We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
190
75
18
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
190
75
18
11
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Located on a small hill overlooking the environment this charming castle is a very relaxing place to enjoy a day or two. The meals prepared by the one star chef are surprising and very good. And if the weather allows you can enjoy lunch and dinner on the terrace in front of the hotel. Even early in the season like we stayed there mid April this is possible.
You can reach the rooms by a narrow winding stairway reminding of the real Middle Ages. But there is also an elevator if you have a lot of luggage. Bicycles are available for free.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuurdvanElburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Chateau de Castel-Novel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2015
Google Translation

Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire.

Nous sommes trés heureux que vous gardiez en mémoire un bon souvenir de votre séjour au Chateau de Castel Novel.

Nous étions trés heureux de vous faire profiter de notre terrasse pour le diner ou le déjeuner.

Nous espèrons avoir le plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau au Chateau.

Bien cordialement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015

I stayed there long ago - July of 2004, and I still think of it fondly. I went with a Tauck tour, and was a young college student who was having an experience of a lifetime traveling before my semester abroad. There are many things here that were just... majestic. First, my mother and I were blessed with staying in the Collette suite. Amazingly, Collette is my favorite author, and I was SO excited to stay in her room - a dream come true really! The room was BEAUTIFUL - pale blues and whites (my favorite color combo), spacious, and so comfortable! There was a terrace that looked over the stunning views of the land, and I enjoyed more than a glass or two of champagne there!

The cuisine was fabulous. I'm now quite a foodie, and credit restaurants such as theirs for educating me in what good food SHOULD taste like. I can't remember exact dishes, except that I was surprised, challenged and delighted by it all. I don't remember thinking anything but highly of it all, but it pleased the palates of both a 20 year old novice and a 50 something foodie at the same time - quite a comment on the talents of the chef.

Now, the thing that stuck with me the most, nearly 11 years later, was Sophie. She was a delight. I don't think she was much older than me, and I had such a wonderful time speaking with her. I spoke French fairly well at that time and would translate for guests occasionally. SHe was so kind, courteous, personable, and charming. There was nothing we asked for that wasn't accommodated by her or her beautifully trained staff. My mom and I occasionally joke that we wonder "how my best friend Sophie is doing." I've been to many, many five star hotels and many countries since, and she is the only hotel owner who's name I remember and the only one with whom, if I were to meet her again, I would just want to have a glass of wine and hang out!

Someday, I plan on having the most amazing honeymoon there, hopefully in the Collette suite, so my (hypothetical) husband can experience the joy I did that long ago, and I can have more memories to last me for decades!

Room tip: Ask for the Collette suite, but all of them are wonderfully whimsical and different. If you can, look around the rooms - they are all delightful! The turret room was very quirky!
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Chateau de Castel-Novel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2015

Dear Diana,

Thanks so much for your publication on Trip Advisor.
I am very touched by your words regarding our establishment, our teams and myself.
I would be particularly pleased to welcome you again in our area and I can assure you a quality service and hospitality at least equal to that which has been lavished you in 2004. I hope very sincerely for you that you will have the opportunity, when you would have met your husband, to share with him during your honeymoon your experience in Castel Novel.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your positive feedback because for us it is the best reward to learn that our guests enjoyed their sojourn in Castel Novel.

Sophie Soulié

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2014

This family operated, renovated chateau sits serenely in the French country side. The French writer Colette once lived here and must have been inspired by this bucolic setting. Each room was delightfully unique. The morning mist covered the fields almost making it dreamlike. The food and service was excellent and they couldn't have done enough for us. True professionals.
Bring your bathing suit for a dip in the pool, and try the local wines.

Room tip: The front rooms in the main building overlook the fields
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Chateau de Castel-Novel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2014

Dera Madam, Dear Sir,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for yours comments.

We are very glad that you had a good time in our Castel, Chateau de Castel Novel.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a near futur.

Yours faithfully,

Sophie Soulié

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It was a last minute booking as a stopover for our vacation on the west coast of France. I chose it purely to surprise my wife and a short adventure in an old chateau for our 6 year old son.

The result was a surprise for all. As other reviewers have commented, it is a wonderfully romantic place. The gardens, swimming pool, and tennis courts are in a enclosed setting that would be hard to recognize a chateau of this level of beauty and history. A walk around the manicured gardens sets the scene for a memorable stay, even though it was a short one-night stopover.

I found the young staff to be very professional and the gentleman at the reception anticipated our every need and was most impressed. The room we were given was on the second floor with a stairway up to a set of three room. The room itself was furnished in full French tradition with the quirks of an old building in keeping with the character of the chateau and with air conditioning that was exceptionally quiet.

Being in the middle of nowhere, we decided in advance to have dinner at the Chateau. What I did not realize was the restaurant has a Michelin star, until I asked as I was for the first time very underdressed in only jeans and t-shirt, as all other customers were quite smartly dressed. All I could comment here is the menu was fabulous with an amazing level of detail and interesting presentations. The service was impeccable with only the one black mark against the maitre'd who was very cold when asked regarding a child's menu. Otherwise, the dinner would have been a perfect experience.

The breakfast when compared to the the dinner was an anticlimax but there was ample choice.

So, a secret Chateau discovered and will be returning when the occasion presents itself.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank orient88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Chateau de Castel-Novel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank for your opinion and we were very glad that you spend a good time in Chateau de Castel Novel, near to Brive.
However, we are sorry for the attitude of our waiter concerning the child menu.
We have taken note and will ensure that it never happens again.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcom you again in Chateau de Castel Novel.
Yours faithfully,

Sophie Parveaux Soulié

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a delightful one night stay at this beautiful Chateau. The staff were all very professional and helpful, particularly the young concierge who couldn't have been more helpful. Our suite was spacious and tastefully decorated. A very good meal was had in their restaurant.

Date of stay: July 2014
Thank lolaCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Chateau de Castel-Novel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your compliments on Chateau de Castel Novel.
We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a near futur.
Yours faithfully,

Sophie Parveaux Soulié

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews