We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most relaxing holiday we've had with our 3 kids!”
other traveller has booked this property
Rose Barn - Sol du Mazel
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Barn - Sol du Mazel
Heated pool 5m x 12m Open plan living in Rose Barn - 48m2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Rose Barn - Sol du Mazel
Heated pool 5m x 12m
Open plan living in Rose Barn - 48m2
Beautiful conversion of the old barn
Master bedroom (which also has space for a cot if needed)
Second bedroom with two single beds (looking through to the bunk room)
The bunk room with the fabulous 'floating bed'
Bathroom (which also has a separate shower)
Overlooking the meadow from the sitting room
View over the pool and meadow with Rose Barn dining area.
Looking up from the play area under the walnut tree to Rose Barn
Climbing frame at Sol du Mazel
Relax in the shade by the pool or simply snooze in the hammocks
Looking back over the meadows to Rose Barn and Hope Cottage
Exploring St Pompon
Envie en Mets - the very well regarded restaurant in St Pompon - remember to book
Shopping in Domme
Beautiful countryside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Domme, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claire R
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Most relaxing holiday we've had with our 3 kids!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent a lovely week at Rose Barn, and my husband was already suggesting we rebook for next year before we'd even packed up the car to come home!

Some unique things about it (in my experience of child unfriendly holiday homes!):

The play facilities are really great (kept ours aged from 2 - 6 entertained for hours!) and, here's the important bit, within easy sight and reach of the house. So you can sit on the terrace whilst your children play, without feeling the need to shadow them all the time. You could actually relax, and enjoy your own holiday.

The pool - we spent a lot of time in the pool. It's fenced, and surrounded by nice loungers and hammocks, and again, within easy sight of the house. It's got a child friendly shallow end, and a little ridge round the edge so children can balance even in the deep end. There was a great assortment of pool toys. Our biggest two came on loads with their swimming within a week, and we had a couple of pool days, it was so nice.

The toys - our almost 2 year old was very enamoured with the great selection of toys and books in the house. She could potter for a good half hour exploring new toys, which was great.

The location - having spent the previous week in a less 'touristy' part of France, we found the location great for kids. Within 20 minutes' drive, we could have entertained ourselves for at least a fortnight. I wish we'd booked for longer.

In summary, Rose Barn has been very well thought out by people with children. If you're travelling with little children, and self catering, we haven't found anything better.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Actinup20...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“We will come again for sure”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Outstanding. We really loved our holiday in Rose Barn. The pool and grounds are perfect for a family. The Barn itself is well equipped and apportioned with everything you need. We felt truly at home for the week. I loved arriving to the crisp cotton sheets, beautiful pictures, games galore for all ages, kids’ toys, books, and more. Indeed as this is our second visit as a family we really appreciated the new sand pit, swings and slides and the fabulous play house (big enough to sleep in!).

Coming out of season really works well. The prices are lower and the weather better or so it seems. We had daily temperatures of the high twenties/ low thirties and the pool varied from 28 to 30 deg C making it refreshing and pleasant. We spent a good 5 hours a day in the pool other than when we visited Domme or went on a canoe down the Dordogne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Crisp clean sheets. Delightful setting. Plenty for the whole family
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWyattF...
1 review
“Stunning stay... Helped by glorious weather x”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a stunning property! We rented both Rose barn and Hope cottage for a family stay with grandparents in May, and we're delighted with everything. This is a perfect property for parents looking for a touch of luxury in a stunning location. Blissfully quiet, and private, we were able to relax and enjoy some lovely warm weather. Very kiddy friendly, everything has been thought of, and the owners were very helpful before and during our stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London_co...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for a quiet getaway”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We decided to spend New Year's Eve here and were pleased that we did! The cottage has everything you would need for babies and toddlers (the trampoline was perfect for speedy toddler exercise), the area is interesting to drive around and expore. Lots to do for small children -- even in winter-time. Lots of castle climbing and cheesy cave-dweller displays.The kitchen is well-equipped and the cottage is thoughtfully prepared -- right down to the baby bath toys. All in all, a lovely place to stay. Thank you, Andy and Kate, for making us feel welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thoughfulness of the owners
Liked least: Dordogne's inhabitants
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny P
Sevenoaks, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The accommodation was first class. Literally everything has been thought of and there was nothing we needed that wasn't there. The cottage was bright and beautifully decorated. The kitchen was well equipped. The lounge area was perfect for comfortable evenings in. There is even English TV! The pool area is very well thought out with plenty of seating and toys for the children. The kids loved the trampoline and swings and being able to ride their bikes around the vast garden space. We really enjoyed a bike ride from Daglan to Chateaunaud, it was flat so very easy to cycle and beautiful scenery all through the corn fields. We had an excellent week and will definitely be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Couldn't pick one thing, it was all great and we will definitely be going back
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing