We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
190
75
18
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
190
75
18
11
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2019

We had a poor experience at the restaurant, the food met expectations but unfortunately the service (one person in particular) was very pushy in making us order and then to top it off they gave us the wrong bottle of wine, which of course was the most expensive on the list. We felt quite taken advantage of as their English was not very strong nor was our French. Suggest when ordering to review what you receive to ensure it’s what you actually ordered. When we realised the mistake at the time of paying their was no apology and they firmly stated we ordered the more expensive bottle even though we specifically pointed at what we wanted at the time of ordering!
Accommodation was fine but rooms could definitely do with an update, they had an old moldy smell.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Caz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Chateau de Castel-Novel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2019

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your opinion through Tripadvisor.

You stayed with us 5 nights and the last night you have decided to eat in our restaurant. For reminder it’s was Friday 12th August (one of time when we are the most busy). We gave you a wine list and you kept it with during all the dinner and after the order of wine (maybe at that time you were thinking about doing something…).When you order your wine , which was a Chateau La Louviere , you asked the staff how to pronounce “Pessac Leognan” in French. Unfortunately for you, we have only 1 reference in Pessac Leognan (for the half bottle). We present this bottle before opening, without any refusal from your part. You saw the label and so the bottle, so you agreed about it. Unfortunately for you, it’s not the most expensive bottle on our wine list , it’s bad trial if you think that we are like that , because we are not like that , you agreed for taking this bottle when the staff present it to you . Our head waiter passed several times at your table to check if everything was ok , and at this time of the dinner just after you finished the main courses you were once again agreed with everything . It’s when you did ask to settle your bill that everything went wrong !!?

Thank you to found “accommodation fine”, normally you have booked a Cottage room and we upgraded you to the Standard room in the Castle. All our rooms are clean every day and haven’t any moldy. Again, no complaint on the spot from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2019 via mobile

We stayed for one night and had an excellent stay.
Staff are very helpful and most speak good English (to my eternal shame my French gets poorer as I get older!)
We had a lovely room in the tower and a balcony overlooking the countryside. The bathroom was a little old fashioned with the shower in the bath but perfectly adequate. A separate toilet.
The hotel is conveniently placed yet in beautifully maintained grounds.
We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent and to be highly recommended.
Breakfast was also excellent in a separate room with very interesting decor.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hookyBucks_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Chateau de Castel-Novel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2019

Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for for your kind opinion and all the details mentionned in your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

we are forward to welcome you again!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2019

We stayed for 1 night at the Chateau de Castel-Novel. You enter a long impressive driveway with manicured gardens, lovely. When we booked (a week earlier) we forgot to book a meal at the chateau's restaurant. Unfortunately for us, they were catering for a corporate group of 120 people in their out-buildings near the pool and informed us the restaurant for everyone else was not open that Friday night. Finding all other nearby restaurants either closed or fully booked we ended up at a McDonalds! So, lesson learned, if you do book the Chateau check whether it is possible to have an evening meal! Also check whether you will be staying near the pool or in the chateau.

Room tip: Check restaurant open and if staying in the chateau or the out-buildings.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 19beth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Chateau de Castel-Novel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Dear Madam,Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for for your opinion and all the details mentionned in your review.

We ask during reservation (by phone or by e-mail) if you want book a table or if our restaurant will be fully booked. We send you a survey few day before your stay, we call you...All of this to avoid any surprise.

Many guests book in our hotel without come in our restaurant.

We are sorry to you ended up at McDonalds and we can encourage you to book table and the room on the same time.

We hope to have a pleasure to welcomie you again in near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2019

We stayed here for two nights on a DBB basis. It’s a very old Chateau, but beautifully maintained in a classic way. The dinners were both delightful, with options immediately offered as Karen is a vegetarian but eats fish. I can’t stress enough just how lovely the food and all the staff were.
We had a lovely old room with great view over the large park grounds which our two dogs loved. There is a small lift but we used the ancient old staircase which is set in one of the towers...worth a look.
The hotel is very dog friendly. We were even able to take them in for dinner and staff made them very welcome. (Maybe peak summer that not an option?)
We spent some time by the large heated outdoor pool which is in a very natural setting down in the parkland. We just felt sad to leave! We plan to return.

Room tip: Room 11 is awesome...classically decorated.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Chateau de Castel-Novel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2019

Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for for your kind opinion and all the details mentionned in your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

we are forward to welcome you again!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2019

This was the highlight of our three month sojourn overseas. The chateau is a spectacular historical building set in a beautiful forest garden, maintained to a very high standard. Our room was grand, with panoramic views in two directions and a terrace to enjoy the canvas offered. We dined in the restaurant and had a meal which could only be described as superb...appetisers, foie gras, lamb...all exquisitely presented, sourced locally and an absolute culinary treat. The staff were exceptional...friendly, helpful and professional...they made our stay with their welcoming presence. What more can I say but looking forward to a return visit.

Room tip: The higher the better for panoramic views.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 701David
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Chateau de Castel-Novel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2019

Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for for your kind opinion and all the details mentionned in your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It's always a real pleasure to welcomie you and we hope to see you again the next year, or before if you want...

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews