely beach. Great place for a relaxing holiday for all the family with plenty of opportunity for exercise too on footpaths and bicycle paths. Friendly and helpful service from the owner's agent.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin_Mon...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a quiet, relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this very well equipped house as a group of 6 adults and had a wonderfully relaxing holiday at the end of July.

The house is a good walk (~15/20 mins) from the beach, although there is also a car park, and a free bus service from the village of La Terriere for those who don't fancy the slightly hilly trip on foot. The village itself has a small bar, a hotel/restaurant and also a boulangerie for the daily essential fresh bread.

At the beach, there is a cafe selling all the necessities for a day at the seaside, such as ice creams, salads, frites and cold drinks, beer or vin rose. I'd personally recommend the salads and sandwiches. If the sun is shining, as it was for almost the whole of our stay, I'd recommend taking a beach umbrella from the house, to provide some shelter from the midday sun.

The accomodation is very flexible with 3 double rooms - one upstairs (en suite) and the others on the lower floor, along with another bathroom. The lower floor also has a bunk room for 4 - which we didn't use, but would be ideal for children. The house itself has everything you could possibly need as a home from home, it is equipped to a high standard and is well looked after.

We loved sitting out on the upper level balcony, which has a large table and barbecue, perfect for al fresco dining, although there is also a more formal dining table in the open plan kitchen/living area of the house itself.

Further afield, the town of La Tranche sur Mer has plenty of restaurants, bars and shops, as well as a large supermarket (which gets very busy on Saturdays as people change over). The town is walkable (~25 mins) or can also be accessed using the free bus if you don't want to drive. There is lots of parking, but it fills up very early when the sun comes out!

If you want to get away from it a little, there are a couple of walkiing trails in the nearby forest - these are well marked and mostly in the shade although a bit hilly. On the afternoon we completed the longer 5km trail, we only saw three other people en route.

Overall, we had a lovely relaxing stay at Rue de la Mer. The house is perfect for a stress free holiday for all ages, and made our holiday experience extremely enjoyable.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing