We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
154
18
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
154
18
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar other guests lake district great food home from home boot room group of friends great company cake long weekend next year evening meal borrowdale valley dining room the managers get away warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Beautiful house which has been a guest house for over 100 years. House is full of quaint features and relics from the past. Very interesting place indeed.

Were made very welcome and shown to a lovely split level bedroom with a bath no less. We'd arrived late and went down shortly after to a communal dinner with the other 12 or so guests. The atmosphere was very sociable and it appeared all the other guests had been coming for many years. After eating a superb 3 course meal with wine, cheese, coffee and chocolates I could see why. Could not really fault anything with great food and drink and coffee was taken in a very old and comfortable lounge.

Breakfast was excellent also and I can only congratulate the hosts on the standards they have achieved. Amazing and 100% recommended, this place is a true gem.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StevenT474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigeljdixon, Manager at Seatoller House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thankyou very much for taking the time to leave us a review, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again at Seatoller very soon, hopefully your stay will be a longer one next time

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Seatoller House is a wonderful place to stay with a warm welcome from Nigel and Trish and delicious food. The atmosphere is very friendly. It is in a beautiful part of the Lake District in Borrowdale and the walking is fantastic. It is one of our favourite places ever to stay.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lyndabryanbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigeljdixon, Manager at Seatoller House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thankyou very much for taking the time to leave us a review, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again at Seatoller very soon
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

This was our first visit to the Lake District. Nigel, Trish, and their staff did an outstanding job in making us feel welcome and cared for. The location is excellent for the numerous hikes around the Borrowdale area. Keswick is a 15 minute drive.

What really struck us was the number of return guests. During our stay we met six couples each of whom have been returning to Seatoller House annually for than 10+ years. Two of these couples had coordinated their timing, while the others had not.

The optional dinners were excellent and provided a great time to socialize and share more about walks and other things to do in the area, which was very valuable to us.

Overall, the stay easily exceeded our expectations.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gotraveling59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigeljdixon, Manager at Seatoller House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thankyou very much for taking the time to leave us a review, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again at Seatoller very soon
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

We have stayed at Seatoller many times and it is always excellent. This year we again enjoyed wonderful food, walks and great company. The drying/boot room and guest kitchen are a real bonus; it's great to take off the boots after a day's walk, make a cuppa and enjoy a slice of Trish's delicious cake. The bedrooms are all different; very comfortable and spacious. We like the rooms upstairs on the front of the house for their beautiful views.
Nigel and Trish are extremely good hosts; friendly and helpful. There is always a buzz of conversation at mealtimes which often continues in the very comfortable sitting rooms after dinner. We look forward to visiting again next year and meeting old friends and new.

Room tip: All quiet at night; we like the quirkiness of matching the animal name of the bedroom to the private bathroom, but there are ensuites.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenandpeterelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigeljdixon, Manager at Seatoller House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thankyou very much for taking the time to leave us a review, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us again
Look forward to seeing you again next year, if not before
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

A truly different experience, once experienced you will know that it is unique. Be prepared for wonderful meals and great conversation round large tables. Rooms that would never be classed as boxes and a lovely atmosphere.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janetwilson2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigeljdixon, Manager at Seatoller House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thankyou very much for taking the time to leave us a review, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us again
Look forward to seeing you again next year, if not before
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews