We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable home; great experience for our large...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from front porch View from the driveway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
View from front porch
View from the driveway
Flowering Plum Trees and Grape Arbour begining of Spring
Upstairs Layout
Downstairs Layout
View from Master Suite
Master Sitting area with stone fireplace
Living Room Upstairs
Large Queen Bedroom Downstairs
View from Back Patio
Downstairs bath
Stream on the property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Moneta, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laurence...
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
“This is not what it apperars”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in September 2014

Sorry to leave this negative review, but I feel people need to know. This place was filthy when we arrived and stank to high heaven. There is no hood ventilation in the kitchen so it smelt of oven grease and fish. The fridge was filthy, the carpets were barely vacuumed, dust balls and there was the stench of urine on the mats in the bathrooms. The washer doesn't work properly (buttons are missing) There was a hole in the upper deck Dry Rotted). It is quite far from the lake. We spent the first day cleaning the whole house. Shrubs were overgrown. I'm this place probably was lovely at one time, but it needs major renovations. The worst thing for me was the fact that the kitchen had no hood ventilation.. The stench was unbearable in the kitchen. Owner seemed very nice though. I don't think she maybe aware of just how bad this rental is.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
I am sorry that you felt the need to right a bad review without addressing any of your concerns with me personally, or allowing me to correct any problems that you may have had. I am available 24/7, and absolutely NO e-mails, calls, or texts were received during your stay. We take great pride in our home, and a very concerned that you did not have a pleasant stay.
Our cleaning staff is paid well to clean the home from top to bottom after every stay, so I will address any cleaning issues with the cleaning staff that you have noted.
The washer was purchased brand new from Lowes, last year, and unfortunately one of the guests broke the knob just one month after purchase, but the washer does work, and will be replaced, once it does not.
I am unclear in regards to the "renovations" that are needed, as this is our home, and have stayed in our home many times ourselves. It is a large home, in the country, and fulfills all of our families needs. It is not a hotel, condo, or a time-share. Granted, as with any home, yearly repairs are done as needed, and will be done when discovered.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable home; great experience for our large family”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Stayed for 3 days for our oldest son's wedding in the area, and Michelle had graciously allowed us to host the rehearsal dinner at the house. We planned to have the group stay outside, using the beautiful 12-acres for the dinner, but had no idea that it would rain (and rain hard) the entire weekend. All of our family (11 of us) and our 17 guests had more than enough space in the house to visit with each other and enjoy our three hours together together during the dinner. In fact, hardly anyone went upstairs, the lower level had that much comfortable room!

During the rest of the weekend, our family really enjoyed the home, too. The master suite was amazing :-); our kids kept trying to convince us we needed to let them have it. It really did feel like being at home.

Also, some of our children attend Liberty University; the home was an easy 45-minute commute to the campus, so might be a fun place for a family to stay during an intensive.

Only thing I would change--I'd probably add another couch or two to the lower level tv room. For some reason, we all ended up in there alot (even during the rehearsal dinner); I think it's because we like to eat while we watch tv, and just conditioned to not eat on the carpet. :-)

Finally, Michelle was always very quick to respond any time I contacted her, both during the booking and when I had questions after we arrived.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just the comfortable feel of the home.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for the awesome review! We are glad that your family enjoyed our home as much as we do! Ya'll will have to come back sometime when it is not raining! Got to love mother nature! Michelle and Lonnie McDonald
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Canada
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no wood for the fire pit
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
You and your family are welcome back anytime! Glad that you enjoyed the house! Michelle and Lonnie McDonald
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert P
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was a new "get-away" experience for me and my wife. Next time we'll bring the grand kids. The web site to book the reservation was easy to use, up-to-date, and hassle free unlike some others. We had a great time! Bob and Chet from Williamsburg, VA

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Thank you for the awesome review!! You are defintely welcome back anytime! Michelle and Lonnie McDonald
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 May 2014
Thank you for your great review!! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! Y'all are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;