We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/14
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$79
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
159
31
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
159
31
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marble staircase beautiful hotel beautiful pool hotel restaurant a lovely stay pool area street noise location is great nice room every morning rooms are spacious central park costa rica felt very safe masaya volcano stayed here for nights church
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2020 via mobile

Overall, our experience was positive, but there were definitely some negative aspects to our stay. The location is great. The staff was helpful, friendly, and spoke English well; they were able to book us a transfer to Ometepe and answer any questions we had. The common areas of the property are beautiful and the building is pretty well kept. Breakfast is provided for free, but it was underwhelming so we ended up eating a few bites and then going elsewhere. Unfortunately, while we were staying, they were renovating the room next to ours, starting at 7:00 am without any warning or asking us if we would be awake at that time (we didn’t want to be). Our bathroom was also in relative disrepair. The WiFi reception was spotty in our room but good in the property generally.
Overall, our experience was positive, but there were definitely some negative aspects to our stay. The location is great. The staff was helpful, friendly, and spoke English well; they were able to book us a transfer to Ometepe and answer any questions we had. The common areas of the property are beautiful and the building is pretty well kept. Breakfast is provided for free, but it was underwhelming so we ended up eating a few bites and then going elsewhere. Unfortunately, while we were staying, they were renovating the room next to ours, starting at 7:00 am without any warning or asking us if we would be awake at that time (we didn’t want to be). Our bathroom was also in relative disrepair. The WiFi reception was spotty in our room but good in the property generally.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 283jasonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear 282jasonk,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great time with us. Indeed , we are repairing our bathrooms for our guest but can assure not that early in morning , however , the 7:00am noise was coming from our neighbor construction and Granada as a colonial city, one special feature is everything is close and we can hear. We provide 5 breakfast option and our guests feedback had been positive. We apologize for inconvenience you had.

Hope you come back to Granada and let us know

Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020

This hotel looks great. It was renovated from a lovely home. But if you stay there you find it is shabby. Little things, broken tiles in the bathroom, toilet doesn't flush well, poor lighting. It is family run, but they are perhaps overworked.

Room tip: View of the cathedral is best, but noisy.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear Traveler20010074

Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you had , indeed the tiles are broken hence we are repairing all the bathrooms , lighting and look and feel. The days you came , construction was happening . Our staff and management are happy to to be able to have guest , so we assure we were happy to have you here.

Please if you ever come back , let us know.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

This place is very close to main attractions of Granada. Beautiful colonial style hotel with outstanding service. Would definitely recommend and will use again. We choose the room with balcony that had an amazing view of the volcán Mombacho. Parking overnight is a couple of blocks up. It is not included.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cjmm1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Thanks for this amazing review. Hope you can come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

Great location, clean, classy, large rooms! They didn’t have the room we had booked upon arriving but they quickly resolved to put us in a similar room. Unfortunately the restaurant closes early at times so be proactive when planning meals etc. The food was hit or miss, but the service was good.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jodiew1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene Sandigo, Owner at Hotel Real La Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

Thanks for being with us. We are trying to close on Tuesday Restaurant at 6pm. Normally, We open from 7 am to 9 pm the rest of the week, sorry for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

The Real La Merced is a beautiful hotel in an excellent location in a fascinating city and we very much enjoyed our stay there. The only problem is that the rooms can be a bit noisy from street noise as is is at the corner of a busy road (busy being a relative term in a small city like Granada) and across from the church, which is a beautiful view, but one that rings its bells at 6:30 every morning.

The building is very beautiful - a large old compound renovated to modern standards, with a beautiful courtyard and pool area. It is a pleasure just to sit in the courtyard or on the second floor and enjoy the space. There is a grand marble staircase and the lobby is pleasant. It was very airy and pleasant inside the courtyard, a very welcome break from the heat and business outside. There was a large urn of filtered water to fill your bottles with, which we really appreciated.

The room was very nice - a large and comfortable bed, very nice bathroom with good amenities, good sheets and towels, a safe and a balcony. Ours overlooked the beautiful and 400 year old Iglesia La Merced across the street, which was always busy and had a plaza full of people, so it was very interesting just to sit on the balcony and watch the plaza of the church as people went about their lives.

However, the church rang its bells every morning at 6:30 which woke us up. There is also a lot of traffic on the main street and even the cross street was busy with cars and pedestrians, so there is street noise. You are in a city and there are city noises, and since it is a small and very open hotel you hear all of it - car horns, traffic, sirens, hawkers, etc. This is not necessarily a bad thing, just be aware of it, most hotels in Granada would be the same or worse.

The breakfasts in the restaurant were very nice. Same Tipica or eggs you get everywhere, but in a very pleasant space. We chose to sit at the window and watch the street life. Hawkers walk by and show you their wares, but they are polite and move on when you say no, and you can watch church plaza and the people going about their business.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. They were very concerned for our welfare and treated us very well.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us - it is very close to the centre of town and you can walk to Central Park, the Cathedral or restaurant area in 5 minutes through interesting streets, but it is far enough away from the noise and business of these areas. We would not have wanted to stay near Central Park or Calzada Street - very noisy and busy - but it was great to stay a 5 minute walk away and go there when we wanted. Easy walk to historic sites, bank machines, lots of restaurants and coffee shops. We felt very safe in this area.

Granada itself is a beautiful and interesting city to visit, full of culture and activity. We saw several religious processions and ceremonies and sat through a special mass at La Merced, even though we are not Catholic and could not understand it. The cemetery is fascinating, you should visit. Taxis everywhere and cheap if the hot sun saps your energy to walk. Granada is near to several excellent day trips, like Masaya Volcano, Mombacho and Las Isletas. Good restaurants and coffee shops, friendly people, safe and real life all around you, not just a tourist town.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene S, General Manager at Hotel Real La Merced, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Thanks Ted. We really enjoyed reading your article. Thank for take the time and explain about our hotel and Granada. We are glad that you were happy with us even our neighbors can be loud but normally during the day. But Noice can start early with the bell tower but its part of our traditions. Thank for understanding. I am also fascinating reading your article twice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews