We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real SLEEPER”

Civil War Medical Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to the Exchange Hotel Civil War Medical Museum Before the Civil War, the Exchange Hotel with its high ceiling parlors and grand veranda welcomed passengers from the two rail lines: the Virginia Central Railroad and the Alexandria Railroad. Soon war began. Troops, supplies, and wounded were transported on these railroads to Gordonsville. The Exchange Hotel became the Gordonsville Receiving Hospital which provided care for 70,000 soldiers, both Confederate and Union. In the reconstruction period, this hospital served the newly freed slaves as a Freedman's Bureau Hospital. As the United States healed and the railroads boomed, this graceful building returned to its role of hotel. Now fully restored, the hotel is a museum dedicated to the Civil War era.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This was added to my recent excursion as one of the few Charlottesville area museums on this unfortunate part of our past. I did not hold high hopes for it but I found myself very pleasantly surprised and impressed. This is not one of the canned museum tours, you receive some background and then are permitted to wander and absorb the offerings
without the usual nanny. Displays are right out front--you can see them from all angles
without the usual glass boxes. In fact you can smell, and although you shouldn't--even touch them. I found it made for an extremely personal and profound experience. My son and I spent nearly 3-1/2 hours on what I had budgeted for a one hour experience. If this era interests you , I cannot recommend it too highly.
Al and Alex Short. 29 June 2017

3  Thank al_short51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel M, Administrator at Civil War Medical Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

I am truly glad that you had such a great experience at our museum, thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

There are three floors of exhibits on the self-guided tour, reflecting the multiple uses of the building over the last 150+ years. I thought there would be more of an emphasis on Civil War medical treatments but the exhibits were balanced among the other uses, as well, such as hotel, Freedman's Bureau, and school. There was a nice little gift shop, too.

Thank DocChesapeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel M, Administrator at Civil War Medical Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We love visiting any place containing and informing us of America's history. Tiny place but worth visiting if you are in the area. It serviced both confederate and union.

Thank DMZ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel M, Administrator at Civil War Medical Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

This jewel of a small museum, staffed by volunteers, is in a restored Civil War building that has had lives as a railway exchange hotel (hence the name), a Civil War hospital. and a haunted home!. Three stories of very well presented exhibits o Civil War medicine and its time as a hospital, intelligence and spying in the Civil War, railroading in that time and....hauntings! The exhibits are well thought out and exceedingly well signed with thoughtful and informative placards by each exhibit. The building itself if really interesting, as is the history of the area. A fascinating 2 hours well worth the price of admission. Check the hours---it's totally staffed by volunteers who make this building's history come to life. Worth a visit if you are anywhere near the area.

Thank ljrkrispes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel M, Administrator at Civil War Medical Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

So glad you enjoyed your visit and we thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Often, Civil War tourism is based upon battlefields and exciting stories about heroism and oddities, but what happened to those poor maimed and ailing soldiers left behind by their regiments? Gordonsville is off the beaten path, but the detour can be worth the trip. If you are interested in the gruesome truth about amputations and convalescence, the medical museum will fill your curiosity.

Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel M, Aministrator at Civil War Medical Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Civil War Medical Museum also viewed

 

Been to Civil War Medical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing