We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$84
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$93
US$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/14
Hotels.com
US$93
US$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/14
PricelineUS$93
CheapTicketsUS$79
eDreamsUS$84
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
159
31
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
159
31
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marble staircase beautiful hotel beautiful pool hotel restaurant a lovely stay pool area street noise location is great nice room every morning rooms are spacious central park costa rica felt very safe masaya volcano stayed here for nights church
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2020

We came here to end our 2 week trip to Nicaragua, and we ended it in style. The looks of this hotel are stunning, expect a beautiful Spanish colonial style hotel with modern comforts. The bed is luxury, with a good quality soft matress and the room and utilities are clean. There is a lovely pool in the middle of the hotel, and because there is an open roof the sunlight comes through: perfect for a chill before heading towards the centre.

Staff very friendly and professional, overall well worth the money!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank evav987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2020

Thank so much for being part of HRM Experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020 via mobile

Overall, our experience was positive, but there were definitely some negative aspects to our stay. The location is great. The staff was helpful, friendly, and spoke English well; they were able to book us a transfer to Ometepe and answer any questions we had. The common areas of the property are beautiful and the building is pretty well kept. Breakfast is provided for free, but it was underwhelming so we ended up eating a few bites and then going elsewhere. Unfortunately, while we were staying, they were renovating the room next to ours, starting at 7:00 am without any warning or asking us if we would be awake at that time (we didn’t want to be). Our bathroom was also in relative disrepair. The WiFi reception was spotty in our room but good in the property generally.
Overall, our experience was positive, but there were definitely some negative aspects to our stay. The location is great. The staff was helpful, friendly, and spoke English well; they were able to book us a transfer to Ometepe and answer any questions we had. The common areas of the property are beautiful and the building is pretty well kept. Breakfast is provided for free, but it was underwhelming so we ended up eating a few bites and then going elsewhere. Unfortunately, while we were staying, they were renovating the room next to ours, starting at 7:00 am without any warning or asking us if we would be awake at that time (we didn’t want to be). Our bathroom was also in relative disrepair. The WiFi reception was spotty in our room but good in the property generally.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 283jasonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear 282jasonk,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great time with us. Indeed , we are repairing our bathrooms for our guest but can assure not that early in morning , however , the 7:00am noise was coming from our neighbor construction and Granada as a colonial city, one special feature is everything is close and we can hear. We provide 5 breakfast option and our guests feedback had been positive. We apologize for inconvenience you had.

Hope you come back to Granada and let us know

Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020

This hotel looks great. It was renovated from a lovely home. But if you stay there you find it is shabby. Little things, broken tiles in the bathroom, toilet doesn't flush well, poor lighting. It is family run, but they are perhaps overworked.

Room tip: View of the cathedral is best, but noisy.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear Traveler20010074

Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you had , indeed the tiles are broken hence we are repairing all the bathrooms , lighting and look and feel. The days you came , construction was happening . Our staff and management are happy to to be able to have guest , so we assure we were happy to have you here.

Please if you ever come back , let us know.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

This place is very close to main attractions of Granada. Beautiful colonial style hotel with outstanding service. Would definitely recommend and will use again. We choose the room with balcony that had an amazing view of the volcán Mombacho. Parking overnight is a couple of blocks up. It is not included.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cjmm1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Thanks for this amazing review. Hope you can come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

Great location, clean, classy, large rooms! They didn’t have the room we had booked upon arriving but they quickly resolved to put us in a similar room. Unfortunately the restaurant closes early at times so be proactive when planning meals etc. The food was hit or miss, but the service was good.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jodiew1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

Thanks for being with us. We are trying to close on Tuesday Restaurant at 6pm. Normally, We open from 7 am to 9 pm the rest of the week, sorry for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews