We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Maes cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Refreshing lap swimming pool...steps to lounge on ((-:
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Refreshing lap swimming pool...steps to lounge on ((-:
Cedar wooden pillars, mango and royal palm trees and tropical plants surround the pool's terraces Pool setting - almost always perfectly clean...WiFi around the pool = ((-:
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Refreshing lap swimming pool...steps to lounge on ((-:
Cedar wooden pillars, mango and royal palm trees and tropical plants surround the pool's terraces
Pool setting - almost always perfectly clean...WiFi around the pool = ((-:
Boinged, boinged, kerplunk  (if pool was just a little bit closer!!!)
Swing set and trampoline right by the 20,000 gallon lap swimming pool
Stainless steel BBQ grill for you outdoor cooking pleasure.
The 5 tiered turtle fountain - if the turtles haven't run away!!!
Sr. Froggy playing silent guitar
Dozens of coconut, Royal and Miami palm trees throughout the property.
Royal palms reach for the sky...
Emma's Guest Cottage sunny and breezy law side...  ((-:
Emma's Guest Cottage from a different angle - towards front gate...
Nice TV setting in the 'great room' - high ceilings, fans, couch and rocking chairs.
Fully equipped kitchen - including toaster grill, gas oven and stove, full size refrigerator, etc.
Antique queen sized poster bed with orthopedic mattress
Bedroom once again
Modern bath with new pedestal sink, wooden shelves et al...
Marine curtained walk-in shower...    ((-:
Great room to outdoors - high ceilings & screened, open wall for great ventilation and breezes
'Great room' w/extra bed
View out the screened wall
Tropical setting
Another outdoors view
Outdoors again...aahhh the tropics...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Granada, Granada Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Caren M
Cartagena, Colombia
1 review
“Maes cottage”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had an amazing time at this little slice of heaven in Granada! Gregory and his beautiful family welcomed us to their home and use of pool, excellent bike riding and exploring near by Granada, we were treated to the daughters entertainment of traditional dance and dress with lights and barbque to boot! An all around fun time! Must love doggies there are 4 in all and steal your heart! I miss them all ! Many thanks

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you so much Caren and Jean-Louis for this 5 star review. We feel the same way about you two; it was a pleasure to have you share our hacienda aka "little mini-resort" with us. We loved having you here and were sad when you all-of-a-sudden were gone. All the best to you two...COME BACK TO SEE US SOMETIME! Safe travels! ((-: Papa G., Mama K, our three girls, Richard, Ana, the dogs, the pool, plants, trampoline, swing set, BBQ, et al...we all miss you! xoxoxo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eyeduran
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Emma's Guest Cottage”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We visited Granada with my husband we stayed in Emma Guest Cottage we had a wonderful time, the owner Greg and his wife Karen are very friendly and make us feel like home, the place very confortable and clean and the best very safe. We recommend for a vacation in Granada, no place like this, we will be back next vacations we love to stay again over there.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
This couple from Chicago/Honduras were nothing but good, kind, considerate and generous! They are both "older than me" and were (are!) an inspiration for all of us - GREAT FOLKS! We'd love to host them again, because they were the PERFECT guests! It was so nice having them here, and....they LOVE(d) our dogs!!! ((-: Papa G. & Mama K.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoPlaces5...
1 review
“Awesome Location”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My family and I had a great experience staying here. The cottage was nice and comfortable. The location is perfect, only a short ride into the center of Granada. The children enjoyed the pool and playing with their lovely daughters. It was also a bonus to have a washer available. I definitely recommend staying here. Our hosts were kind and helpful and we look forward to returning in the near future. Thanks Greg and Karen:)

Date of stay: February 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Mar 2016
This New York City family of SIX(!) were quite delightful and interesting. They stayed at Emma's Guest Cottage for only a short period of time, and were always very pleasant and easy to deal with, which was nice.

Mama Vanessa had her hands full (my wife and I have three young daughters, so it was fun to watch!), and Papa Alan was always cool, calm and collected. (I need to take lessons from him!).

By the way, we know their three very young children (including two boys!) were "well-behaved", because nothing was broken, and...all pets and plants were still alive when they left!!! ((-:

Anyway, THANK YOU SO MUCH for your kind words Alan and Vanessa. Of course, anytime in the future you'd like visit us again, you are always welcome here at Emma's Guest Cottage or Mae's Guest Suite!!! ((-:

Papa Gregg and Mama Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
204JohnM2...
Fallbrook, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
5
people found this review helpful

My friend and I stayed here for two weeks. The host, Greg, was very gracious and made sure that we had what we needed for our stay.
On the first day, he took us on a tour of Granada to help us get oriented, get connected to the local cell service and find groceries. He arranged for a local guide for us to use as needed. This was extremely helpful as our Spanish is limited and this was our first time in Nicaragua.
The compound that the cottage is in is fenced and secure. There is a nice pool and outdoor shower, as well as a grill and washing machine for guest use. The cottage itself has
ceiling fans for cooling and is self contained and equipped with necessities. It gets quite hot locally in April (when we visited) but cools off in the evening and usually has a good breeze.
Get good directions from The owner as the property may be difficult to find. It is about 10 minutes from Granada. The road approaching the property is rough, so go slow. And know that there is no hot water in the cottage but in this hot climate cold showers feel pretty good.
All in all the cottage served our purposes well and was cost effective.

Date of stay: April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Nov 2015
This unique couple of guys "Big John and Little John" were quite the pair. It was pleasant having them stay here, but Big John was overweight and had a bad smoker's brochitis - a "hacking cough". This made the hottest month of the year (April) quite difficult for him - especially in the afternoon. We definitely gave them 5 Star Ritz type service, but I think the heat, sweating and coughing made the uncomfortable Big John demote us to only 4 Stars = ))-: Oh well! We do have a hot water shower; we just don't advise using it (nobody does) during the hottest month of April, etc.. The directions (and see map) to here are quite easy to follow; it's just that Big John drove a rental vehicle from the airport in Managua late at night, and arrived here in a very tired state - after having flown & traveled all day long - from Wisconsin, nonetheless!. The "rough road" has been fixed, but...the heavy rains at times changes the contour of the roads that are made mainly of dirt and stone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah D
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incomparable”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
14
people found this review helpful

My husband, our two lil nino's and I booked a month long stay at Emma's cottage and could not have anticipated such an amazing stay. Greg and his family went out of their way to ensure that our stay was more than just memorable. The setting amongst various fruit trees with lake Nicaragua on the horizon are breathtaking! For days requiring a lot of nothing there is a pool, or hammocks under banana and coconut trees. We will definitely be coming back here and not only would I recommend this for friends, but anyone coming to Nicaragua. This house is great for our family our kids had the time our there's lives. We almost never saw them until they were hungry. I would recommend this house for people with kids. Adults, friends, retired.. Pretty much this house would be great for anyone wanting an awesome adventure in Nicaragua:)

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
It was a pleasure having this young Canadian couple stay here - with their two "ninos" (boys). Their kids "frolicked" with ours children and others, and it was a joy watching the dynamics unfold! We greatly appreciate their kind words, sentiments, and gratitude for our family, service-type orientation here. The entire family greatly enjoyed the swimming pool, terraced areas and multiple pets on our property - that's for sure!!! ((-:
-Papa Gregg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.